Chevron Left
Back to Software Development Processes and Methodologies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Software Development Processes and Methodologies by University of Minnesota

4.7
stars
1,238 ratings
275 reviews

About the Course

Software is quickly becoming integral part of human life as we see more and more automation and technical advancements. Just like we expect car to work all the time and can't afford to break or reboot unexpectedly, software industry needs to continue to learn better way to build software if it were to become integral part of human life. In this course, you will get an overview of how software teams work? What processes they use? What are some of the industry standard methodologies? What are pros and cons of each? You will learn enough to have meaningful conversation around software development processes. After completing this course, a learner will be able to 1) Apply core software engineering practices at conceptual level for a given problem. 2) Compare and contrast traditional, agile, and lean development methodologies at high level. These include Waterfall, Rational Unified Process, V model, Incremental, Spiral models and overview of agile mindset 3) Propose a methodology best suited for a given situation...

Top reviews

LP
Apr 17, 2020

Very nice course that provides good insight on software development practices and common problems. It provides also some insights on project management, highlighting pros and cons of different models.

MC
Oct 25, 2020

I really enjoyed the course and learned many new things that i was not aware about. The instructors were helpful and easy to understand. Peer review assignments were very interesting to me. Thank you.

Filter by:

251 - 269 of 269 Reviews for Software Development Processes and Methodologies

By Aniket D

Sep 12, 2020

thank you so much

By DALAWAI S M

Nov 1, 2020

very nice course

By ishaan o

Mar 27, 2018

excellent cource

By Mayank r

May 2, 2020

Nice Content

By SIBHI H V S 1

Jul 29, 2020

N

i

c

e

By Tejaswini V

Oct 1, 2019

Good

By ADDANKI V V S P

Dec 19, 2020

course is good actually, but the main problem is plagiarism issues, which is so terrific. i submit my works doing for my self , but i still get the issues of error. i don't know why this system was failed in detecting the real work vs copied work

By Trần H Đ N

Mar 11, 2019

A good enough course. Material are sometimes difficult to follow. Assignment are quite different from what were being taught.

By Avanti M D

Jan 26, 2021

Course is good. But it lags in detailed description. Slide presentation is not explained in detail.

By Alpish J

Apr 4, 2020

It could have been better.But it was better than what my college taught.

By ILYA S

Nov 17, 2017

Very repetitive and not detailed enough.

By Sandhya P

Jun 26, 2020

Nice

By Sofiia R

Sep 30, 2020

I didn't find the specialization and this course in particular useful. It has low quality videos, unstructured information, and doesn't give enough knowledge to start working.

Also, the last course of the specialization requires background in programming, otherwise you will not be able to complete the specialization.

By Hussein A

Apr 19, 2020

There was a lot of overlap on the videos in fact the incremental model video had the dictation of the wrong video. Someone who primarily relys in text to study the dictations were extremely frustrating at the minimum it should be broken into paragraphs

By Marcelo H G

May 16, 2019

Confuse, lack important details. Peer review strangely setup. Testing covered in OK way but lacks any kind of real world examples, practices or code.

By sai p

Nov 1, 2020

good

By Stella v d E

Aug 11, 2020

Quite disappointed in the quality of the course. The staff did not reply to comments in the discussion forum, there was no syllabus, at one point even links to youtube instead of creating their own content, and the quality of the assessments (especially the peer review ones) were quite poor. One criteria for a good rank was to write a "creative" story. Overall this course is nothing I would pay for.

By Deleted A

Jun 15, 2020

to bad the grading was not done still for one month .rating also waste for this course. my rating 0.00000000

many 0's

By GOPI K Y

Oct 28, 2020

week 3 and 4 assignment is not opening and submitting