Chevron Left
Back to Software Development Processes and Methodologies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Software Development Processes and Methodologies by University of Minnesota

4.6
stars
778 ratings
185 reviews

About the Course

Software is quickly becoming integral part of human life as we see more and more automation and technical advancements. Just like we expect car to work all the time and can't afford to break or reboot unexpectedly, software industry needs to continue to learn better way to build software if it were to become integral part of human life. In this course, you will get an overview of how software teams work? What processes they use? What are some of the industry standard methodologies? What are pros and cons of each? You will learn enough to have meaningful conversation around software development processes. After completing this course, a learner will be able to 1) Apply core software engineering practices at conceptual level for a given problem. 2) Compare and contrast traditional, agile, and lean development methodologies at high level. These include Waterfall, Rational Unified Process, V model, Incremental, Spiral models and overview of agile mindset 3) Propose a methodology best suited for a given situation...

Top reviews

LP

Apr 18, 2020

Very nice course that provides good insight on software development practices and common problems. It provides also some insights on project management, highlighting pros and cons of different models.

MW

May 25, 2018

Week 4 assignment. I kept going back to my submission to see if it’s been graded since I never got any email verifications. Now it says I’ve resubmitted the asisngment. Which I haven’t done.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 182 Reviews for Software Development Processes and Methodologies

By M H M

Jul 16, 2020

great

By koradedinesh@johndeere.com

Feb 12, 2020

Aweso

By RATHOD D M

Aug 13, 2020

good

By KARMANYA D

Jun 04, 2020

good

By Utsab R

May 18, 2020

Good

By CH T V V P

May 09, 2020

Good

By morramshetty a

Apr 30, 2020

good

By BYSANI M C S G

Mar 08, 2020

good

By KOTTAPALLI R S M

Mar 02, 2020

good

By Banan A

Apr 03, 2018

good

By Noura a

Apr 03, 2018

good

By Halima a

Mar 24, 2018

good

By Deleted A

Mar 23, 2018

good

By Jay p

Apr 07, 2020

nyc

By gamaralsenani

Apr 09, 2018

ghh

By Tim P

Oct 30, 2018

While I've worked in software development for many years, it was good to brush up on the basics. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in a career in software development as an Analyst. My only critique is the peer grading system. People are anxious to get their submissions graded and if you're late submitting, it gets more difficult. I also noticed people "bartering" to get grading done in a "you grade mine and I'll grade yours" game. The peer grading doesn't provide the best feedback.

By Sirish G

Jun 24, 2020

The number of peer reviews should be odd and not even. The majority would be helpful, especially for those who put in a lot of work in submitting their assignments and with quality. Else, just one peer with a bad review can bring the score down. Also, there are some issues with questions and answers in the practice quiz- to be corrected.

By Juan M S R

Apr 13, 2020

Great course, preety good structure and good real life examples that help you understand more the reviewed topics. I would improve the last part of the course, when they talk about software agil methodologies, by developing more methodologies and go further in the process of a few of them.

By Amanda V C

Jun 19, 2020

Very good course. The assignments use real cases. I would only like to recommend special attention to the 3rd-week assignment, which is a bit open, and maybe if they let the student know more specifically the tasks, it would increase the education quality.

By Maximiliano M

Aug 04, 2020

Muy buen curso, es muy teórico, pero sirve como introducción al proceso y metodologías de desarrollo de software

Very good course, it is very theoretical, but it serves as an introduction to the software development process and methodologies

By Amjadkhan P

Aug 05, 2020

Nice course. Very well tailored for online learning not very short not too much in details. The exercise at the end of the chapters and in the middle of the videos helped a lot to keep me engaged.

Very well organized course structure.

By Alan B

Oct 26, 2018

Project assignments were a little poorly defined in terms of expectations for what a passing grade might entail. Otherwise an excellent course with lots of learning and knowledge to be gained from taking it.

By Paweł B

Oct 09, 2019

I think, that assessing someone elses work is not efficient. I still need to wait for others assessment, and need to assess as well 2 projects. Maybe you could consider other way to achieve a certificate?

By Thorvaldur K

Feb 19, 2018

Very interesting and engaging course on Software Development Processes and Methodologies. Good both as a first contact course or as a mean of refreshing your memory on processes and methodologies.

By محمد أ

Jan 07, 2019

A good course, contains an outline on the subject without too much clutter. The assignments help you apply your knowledge gained by studying the material. Can be completed with ease.