Chevron Left
Back to Software Development Processes and Methodologies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Software Development Processes and Methodologies by University of Minnesota

4.7
stars
1,183 ratings
262 reviews

About the Course

Software is quickly becoming integral part of human life as we see more and more automation and technical advancements. Just like we expect car to work all the time and can't afford to break or reboot unexpectedly, software industry needs to continue to learn better way to build software if it were to become integral part of human life. In this course, you will get an overview of how software teams work? What processes they use? What are some of the industry standard methodologies? What are pros and cons of each? You will learn enough to have meaningful conversation around software development processes. After completing this course, a learner will be able to 1) Apply core software engineering practices at conceptual level for a given problem. 2) Compare and contrast traditional, agile, and lean development methodologies at high level. These include Waterfall, Rational Unified Process, V model, Incremental, Spiral models and overview of agile mindset 3) Propose a methodology best suited for a given situation...

Top reviews

MC
Oct 25, 2020

I really enjoyed the course and learned many new things that i was not aware about. The instructors were helpful and easy to understand. Peer review assignments were very interesting to me. Thank you.

LP
Apr 17, 2020

Very nice course that provides good insight on software development practices and common problems. It provides also some insights on project management, highlighting pros and cons of different models.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 256 Reviews for Software Development Processes and Methodologies

By Jānis D

Mar 7, 2020

Good content, however might wish even more longer on real life case studies

By Ivan W

Oct 13, 2019

The course provides a good overview of different development methodologies.

By Michael Z

Nov 14, 2020

Very well done, I do not think the peer review exercises are useful.

By Jose C T E

Apr 10, 2020

It would be 5 stars if provide more details about testing strategies

By GANDRA M S

Nov 12, 2020

I had learned a lot of things about Software Development

By Naga K V

Sep 14, 2020

peer reviews are bad

want some interaction

By Ibrahim H M A

Mar 3, 2020

great course ,thank you about you efforts.

By Eyad A

May 18, 2020

some of the text did not mach the video ,

By KALYAN A

Dec 14, 2020

The course is quite good for beginner

By Darina K

Aug 9, 2020

Good course content. I learned a lot!

By MAHMUD H A

Jun 21, 2020

Easy to Understand.

By 17STUCHH010075

May 2, 2020

awesome experience

By Alberto G

Mar 21, 2018

Very good material

By Aniket D

Sep 12, 2020

thank you so much

By DALAWAI S M

Nov 1, 2020

very nice course

By ishaan o

Mar 27, 2018

excellent cource

By Mayank r

May 2, 2020

Nice Content

By SIBHI H V S 1

Jul 29, 2020

N

i

c

e

By Tejaswini V

Oct 1, 2019

Good

By ADDANKI V V S P

Dec 19, 2020

course is good actually, but the main problem is plagiarism issues, which is so terrific. i submit my works doing for my self , but i still get the issues of error. i don't know why this system was failed in detecting the real work vs copied work

By Trần H Đ N

Mar 11, 2019

A good enough course. Material are sometimes difficult to follow. Assignment are quite different from what were being taught.

By Alpish J

Apr 4, 2020

It could have been better.But it was better than what my college taught.

By ILYA S

Nov 17, 2017

Very repetitive and not detailed enough.

By Sandhya p

Jun 26, 2020

Nice

By Sofiia R

Sep 30, 2020

I didn't find the specialization and this course in particular useful. It has low quality videos, unstructured information, and doesn't give enough knowledge to start working.

Also, the last course of the specialization requires background in programming, otherwise you will not be able to complete the specialization.