Chevron Left
Back to Software Development Processes and Methodologies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Software Development Processes and Methodologies by University of Minnesota

4.7
stars
1,312 ratings
293 reviews

About the Course

Software is quickly becoming integral part of human life as we see more and more automation and technical advancements. Just like we expect car to work all the time and can't afford to break or reboot unexpectedly, software industry needs to continue to learn better way to build software if it were to become integral part of human life. In this course, you will get an overview of how software teams work? What processes they use? What are some of the industry standard methodologies? What are pros and cons of each? You will learn enough to have meaningful conversation around software development processes. After completing this course, a learner will be able to 1) Apply core software engineering practices at conceptual level for a given problem. 2) Compare and contrast traditional, agile, and lean development methodologies at high level. These include Waterfall, Rational Unified Process, V model, Incremental, Spiral models and overview of agile mindset 3) Propose a methodology best suited for a given situation...

Top reviews

LP
Apr 17, 2020

Very nice course that provides good insight on software development practices and common problems. It provides also some insights on project management, highlighting pros and cons of different models.

MC
Oct 25, 2020

I really enjoyed the course and learned many new things that i was not aware about. The instructors were helpful and easy to understand. Peer review assignments were very interesting to me. Thank you.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 287 Reviews for Software Development Processes and Methodologies

By KODE M

Nov 17, 2020

good

By yerramsetty r

Nov 4, 2020

good

By VIKAS C

Oct 31, 2020

GOOD

By Tharun K

Oct 28, 2020

good

By ganesh s

Oct 21, 2020

Good

By JAIMIS M

Oct 20, 2020

nice

By BHAVANA b I

Oct 11, 2020

good

By RATHOD D M

Aug 13, 2020

good

By KARMANYA D

Jun 4, 2020

good

By Utsab R

May 17, 2020

Good

By ch t v p

May 9, 2020

Good

By morramshetty a

Apr 30, 2020

good

By BYSANI M C S G

Mar 8, 2020

good

By KOTTAPALLI R S M

Mar 2, 2020

good

By Banan A

Apr 3, 2018

good

By Noura a

Apr 3, 2018

good

By Halima a

Mar 24, 2018

good

By Deleted A

Mar 23, 2018

good

By Микола Ж

May 19, 2021

0_0

By HADIYA

Sep 28, 2020

nyz

By Jay p

Apr 7, 2020

nyc

By gamaralsenani

Apr 9, 2018

ghh

By 121910320018 V S

Dec 17, 2020

.

By Benjamin M

Nov 16, 2020

This was in many ways an exceptional and valuable course. Coming from the industry but with a knowledge foundation sourcing from on-the-job experience and self-guided learning, it was good to be able to re-learn some of the basics and catalog my own knowledge more appropriately. The section on testing was most valuable for me since it re-aligned my disposition with a healthy academic and theoretical perspective. The section on Agile could be improved; the instructional content was good and relevant, but the final quiz should be re-assessed around the expectation to identify a specific model. Regardless, what I got out of this was valuable and readily applicable to my current work activities. Well worth the time.

By Tim P

Oct 30, 2018

While I've worked in software development for many years, it was good to brush up on the basics. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in a career in software development as an Analyst. My only critique is the peer grading system. People are anxious to get their submissions graded and if you're late submitting, it gets more difficult. I also noticed people "bartering" to get grading done in a "you grade mine and I'll grade yours" game. The peer grading doesn't provide the best feedback.