Chevron Left
Back to Organic Solar Cells - Theory and Practice

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Organic Solar Cells - Theory and Practice by Technical University of Denmark (DTU)

4.7
stars
1,053 ratings
271 reviews

About the Course

The goal of the course is to give students awareness of the largest alternative form of energy and how organic / polymer solar cells can harvest this energy. The course provides an insight into the theory behind organic solar cells and describes the three main research areas within the field i.e. materials, stability and processing. NOTE: This course is a specialized course on organic solar cells. If you are looking for a more general solar cell course, we strongly recommend Introduction to solar cells (https://www.coursera.org/learn/solar-cells)....

Top reviews

KP
Jul 31, 2020

Teachers explained amazingly and it was a very interesting course and may be beginning of my research career. thank you so much coursera atleast now i have a direction.\n\nLonging to learn a lot more.

DM
Jul 26, 2016

It shows you how OPV works (which is a breakthrough technology) in a simple way without leaving the technical aspects of it.\n\nIt's a serious course that requires full compromise to achieve it.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 266 Reviews for Organic Solar Cells - Theory and Practice

By Kooshul J

Oct 11, 2015

nice course

By biswa

Aug 29, 2020

Very good

By ahmed m a

Mar 24, 2019

excellent

By gnaneshwar s

Feb 28, 2019

Awesome!!

By Kamakhya P M

Dec 6, 2017

very good

By Siddharth B

Sep 25, 2017

Very good

By Tania K M J

Feb 3, 2017

magnifico

By Burak E

Nov 27, 2016

Excellent

By Boumeftah A

Mar 30, 2020

exelent

By José B d M V

Sep 14, 2017

Perfect

By Gjergj K

Dec 19, 2015

Exelent

By NALAM A K

Sep 18, 2020

super

By Gokul P

Nov 19, 2019

great

By Arunmetha

Jun 19, 2020

Good

By Anna M

May 11, 2020

good

By suraj k s

Jun 15, 2017

good

By Hamzah A M A

Nov 20, 2015

good

By Andy C

Sep 22, 2015

The course gave me a good, in-depth understanding of OPVs and how further developing the technology surrounding them could help solve the energy crisis. The material was thorough and the quizzes were challenging without being frustrating and encouraged you to learn more about the topics discussed. My only problem was that I was unable to access a community forum so a few times I was stuck on an assignment and had no way to find out information to help me. Instead I just had to guess and work through it alone which wasn't horrible but I would have like to have been able to discuss it with other people taking the course. Overall a good course that has gotten me very excited about OPVs and the future of solar technology.

By Robert D C

Nov 27, 2015

I would give this course a five based on the content it provides, but it lacks in three key areas. First, no forums, really? This is how we learn when we have NO instructor or TA support. They also lack workable calculations. Second, there was a GLARING error in a quiz that no one caught, showing a near complete lack of understanding of energy conversion. Third, the quiz engine has had a number of errors in the calculations. specifically in formula formatting. These are advanced systems that clearly need more testing. But all in all, this is GREAT content if you want to learn about organic (polymer OPV) solar cells.

By Robert D

Sep 16, 2015

The most valuable insight was at the end.

We can be so focused on efficiency of solar conversion that we forget it is not the only factor in producing a useful product. I know this but the specific example embeds the insight to better use it in other situations.

Overall the course gave a good overview, though it was a mixture of the very simple (calculations) and difficult (the explanation of the polymers) that needed more pointers to appropriate further reading.

Useful to know that the effect of cell shadowing in the series cells has a small effect on output. I hope the project gets funding to continue the research.

By meet

Nov 10, 2017

Great Course!

Can be taken up by Chemical Engineering, Electronics and Electrical Engineering students. It would help you understand the technology of OPV to a greater level. Some lectures like the working of OPV would have made and presented in a better way by using some live models or some working prototypes. This was the only thing that lacked but overall the speakers were great and the content what they provided was excellent. The study material provided was decent enough to crack the tests. Thanks a lot for this course. Have a nice day!

By Alfred C

Nov 4, 2015

Very good course overall.

There was a problem with the formulas in several quizzes, though. One couldn't get the app to reflect a formula properly, which resulted in the questions being qualified as wrong.

Otherwise nice, interesting course

Congrats, and thanks for sharing your knowledge folks!

By Sagar S

Dec 30, 2015

The course is great and the instructors very very knowledgeable. I am grateful to have been able to take this course. , but in the recorded session in quite a few places, the voice either fades away or is muted. It feels like we are missing some important stuff.

By Samarth A

Oct 27, 2015

Excellent course to understand the course from scratch on Organic solar cells . Generates huge interest and builds great curiosity to find solutions to some of the limitations that are there with photo voltaic cells..

By Harshit Y

Jul 4, 2019

Great course. helped me in understanding basics of OPV. They went more into production later. I wanted more understanding of new opportunities in OPV and the research work that is currently being carried out.