Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to solar cells

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to solar cells by Technical University of Denmark (DTU)

4.8
stars
2,072 ratings
605 reviews

About the Course

How do solar cells work, why do we need, and how can we measure their efficiency? These are just some of the questions Introduction to solar cells tackles. Whether you are looking for general insight in this green technology or your ambition is to pursue a career in solar, “Introduction to Solar Cells” is an excellent starting point. The course is a tour through the fundamental disciplines including solar cell history, why we need solar energy, how solar cells produce power, and how they work. During the course we cover mono- and multi-crystalline solar cells, thin film solar cells, and new emerging technologies. The course includes hands-on exercises using virtual instruments, interviews with field experts, and a comprehensive collection of material on solar cells. At the end of the course you will have gained a fundamental understanding of the field. This will allow you to identify the most interesting or relevant aspects to be pursued in your future studies or in your professional career....

Top reviews

AP
Dec 11, 2017

Very concise and to the point. Stable and calm teaching. Was my first foray into renewable energy and absolutely loved it. The course instructor was brilliant and had a stable command over the topic.

PM
Dec 26, 2019

This is the first coursera course I have taken and the first I have completed. It is an interesting topic and the format was great for getting an understanding of solar cell technology. good stuff.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 602 Reviews for Introduction to solar cells

By Harshil M

Jun 19, 2020

great

By Bolisetty. P K

Mar 11, 2020

great

By Lepakshi K v

May 15, 2021

good

By Karan G

Apr 23, 2021

Best

By Rushikesh S

Mar 5, 2021

best

By Gogada P

Jan 25, 2021

Good

By Patel h

Sep 20, 2020

Nice

By Kawa W

Aug 2, 2020

good

By S B P

Jul 16, 2020

GOOD

By Avishkar T K

Jul 14, 2020

Good

By Sayed N C N

Jul 5, 2020

good

By Deleted A

Jul 2, 2020

good

By Towkir A F

Jun 22, 2020

good

By sivaguru m

Jun 20, 2020

Good

By MOHAN Y

Jun 15, 2020

good

By Gopi

May 16, 2020

Good

By ravuri m s

Apr 6, 2020

nice

By GOLLA S C

Mar 28, 2020

good

By Jorge I M S

Mar 9, 2020

l

o

v

e

By Bharath C C

Feb 3, 2020

g

o

o

d

By Sahil k

Mar 11, 2021

NYC

By Shubham M

Apr 10, 2019

ff

By Ali C B

Dec 21, 2020

.

By Santiago A

Oct 6, 2017

A great course for stepping in into solar power technology. The use of virtual instruments and the explanatory videos of Mr. Madsen and other scientists of the DTU are excellent resources to introduce and/or reinforce the concepts. The course is well designed and keeps you interested at most of the time.

Overall, I think this course is well organized, the content is clear and the use of didactic resources keeps it interesting. Also there are external links to more technical information. I enjoyed this course and would recommend it to anyone who is interested in this topic. I recommend to have some basic knowledge of electric behaviour of materials, circuits (Kirchoff, diodes), radiation and crystal structure for better understanding.

I would have liked for this course to go into more detail regarding the drawbacks of an intermitent energy production and the cost and energy required for the solution or minimization (eg. backup systems, accumulation). Also I think that it goes into too much detail regarding production of polymer solar cells, and the information of the emerging solar cells technologies (dye sensitized, quantum dot, perovskite) is poor and incomplete.