Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to solar cells

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to solar cells by Technical University of Denmark (DTU)

4.8
stars
2,121 ratings
621 reviews

About the Course

How do solar cells work, why do we need, and how can we measure their efficiency? These are just some of the questions Introduction to solar cells tackles. Whether you are looking for general insight in this green technology or your ambition is to pursue a career in solar, “Introduction to Solar Cells” is an excellent starting point. The course is a tour through the fundamental disciplines including solar cell history, why we need solar energy, how solar cells produce power, and how they work. During the course we cover mono- and multi-crystalline solar cells, thin film solar cells, and new emerging technologies. The course includes hands-on exercises using virtual instruments, interviews with field experts, and a comprehensive collection of material on solar cells. At the end of the course you will have gained a fundamental understanding of the field. This will allow you to identify the most interesting or relevant aspects to be pursued in your future studies or in your professional career....

Top reviews

AP
Dec 11, 2017

Very concise and to the point. Stable and calm teaching. Was my first foray into renewable energy and absolutely loved it. The course instructor was brilliant and had a stable command over the topic.

JL
May 15, 2021

If you are a beginner and want to learn about practical aspects of solar cells, this is the course. Well structure, paced and with clear goals. The lessons and exercises are clear and well-directed.

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 620 Reviews for Introduction to solar cells

By Mustafa k

Jun 10, 2020

The course is extensive and gives a good headstart to the world of PV. It really clears your basics of PV and introduces you to the opportunities that are out there for you to explore. I really loved the course material, especially the various simulation programs. Some manufacturing processes could have been dealt with in some depth.

By Arnav P

Apr 21, 2020

This course was really interesting and awesome. The simulation included as well as guest lectures on particular topic were good too. This course started from scratch and at last I was like few weeks before i had little to no knowledge about the field, then suddenly I have a good amount of knowledge about the stuff. Thank u!

By Sean M E

Jul 20, 2019

Excellent introduction to the current state of technology of solar cells. It also gave in-depth teaching and examples as to how to calculate cell efficiencies and other fundamental concepts. The course has made me look at the technologies in a new light (hah!) and has stimulated my interest in exploring the subject further.

By Luis O L R

Mar 26, 2019

Good course with a lot of theory about the different technologies. You learn the firs steps to establish the efficiency of the solar cells technologies. I would like the course had more information about real application of the solar cell with the storage and use of the energy and how to decide this. 4.5/5

By Dhruv S

Aug 8, 2019

As the name suggests, it is just an introduction course and one should definitely follow up for in depth knowledge. Although the course provides a good overview on all the aspects of solar cell technology and is recommended to be completed for solar technology enthusiasts.

By Fatimah A

Mar 26, 2018

It was very useful and interesting general introduction of solar cells especially for beginners in this field, easy and convenient materials and understandable explanations from specialists that encourage you to continue the course to the end, I recommend it .

By Ilyas E G

Jun 10, 2018

Good introductory course on solar cells. Would have been interesting to perhaps have a week on the integration of solar as an energy resource in the grid. Overall the basics covered made me further understand limitations and advantages beyond the obvious.

By LAKKOJU R

Jan 8, 2021

Yeah really best knowledge , before this i have nothing about solar cells as well as non uniform knowledge.After this course, I have learnt a lot about solar energy and solar cells and it's efficiency, calculations etc..and their existence and uses

By Eugene B

Feb 17, 2019

Solid introduction into the world of solar cells! Nothing was taught to great depth, but as a general overview of the history, basic calculations, and production methods, the course does a great job.

By Seng H P

May 17, 2018

Great course to know the history and also the technologies advancement for solar cells through the years. Learn the different types of solar cells available, with their advantages and disadvantages.

By Konjeti P

Jun 11, 2020

This is the first coursera course I have taken and the first I have completed. It is an interesting topic and the format was great for getting an understanding of solar cell technology. good stuff.

By Lokesh R

Mar 30, 2021

very well designed course with all related terms and basics reviewed nicely. Covered all aspects of solar cell with recent development and visual clips are giving proper feel of subject.

By Pratik K

Mar 30, 2019

please include 30 optional theoritical questions and answers so that we can revise our concepts well. and also give us pdf notes for all the chapters including slides also...

By Souryadeep B

Jul 16, 2018

This is extremely enlightening as a beginner course to photovoltaics. I have definitely been motivated to learn more on this topic through whatever sources in the future.

By Krzysztof A

Oct 3, 2017

A decent course on the fundamentals of solar cells. Advised for anyone interested in the subject before reaching for more advanced textbook publications or courses.

By DEBOLINA P

Jul 2, 2020

I am really grateful to coursera to give such opportunity to learn the basic of solar cells and many more things about the solar cells which are not known to me.

By Abdul M K

Jan 23, 2020

I think reading section should be changed to video lectures and video lectures should also include some description of solar calculation done by teacher itself.

By Venkateswaran K N

Nov 30, 2018

Course gives an excellent overview to complete novices. Would recommend to learner's like me who are not in the solar field, looking to expand their knowledge.

By Shubham S

Aug 9, 2020

Happy to have this course

This help me to understand the working, construction, installation, advantage and disadvantage of different types of solar cells

By Matthijs F

Nov 10, 2019

For me, the topic of conventional solar technology was really interesting and useful. The other technologies discussed in the last week were a nice bonus.

By Wong Y

Nov 16, 2017

This course is really good and informative although I do not really understand certain parts clearly as I am not familiar with the technical terms used.

By Jennifer F

May 10, 2020

The course is really interesting, the teacher explains well, but some times I wish there were more visual elements to help the learning process.

By Andrés F C B

Nov 8, 2017

The course is very interesting and present a useful way to understand the behavior and fabrication of solar cell through different technologies.

By KARTHIK N G

Sep 24, 2020

it was a beautiful course which anyone will be able to benefit from and also learn and understand the science behind the solar cell technology