Chevron Left
Back to Solar Energy and Electrical System Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Solar Energy and Electrical System Design by University at Buffalo

4.7
stars
429 ratings
124 reviews

About the Course

This course supplies learners with the insights necessary for properly planning, and therefore successfully installing, a photovoltaic (PV) system per design specifications. It directs learners through the important steps of initial site inspection and evaluating appropriate locations for PV systems, and features unique elements of residential, small, industrial and utility-scale solar applications. The course probes key design concerns – including load, efficiency, and mechanical and electrical design – as well as aesthetics and tools for planning. Learners experiment with calculations needed to design a PV system, exercising newly gained knowledge about site selection, layout, code compliance, system components, and wire sizing. This course is targeted for engineers who have interest in entering the solar power sectors. It is also appropriate for HVAC installers, architects and building code inspectors. Learners should have a basic grasp of electrical engineering, physics and mathematical concepts. Those who are unfamiliar with how PV works, the elements of a PV system, and/or solar power ROI should take the first course of the specialization, Solar Energy Systems Overview. Material includes online lectures, videos, demos, hands-on exercises, project work, readings and discussions. This is the second course in the Solar PV for Engineers, Architects and Code Inspectors specialization. To learn more about the specialization, check out a video overview at https://youtu.be/XjkKzbXqA6s....

Top reviews

DP
Jun 1, 2021

GREAT CONTENT TALKING ABOUT THE TECHNICAL PART OF SOLAR ENERGY SYSTEM DESIGNING AND DATA PROVIDED BY PROFESSOR WAS EXCELLENT FOR HAVING A PRACTICE OF DESIGNING THE SOLAR SYSTEM OF OUR OWN HOUSE.

SB
Jul 15, 2020

100% Efforts by Instructor.\n\nIts amazing to learn how each aspects is being covered in the course.\n\nPRACTICAL Videos of the each parts of the solar was very impressive.\n\nJust Excellent!!!!

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 128 Reviews for Solar Energy and Electrical System Design

By shahzad a

Oct 10, 2021

Really appreciate instructor for good explanation.I have learned new things but i will suggest that technical aspect of the course should be more explained with block diagrams and pictures of each part.

By Ehsan U R

Dec 26, 2020

This course has a lot more details than any previous course i have taken regarding Solar System Designing. A must have for everyone

By CHANDEGARA P P

Mar 16, 2021

It's very good platform to easy to learn and clear all doubt, and also than full to this Coursera app to help me.

Thank you......

By Syed N A K

Sep 5, 2020

Thank you very much Mam, taking this course was a wonderful experience for me, you as a course teacher did a great job.

By Abhishek R

Oct 1, 2020

this course help me lot to understand about PV system. I love the way she explained and make the things so easy.

By i19-0870 A M

Aug 31, 2021

I learned alot from this course . I would like to suggest to add videos about system installation practically .

By Fatai H O

Sep 4, 2020

I like the course,it help me to acquire more knowledge on how to generate electricity through solar system

By Bhuvnesh S

Apr 15, 2021

This course is very well-structured and useful to acquire more knowledge and key aspects of Solar Energy.

By Bruno J E H S

Jun 30, 2021

Great course, very well presented with easy to follow explanations and great references to learn more.

By Chidchon S

Jul 15, 2021

I​ really like the teaching style. It would be better if provide more example for the calculation.

By Alex B

Dec 14, 2020

It's a good course to review some key aspects on solar energy, if you are an electrical engineer.

By Saif M

Jun 2, 2021

Especially useful if you are already familiar with solar but need to tighten up a few loose ends

By 3661_Rushikesh T

Mar 18, 2021

i have successfully learned about solar energy and design , thank you for the imp guidence.

By Alexander P

Sep 26, 2020

Great course of a more detailed view of the design. Easy to follow and excellent professor.

By Anderson D O G

Mar 1, 2021

excelente sencillo practico y la instructora muy preparada en el área para dar la clase

By aung w n

Mar 25, 2021

Very good Course . Instructor gave me a lot of knowledge about design . Awesome course

By Ernesto F R

Jul 16, 2021

Esperaba mas detalle en los calculos pero al ser de México supongo que algunos varian

By Avinash k s

Jul 31, 2020

The course was well designed to come across design of a solar pv plant at a facility.

By Dr R P

Aug 30, 2020

This course is very useful for basic learner those who doesn't have any fundamentals

By Sandra C

Nov 20, 2020

Had a wonderful experience. The lecture was very informative and understandable.

By Bhushan S P

Aug 14, 2020

This course is highly recommended to all who are interested in Renewable energy.

By SOUMYADEEP D A

Jul 31, 2020

IT S VERY GOOD AND HELPFUL. IT ALLOW US TO LEARN A SKILL OF SOLAR INSTALLER.

By Skip S

Jul 25, 2021

Covered everything... even the kitchen sink! I'm happy with what I learned!

By Mohamud A A

Jun 27, 2021

it was great course and learned a lot thanks for this great opportunity

By Santiago M

Aug 24, 2020

Great course once you know the basics, make sure to check the first one