Chevron Left
Back to Solar Energy Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Solar Energy Basics by The State University of New York

4.8
stars
2,032 ratings

About the Course

This course gives you an introduction to the fundamentals of solar power as it applies to solar panel system installations. You will learn to compare solar energy to other energy resources and explain how solar panels, or photovoltaics (PV for short), convert sunlight to electricity. You will be able to identify the key components needed in a basic photovoltaic (solar panel) system, such as is found on a house or building, and explain the function of each component in the system. You will also learn how to calculate the electrical demand of a building, how to reduce the overall demand, and then how to design a solar panel system that can meet that annual demand at a given location. You will also compare the different types of pricing models that are being used and key regulatory considerations for grid tied systems (where a house or building is connected to the electrical grid and also generates electricity from solar panels). A capstone design project that entails both the simple audit of a building to determine demand, and a selection of components to design a solar panel system to meet that demand....

Top reviews

A

Jun 17, 2020

I would like to thank you and your team for this great course, I'm really appreciated, it was very helpful as starting in this field, and I will be the first one who will take all your next courses

PG

May 3, 2021

Good course. Some downloadable presentation slides would have been helpful to seal the learning. Otherwise, I learned a lot and have a much better understanding of solar energy and it's potential.

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 687 Reviews for Solar Energy Basics

By Christina M

Jul 27, 2020

Pretty happy with course until I finished module 1 quiz and could not submit it unless I upgraded to a certificate. I have taken several Courses on here and it is the first one I could not submit a quiz without upgrading... Felt like a bait and switch. I am learning for my own growth not for a certificate!

By Gihan I

Apr 19, 2021

Neal Abrams does a very good job to simplify and explain the course. I learnt much on this course and I recommend it to anyone wanting to understand the basics. But one issue I had is that it is structured for the American student and not for an international student. This was a turn-off to me.

By Patrick L

Nov 5, 2021

I would like to thank your team and you for this great course, I learned a lot and really appreciated the time and effort for making this course so interesting.

I have one last request, could you or your team kindly re-issue the certificate for me as the name is wrongly reflected. Thanks.

By Andrew L

Dec 20, 2021

A good course although it needed a little bit of a better explanation on how to calculate the number of required solar panels what are the different types of solar irradiance maps and how to use them and there was no information about loss of efficiency of PV over time.

By DEEPTHIKA .

Oct 19, 2020

These basics about renewable energy sources like utilization of solar nergy in the form of solar panels and PV systems, modules is very much useful in designing and understanding more about solar energy!! Great it was a good experience... Nice work Coursera 👍👌

By Camilo A E G

Jul 6, 2020

The course has an interesting overview of Solar Energy, however, during the course, the instructor mentions other courses to complete a non-existent specialization. As a student, I was disappointed because I paid the course to continue the specialization.

By Hernan D G R

Feb 13, 2020

I have enjoyed the course, they gave us a good information for starting in this beautiful work, I recommend it, I love if they give us more information about the array but it is a good beginning. I hope to study more details in the next courses.

By vijaya a n

Aug 2, 2020

There is some thing to be concentrated on review of projects. What i think is some are simply rejcting becuase thier project are not submitted or not checking the project in detail. Hence i request pay some attention in this regard.

By Jj O

Oct 25, 2020

I don't like the final project was scored or checking for other students, I mean, It would be better if we got feedback from an expert or for the person who created this course,

by the way, It was really good also really helpful

By Rohan B G

Jun 28, 2020

Great course with all the required exercises and easy to understand. provided all the basics and the knowledge of photovoltaic s as well as energy consumption and one more helpful thing about course was the capstone project.

By Vikas R P

Sep 26, 2020

Complete knowledge about solar energy. Learn to calculate load, sun hour, array size.

Best thing is course test contains less MCQ, more logical and math questions.

Project improves confidence in the field of solar energy.

By Atharva A G

Jul 20, 2020

It's a Amazing course with very deep knowledge and information about solar enrgy and photovoltaics.If you are a beginner or a expert in this field no matter this course will absolutely made you expert in solar energy .

By Mamuka M

Sep 11, 2020

I learned about Solar Energy Basics. Starting from equipment and materials that are used, followed by principles of operation and completed by selection of PV Modules for specific buildings based on Energy demand.

By Aditya W

Jul 10, 2020

the course content is very good for starting off from basics of solar photovoltaics. concepts are explained properly. assignment problem and quizzes were also very interesting. real recommendable.

By SUSHIL Y

May 18, 2020

Nice course, got to learn many new things. Previously very few knowledge about solar energy. but after taking this course, i learnt a lot of things, PV modules, efficiency, insoaltion, STC etc.

By Kurt K

Apr 9, 2022

Overall good course. I would have gotten more out of this course if it included a sample spreadsheet with the basic calculations or some sort of tool to help guide the needed calculations.

By Shubhada V A

Oct 26, 2020

This course is very nice . My knowledge is definitely get improved after doing this course. the instructor explains every point very neat and clearly.

By Ranjeet S

Jul 22, 2021

most of the basic all clear from this solar course. overall this course is very good for basic learners.

i learn many new concept from this course.

By Francesc X R A

Sep 25, 2020

Very well explained and structured.

But I would have preferred that a certified teacher or instructor review the assignments, and not the students.

By Gabriel M B

Aug 14, 2020

Curso bom. Dá um bom parâmetro de como um sistema FV funciona. Na parte normativa, não é muito útil para quem não mora nos EUA. No mas, bom curso!

By Sassi

May 17, 2021

It is my first course on solar systems and I find it suitable for beginners and it has a lot of useful information for beginners in one course

By DIVYANG G

May 9, 2020

it was a great learning experience. Instructor way of teaching is fantastic. I recommend that for everyone who is interested in Solar career.

By Vivek a

May 12, 2020

This course help me to give the basic idea about installation of PV system and also help to learn some of the basic Knowledge about solar.

By Dilan R R

Apr 29, 2020

Very good course to get started in the world of renewable energy and become familiar with essential concepts and basic calculations.

By Pushpendra K

Aug 7, 2020

Solar energy basics course is good for electrical engineering students and I complete this course is is very useful for me