Chevron Left
Back to Solar Energy Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Solar Energy Basics by The State University of New York

4.8
stars
1,981 ratings
658 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you an introduction to the fundamentals of solar power as it applies to solar panel system installations. You will learn to compare solar energy to other energy resources and explain how solar panels, or photovoltaics (PV for short), convert sunlight to electricity. You will be able to identify the key components needed in a basic photovoltaic (solar panel) system, such as is found on a house or building, and explain the function of each component in the system. You will also learn how to calculate the electrical demand of a building, how to reduce the overall demand, and then how to design a solar panel system that can meet that annual demand at a given location. You will also compare the different types of pricing models that are being used and key regulatory considerations for grid tied systems (where a house or building is connected to the electrical grid and also generates electricity from solar panels). A capstone design project that entails both the simple audit of a building to determine demand, and a selection of components to design a solar panel system to meet that demand....

Top reviews

A

Jun 17, 2020

I would like to thank you and your team for this great course, I'm really appreciated, it was very helpful as starting in this field, and I will be the first one who will take all your next courses

J

Sep 26, 2020

I'm an electrical engineering student in 6th semester. In this course I learned many new things regarding, a pathway to PV specialization, special Thanks to coursera authorities and respected Sir.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 663 Reviews for Solar Energy Basics

By Oscar T R

May 13, 2021

Good to introduce to the sector. Will need to do complementary trainings in order to have a complete vision of FV infraestructure and installations.

By Praveen K I

Aug 20, 2021

I​ have learnt many interesting things in this course. Had given me a good start to know the things related to the field of Solar PV Systems.

By Anil V

Jul 22, 2021

excellent course I have learned really new thing .

thanks to Neal Abrams professor really good work done on course content

thanks (coursera)

By Lloyd N

Jan 27, 2021

Presentations are very informative and well made; questions accurately tested learning material and capstone pulled it all together.

By Emilio H M A

Dec 19, 2021

Es muy valioso el conocimiento aquí adquirido, ya que permite contar con mas conocimiento acerca de la energia solar y sus bondades

By Sergio C S

Jul 12, 2020

Highly recommendable to get foundations of Solar Energy. Congratulations to the SUNY team, very clear learning. Thank you

By Sarath H

May 23, 2022

This course is well focused on understanding the basics of Solar PV basics . lectures are outsanding and easy to follow.

By RAJU R B

Nov 8, 2019

This course is really found useful for fundamentals of PV,site selection for installation of PV and design of PV system.

By Adnan A H M

Apr 11, 2021

Many thanks to ESF University for the detailed and comprehensive explanation and thanks to Coursera for this great work

By Ravi k

Jul 2, 2020

This course is very useful for any one because this course is covered solar power , solar energy and other components.

By Mansour A

Apr 23, 2022

The course enriched my technical skills as an electrical engineer, I have learned many new electrical oriented info.

By Diego Y L G

Oct 19, 2020

Very good course if you want to learn the basic of solar energy and the opoertunities in the market that this have.

By Saurabh A

Aug 15, 2020

It was a great learning experience. Have learned so many new things associated with solar energy, pv panels and etc

By JOSÉ D J M C

Aug 31, 2020

I liked this course because the information and explanation of this was very good and clear, highly recommendable.

By Naman M

Jul 25, 2020

amazing course. it was a great learning experience with instructor.I learnt lots of new things about solar energy.

By Benjamin Y

Jul 24, 2020

Great for beginners - I appreciate the content for basic understanding and also the thoroughness of the instructor

By HAFIZ M S A

Feb 10, 2021

Add some structure knowledge in bullet form Like How many types of structure, why we use these type of structure.

By SHRIHARISH R

Aug 6, 2020

Learning more about electrical appliances and solar uses and their efficiency and how to utilize the solar energy

By Paturu v

Apr 28, 2020

We can know the energy consumption about at our residential and many industries and can control the power supply

By Nitish Y

Jun 25, 2021

A must do course for an electrical engineer and one of the best faculty you would get for learning this course.

By Mohammad S A Q

Mar 29, 2021

Basic but very informative. I am looking forward to get the other related courses to complete the story. Thanks

By Kai R

Nov 12, 2020

I enjoyed this course! Just one wish - please include more regional information in regards to Europe, Asia etc.

By Ankesh T

Jul 16, 2020

It was a great experience in learning this course. I have learnt many things and this course is really awesome.

By Fahad V

Jul 8, 2020

Thank you very much. The way of presentation is excellent

It is really helped to enhance my Knowledge

Thank you

By Vaidehi D S

Apr 4, 2021

It was really informative and fun to learn. Very descriptive and detailed out curriculum covered every topics.