Chevron Left
Back to Solar Energy Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Solar Energy Basics by The State University of New York

4.8
stars
2,206 ratings

About the Course

This course gives you an introduction to the fundamentals of solar power as it applies to solar panel system installations. You will learn to compare solar energy to other energy resources and explain how solar panels, or photovoltaics (PV for short), convert sunlight to electricity. You will be able to identify the key components needed in a basic photovoltaic (solar panel) system, such as is found on a house or building, and explain the function of each component in the system. You will also learn how to calculate the electrical demand of a building, how to reduce the overall demand, and then how to design a solar panel system that can meet that annual demand at a given location. You will also compare the different types of pricing models that are being used and key regulatory considerations for grid tied systems (where a house or building is connected to the electrical grid and also generates electricity from solar panels). A capstone design project that entails both the simple audit of a building to determine demand, and a selection of components to design a solar panel system to meet that demand....

Top reviews

EL

Oct 4, 2020

Aprendi mucho en este curso. Los videos explicativos del profesor hacen que todo sea de facil entendimiento. El conocimiento adquirido he podido aplicarlo en mi actual area de trabajo. Muy recomendado

A

Jun 17, 2020

I would like to thank you and your team for this great course, I'm really appreciated, it was very helpful as starting in this field, and I will be the first one who will take all your next courses

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 738 Reviews for Solar Energy Basics

By StevoA99

Mar 3, 2022

Very well made with alot of informations and I feel like I learned alot and can now do alot more in that field based off of this one course alone. I will definitely take more courses.

By Ricardo C

Apr 19, 2021

In my opinion, the course is quite balanced and effectively allows you to acquire good basic Knowledge about photovoltaic Solar Energy. Congratulations on the initiative and sharing.

By Raymond M

Jan 18, 2021

Thew Solar Energy Basics course is exceptional. Both the content and presentation were spot on for my needs. Dr. Abrams - Thanks for the benefit of your knowledge. Ray Morris

By Akash N

Jun 25, 2021

An A+ course for beginners in the field of PV, the course explained all the key points in the most simple and concise way possible. I would definitely recommended this course.

By PANKAJ R

Nov 13, 2021

really enjoyed the training, it was tasking and challenging but well equipped. I am glad that I was able to run the training. Thanks to Dr. Nel Abrams and the entire cousera

By Yasser H J

Nov 19, 2020

The course was good as a preliminary course goes through the science and economics on a basic enough level to give an idea of Solar energy without overwhelming the students

By Ahsaan K

Jan 23, 2022

Great course for learning Solar energy from the very basic foundation. Being an Electrical Engineer, it helped me in learning the basic concepts of solar power systems.

By JOHN R B A

Nov 2, 2021

This is an excellent course for individuals interested in learning about solar PV systems. They teach you in such a way that even a newbie can understand the topics.

By Anees A

Oct 18, 2022

It is a wonderful course. It is a short course but if you follow the lectures closely, it is enough to be able size a solar plant and other necessary requirements.

By Stuart K

Feb 20, 2023

A very good basic course, once you have completed this a lot of the mysteries of PV installations and PV generally, will be cleared up.

A good starting point.

By Phurpa D

Aug 18, 2022

Excellent course recommended for all engineers, architects and learning enthusiasts. The clarity of explanation is commendable and the math is kept simple.

By Oscar T R

May 13, 2021

Good to introduce to the sector. Will need to do complementary trainings in order to have a complete vision of FV infraestructure and installations.

By Deon C

Nov 8, 2022

It was an excellent course and definitely enhanced my knowledge regarding solar energy which gives me more confidence in entering a new industry

By Praveen K I

Aug 20, 2021

I have learnt many interesting things in this course. Had given me a good start to know the things related to the field of Solar PV Systems.

By Anil V

Jul 22, 2021

excellent course I have learned really new thing .

thanks to Neal Abrams professor really good work done on course content

thanks (coursera)

By Doc D

Oct 17, 2022

Great entry-level course for newcomers to Solar Energy. Very well presented and interesting. Some Math required but not demanding at all.

By Joe M

Nov 6, 2022

C'était un cours bien dispensé avec toutes les explications possible.

Merci à coursera de disponibilisé ce cours et merci au facilitateur.

By Lloyd N

Jan 27, 2021

Presentations are very informative and well made; questions accurately tested learning material and capstone pulled it all together.

By Emilio H M A

Dec 19, 2021

Es muy valioso el conocimiento aquí adquirido, ya que permite contar con mas conocimiento acerca de la energia solar y sus bondades

By Sergio C S

Jul 12, 2020

Highly recommendable to get foundations of Solar Energy. Congratulations to the SUNY team, very clear learning. Thank you

By Sarath H

May 23, 2022

This course is well focused on understanding the basics of Solar PV basics . lectures are outsanding and easy to follow.

By RAJU R B

Nov 8, 2019

This course is really found useful for fundamentals of PV,site selection for installation of PV and design of PV system.

By Chowdhury F M

Oct 26, 2022

A very meticulously designed basic course on that touches the fundamental knowledges of Solar energy and installation.

By ADNAN M

Apr 11, 2021

Many thanks to ESF University for the detailed and comprehensive explanation and thanks to Coursera for this great work

By Ravi k

Jul 2, 2020

This course is very useful for any one because this course is covered solar power , solar energy and other components.