Chevron Left
Back to Solar Energy Systems Overview

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Solar Energy Systems Overview by University at Buffalo

4.7
stars
598 ratings
153 reviews

About the Course

By the end of this course, learners will have acquired a broad understanding of the history and mechanics behind converting light into electricity, commonly known as photovoltaics (PV). They are empowered to recognize and describe elements of a PV system, enabling them to: compare the most common types of solar cells, sketch a solar PV system, and analyze differences between rooftop and ground mounting configurations. The course explores economic considerations, touching on solar PV costs for residential and commercial use, incentives, and contrasts solar power with fossil fuel and nuclear plants. This course is ideal for anyone interested in entering the solar power sector, whether fresh to the workforce or switching industries. The curriculum is especially useful for engineers, HVAC installers, architects, and building code inspectors. Material includes online lectures, videos, demos, project work, readings and discussions. This is the first course in the Solar PV for Engineers, Architects and Code Inspectors specialization. To learn more about the specialization, check out a video overview at https://youtu.be/XjkKzbXqA6s....

Top reviews

PR
Mar 18, 2021

I would like to give lots of thanks to the instructor as she explains everything clearly in details. Really, I get such superb knowledge which I cannot get from online books or posts. Thanks!!!

SM
Apr 22, 2021

The last quiz was too difficult. it took my time more than 1 hour . I have totally got swept .It's awesome course not only by learning materials but also difficulties. Salute the course writer.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 156 Reviews for Solar Energy Systems Overview

By Carlos C

Aug 22, 2020

es interesante, pues da una mirada general del sistema PV, aunque da un enfoque muy a la actualidad del mercado de USA, lo que se podría mejorar hablando de un analicis global de estos mercados.

By Kuni S

Aug 25, 2021

Great as a quick introductory course! Doesn't get into the details of design or analysis of systems, but as an overview course, you sholdn't expect that.

By Christopher W

Jul 31, 2020

Fantastic comprehensive review of PV components and the eco-system it fits into. The instructor was enthusiastic and engaging. Thank you!

By Vishal

Aug 21, 2020

IT WAS BRILLIANT COURSE FOR BEGINNERS AND FOR THE PEOPLE WHO WANTED TO LEARN ABOUT SOLAR PV SYSTEM IN DEPTH.

By SHASHWAT H K

Jul 18, 2020

Nice Introductory Course. Would recommend to anyone wanting an overview of solar energy systems.

By Juan J G

Sep 25, 2020

It would have been interesting to see some NPV example for the economy of solar PV

By Masood R

Oct 5, 2020

Good overview for those with no or limited knowledge of Solar PV industry.

By Emad M E S

Sep 18, 2020

For an overview, it is sufficient and has some good tips in general

By Hugh S

Oct 8, 2020

A very useful course for an introduction to Solar Energy Systems

By Felix K

Aug 17, 2020

It is a very basic introduction to the overall PV system

By Pablo V

Dec 30, 2020

It is a very simple course, right for starters.

By Mohammad I

Sep 9, 2020

it was informative and knowledgeable. Thank you

By SARVAGNEE N

Jul 27, 2020

It was nice learning experience.Thank you.

By AKHILA E M

Sep 16, 2020

Get more information about solarsystem.

By Mauray L T

Apr 24, 2021

I thought this course was very helpful

By Nicolas B

Feb 11, 2021

Very good for beginners

By Ketoglo K W J

Aug 20, 2020

Both clear and technic.

By Paolo d S

Sep 18, 2020

Very nice course!!

By Noaman R

Aug 3, 2020

A good course.

By PANKAJ G

Aug 31, 2020

pretty basic

By Ritheesh.T

Aug 29, 2020

Good

By Maged M

Jun 5, 2021

It is good introductory course. but it not too technical. for me this was not and advantage. the Course is missing an important piece of information is how to calculate the Energy output from a system. although couple of examples of the systems were indicated but the results was not explained how they are obtained.

By Matthew M

May 24, 2021

This course is quite practical in focus. If you're asking yourself "what do I need to know if I want to install solar panels on my roof?" this is a really solid place to start. It is not ideal for an engineer looking for an understanding of the technical principles underlying Solar Energy Systems.

By Muhammad T

Jul 18, 2020

Slides Must be provided. This course needs some detailed analysis with some real time examples and detailed PV Installation video. More, videos must be atleast 5 min long for each segment rather than few second videos. Videos having atleast 5 min may keep our interest in learning.

By Troy T

Jan 11, 2021

As an electrical engineer with only 5 years experience i took this course to try and broaden my knowledge as my work dabbles in Solar/ethanol powered sites. I did not learn anything. Would be a good intro course for beginners though.