Chevron Left
Back to The Science of the Solar System

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Science of the Solar System by Caltech

4.8
stars
604 ratings
212 reviews

About the Course

Learn about the science behind the current exploration of the solar system in this free class. Use principles from physics, chemistry, biology, and geology to understand the latest from Mars, comprehend the outer solar system, ponder planets outside our solar system, and search for habitability in our neighborhood and beyond. This course is generally taught at an advanced level assuming a prior knowledge of undergraduate math and physics, but the majority of the concepts and lectures can be understood without these prerequisites. The quizzes and final exam are designed to make you think critically about the material you have learned rather than to simply make you memorize facts. The class is expected to be challenging but rewarding....

Top reviews

CE
Mar 3, 2020

Learning facilitated by good lecturing, well prepared lectures and excellent quizzes.\n\nLecturer Mike Brown, enthusiastic about his subject, generous in sharing his knowledge, humorous, and honest.

PK
May 24, 2019

The lectures are engaging and replete with thought provoking material. Professor Brown's in depth knowledge of the field and his passion for planetary science aroused an everlasting curiosity.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 204 Reviews for The Science of the Solar System

By Mohammed s

Jun 4, 2020

Big thanks for Caltech and Staff, specially to Mr Mike Brown for making me literate in Astronomy.

Best wishes to you all.

By Marco Z

Jan 25, 2021

Amazing course! I found the art of teaching of Prof. Mike Brown absolut fantastic! one of the best courses on coursera!

By Petrik d H

Oct 9, 2016

The course taught me a lot, and was perfectly balanced between being informative and technical. Highly recommended.

By Naomi M

May 19, 2016

Way over my head but has definitely given me a reason to pursue learning more about physics and the solar system.

By Yudi P

Apr 11, 2020

I love this course. Everything is very detailed but it's very hard to understand. But still manage to finish it!

By Catalina

May 11, 2020

Excellent course, it was challenging for me due to the contents and the level; but I enjoyed a lot. Thank you

By José D C F

Sep 10, 2020

IT WAS AMAZING, THE AMOUNT OF THINGS I LEARNT WOW I AM SHOOK AT THE QUALITY OF THIS COURSE. 10/10 RECOMMEND

By David J P O

Aug 17, 2020

This course is beyond my level, but I really appreciate the hard work they have done in putting this course

By Edu

Nov 26, 2020

This course is really interesting. I think it's really good. There is never a boring moment in this class.

By Florent B

Mar 8, 2020

Tons of interesting unknown facts about the planetary science, with a very pedagogic and fun presentation!

By Isabel G

May 16, 2016

This course is amazing! Professor Mike Brown is great at what he does, and everything is well explained.

By Marcos S G

Apr 13, 2016

Fantastic teacher, amazingly well-prepared contents. It's incredible that they are doing this for free.

By Abdallah A

Jan 9, 2021

Incredible course, very informative and fun, Prof. Mike Brown and all the guest lecturers are amazing.

By Damien S

Jun 19, 2017

Mike Brown is an excellent and funny lecturer, and I learned something interesting from every lecture.

By Jackie K

Oct 13, 2019

Interesting enough that you'll forgo whatever you're watching on Netflix and finish in about 2 weeks.

By Ahmed O A

May 31, 2016

The hardest and the most amazing course i have ever taken.

Thank you Prof.Mike for this chance :)

By Michael L

Nov 28, 2020

Challenging, informative and led by an engaging Professor who is clearly excited by the topic.

By miguel a g a

Aug 16, 2017

I great great course, full of new data and theories. Thabks the team for their thorough work.

By Tracy M

Aug 11, 2020

I really enjoyed doing this course.I learned a lot.I would recommend this course to others!!

By shakib C

Mar 15, 2018

This course is really outstanding. Thank you, Professor Mike. I'm pleased to learn from you.

By Alejandro D

Mar 4, 2018

Awesome! Highly recommended to anyone interested in astronomy. Thank you Prof. @plutokiller!

By Rima F A

Aug 4, 2020

This class is awesome ! even for someone who previously never learn about planetary science

By Andrew C

May 5, 2018

Really excellent material from a leading expert in the field. I really enjoyed this course!

By Sebastian S

Mar 18, 2018

Amazing! I've enjoyed very much the course and Mike's explanations. He is a great teacher!

By Hugh G

Dec 11, 2020

Very enjoyable -- learned a lot -- a real privilege to learn from a leader in the field.