Chevron Left
Back to Spanish Vocabulary: Meeting People

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Spanish Vocabulary: Meeting People by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
2,650 ratings
656 reviews

About the Course

¡Hola! ¿Como Estas? In this entry level course, you will take the first step toward exploring the foundations of Spanish grammar and pronunciation, and will begin to build a working vocabulary of common Spanish words and expressions. You will be able to talk about yourself, your family and friends in the present tense, and begin to explore the cultural context of the Spanish-speaking world through a series of videos and interactive activities, including speaking, reading and writing exercises. The adventure begins here, so ¡vámanos!...

Top reviews

GT
Dec 29, 2020

This course is very interacting! Though they only give brief lessons, what I like about it the most are the activities it offers for you to brush up your skills more. Definitely a good recommendation!

MP
Nov 9, 2018

Although it took me a while to warm to the idea of doing peer review exercises, and having to video record and upload work, actually I think this is an important part of the course and really useful.

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 650 Reviews for Spanish Vocabulary: Meeting People

By Qin W

Aug 19, 2018

No tutor is available.

Discussion form is dead.

You can ask question but you will never get the answer.

By Areo B

Jul 30, 2020

It is not really suitable for beginners. The course speaker and course videos are fast paced.

By Archideb S

Jul 10, 2020

Questions and the Practice Tests were much more difficult than what was being taught.

By Divya S

Apr 23, 2020

Quite difficult. Some of the exercises don't have proper explanations.

By Aishwarya K

Mar 16, 2021

A little too hard for a beginner to follow.

By Emilia T Y

Feb 18, 2021

Sorry, Ii is far from what I was expecting.

By Tanya R

Nov 23, 2020

Difficult for beginners

By shriyansi

Jun 8, 2020

As someone who speaks Spanish but doesn't have anyone to practice with, I figured I'd give this course a go as a refresher. For me, this course was okay - I already had the necessary background. However, for a beginner, this course is just bewildering - the tests involve an extensive vocabulary in Spanish, which is never covered in the modules preceding them.

I understand that designing language courses is hard, especially those that are completely online. However, these mistakes are rather basic, I think. Don't use words in tests that you haven't explained before. It's that simple. Don't test me on grammar rules that you haven't bothered to cover.

These are the sort of courses that turn people off from learning new languages. Please, revise the course if your intention is to give people access to a new language.

By Evangeline-Rhea W S Y

Nov 16, 2020

had expected it to be similar to other Coursera language courses I've taken where you start by learning the ABCs and they teach you pronunciation and make you practice enunciation at the same time. This course deep dives into using Spanish without any consideration for people who do not have any knowledge of the language and have enrolled thinking that they can learn the basics. Had to go elsewhere to pick up the basics on my own before coming back here to attempt the quizzes. Thus I do not really see the point of my enrolling in this course.

By Katerina B

Apr 4, 2021

Terribly outdated interface, useless intro videos, pages crash mid-task and all progress gets lost, weird approach to learning new vocabulary without offering any acquaintance with words that are being actively used in exercises, impossible to study without google translate, no option of hearing pronunciation of the words that are being offered for learning which results in memorizing those words incorrectly. Could pass for a free course but is ABSOLUTELY not worth any money, especially not $50 per week.

By Fabiano J d S J

Jul 27, 2020

Mais inglês que espanhol.

Não gostei,o ideal é colocar mais conteúdos em espanhol para as pessoas aprenderem, e não apenas colocar tudo em inglês, a pessoa nunca vai entender ,compreender e assimilar o espanhol com tanto conteúdo em inglês.

By Khamila E

May 27, 2019

Supposedly, this is a free course. I applied to have financial aids, it was accepted. I finished the course and then ! I had to pay to get the certificate. This was not even mentioned in any of the e-mails I have received.

By joseph s

Jan 4, 2021

Course is advertised for those with no prior experience nor knowledge. Yet, the practice assignments are not practical as the answers to questions are in complete spanish, containing words that were not taught prior to.

By Johnathan K

Aug 24, 2020

My husband is a fluent Spanish speaker & I asked for help understanding the material and he even said this is to advanced. There were some things he didn’t even know. He was born in Vera Cruz, MX.

By Rolston A D

Oct 1, 2020

The level of teaching is okay but the task and exams are very tricky.. highly recommended not for beginners who doesn't know anything about Spanish

By Patricia H

Jan 14, 2021

This is not a course for beginners. There is no textbook or workbook and no guidance.

By Sneha S

Oct 22, 2020

I had loved it, but they werent passing me in aa test i did as per the instructions

By Elizabeth S

Aug 23, 2020

THIA COURSE WAS ADVERTISED AS FREE, THEN MY CC UNEXPECTED GOT CHARGED!

By erick e

Jun 10, 2020

el curso es para español -ingles y no tiene subtitulos en español

By VAISHNAVI G

Jul 2, 2020

it was not helpful. i can was not able to pronounce the word

By Mark F

Feb 16, 2021

Incredibly basic and not very instructional

By Ameera J G A N

Feb 3, 2021

i cant do the assignment

By Alfiona L

Jan 6, 2021

Its not for beginner

By Alessandra F

Feb 19, 2021

Too basic