Chevron Left
Back to Speak English Professionally: In Person, Online & On the Phone

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Speak English Professionally: In Person, Online & On the Phone by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.7
stars
8,398 ratings
2,592 reviews

About the Course

Do you want to speak better English? This course will help you reach that goal. Speak English Professionally: In person, Online and On the Phone will boost your English speaking skills. In this 5 week course, you will learn how to identify and make a strong personal introduction. You will develop and demonstrate the speaking skills for group discussions: how to agree or disagree, how to clarify, restate and summarize. You will review and practice how to give information and respond to requests on the phone. You will study and role play effective interviewing. You will prepare and give a sales “pitch”, introducing a product or service. Throughout the course, you will adjust how you speak English and you will become more fluent and accurate when you speak. You will demonstrate culturally appropriate body language and tone. As you work through the course, you will complete self- and peer-evaluations. Through a combination of lectures, comprehension and vocabulary quizzes, practice and performance, you’ll gain the skills and confidence to communicate well in English, anywhere in the world. By the end of this course you will: • Change how you speak English • Improve your pronunciation and fluency • Increase your English vocabulary • Identify how culture influences your speech • Use culture to help you speak correctly • Demonstrate the best body language for different cultural settings • Know statements, questions and responses for different settings and situations...

Top reviews

NM
May 2, 2020

I've benefited a lot by pursuing this course. Small pronunciation and word stress has been cleared. I would suggest non-English speakers to take up this course to enhance their English language skill.

GL
Jun 4, 2020

very useful. i liked and enjoyed the journey of learning in these five weeks. the instructor is very clear and taught very interestingly. Thanks to her. she looked poised and cheerful and professional

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 2,575 Reviews for Speak English Professionally: In Person, Online & On the Phone

By SRIMATHI

Dec 22, 2020

First of all, thanks for the availability of these kind of opportunities, and this course helps me a lot to speak English vividly without fear, and the teaching was really good, thank you

By Fabien F

Feb 11, 2021

I really appreciated this course. Each part is taught in such a way that every person can improve its skills. Thank you for the quality of this course, really professional and efficient.

By 19-PHT-002 E

Jan 22, 2021

The course was very much useful. The videos are so watchable and they cover a lot of understanding areas. Best course one can take up who wishes to improve their English speaking skills.

By Paulina M M

Dec 27, 2020

Me pareció muy completo el curso, y sobre todo las coordinadoras tienen una forma de explicar muy acertada. agradezco mucho sus conocimientos para compartirlos conmigo. Muchas gracias.

By SHAH H J

Oct 22, 2020

The course was nicely designed by the professional. Every aspect of professional speaking was covered briefly. As it was my first time with Coursera and it was wonderful to experience.

By Kateryna V

Oct 19, 2020

Thanks to the teachers and all the people who contributed to the course. Everything is okay and my only suggestion is to review the links in the course - some are no longer available.

By Shreya N

Sep 30, 2020

Its one of the best course I have ever taken ....Thanks to all the lecturers .....U all helped me to score good grade (96%) ...............Thanks to all..........

Regards,

Shreya Nayak

By B02-Bhagyashri S

Jul 20, 2020

Hello. I am Bhagyashri Sardey. I am from India. I took this course to improve my English communication skills. It helped me a lot . It developed confidence and english communication.

By Md. M H

Jul 15, 2020

I liked the way the instructor took forward the course. She conducted the course in almost the same way what she was teaching, she was a live demonstration of all the concepts taught.

By RAZAFILALAINA

Aug 20, 2016

Very interesting course ! I m really happy to join this course. There a lot of tricks to help me to be confident in english spoken. Thanks to everyone involved in making this course.

By KALYANI D F

Nov 11, 2020

The course was very helpful . It wasn't just for how to speak online but, how to communicate with people face to face. It was a great experience. Thank u mam for making such course

By Neo K

Jun 9, 2020

Very good course especially for those who want to learn English professionally. It also has interview skills, customer focus and presentation. The instructor was perfect and clear.

By Fel A A G

Nov 2, 2020

Taking this course was so worth it! The activities were fun, the community helped me a lot. The lessons were easy to understand and it's really applicable in our day to day lives.

By Himanshu G

Jul 18, 2020

This course is best for increasing the ability of speaking english fluently and clearly in Organization , meetings,presentation ,speech and also in our professional communication.

By Pham T P

May 4, 2020

This online course is very useful to me. Now, I am confident more when I apply these lesson in my work.

Thank you Ms. Amalia Stephens - Lecturer and Ms. Leah Attruia so much.

Phuong

By Ashraf A

Apr 5, 2020

it was such a nice and instructive course, and I really recommend it for anyone who wants to improve their language speaking skills as well as public speaking and interview skills

By Juan E P

May 26, 2017

¡Este curso fue excelente! Me ayudó a reafirmar cosas básicas del idioma y además me ayudó en cosas profesionales. Fue un gran curso, muy sencillo de entender pero sumamente útil.

By Naresh G

May 30, 2020

Got to learn excellent communication skills.Thanks to organization for providing this platform for beginners like me. thanks from the bottom of my heart for gaining my confidence

By Muhammad R F

Oct 24, 2019

Thanks to the instructor, she made me speak English more effectively in personal, interviews, presentations and many other aspects like right stresses, intonations etc. Thanks.

By Huaying L

Apr 26, 2020

That's awesome! I do really like this lesson, it helps me solve some problems with learning English, how to speak English better and how to about in phone, person and online!

By Ahmed N

Mar 25, 2016

I learned a lot in this course , and the modules gives you a direct, productive information. Thanks Georgia Tech, especially everyone helped to produce this excellent course.

By sisir N

Oct 11, 2020

An amazing course and amazing journey.I learnt so much from this course .Thankyou for providing this course and ofcourse thanks to the instructor who taught us so amazingly.

By KALYANI L

Jun 7, 2020

Superb course, gives you the correct way to speak in a formal situation.

Looking forward to use the skills learnt through the course in real life and excel in the work place.

By yong k e

Apr 19, 2020

The course is fun and those informative video really gave me a lot of ideas in pronoun, stress and some useful grammatically words. I've learned a lot and really appreciated

By H.D.N.M.Hettiarachchi

Sep 9, 2020

This course helped me to improve my confident.it's really a nice course with a better guidance.course contents are well organized.Thank you coursera for your great support.