Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy by University of Manchester

4.7
stars
1,992 ratings
529 reviews

About the Course

The course introduces the three key spectroscopic methods used by chemists and biochemists to analyse the molecular and electronic structure of atoms and molecules. These are UV/Visible , Infra-red (IR) and Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) spectroscopies. The content is presented using short focussed and interactive screencast presentations accompanied by formative quizzes to probe understanding of the key concepts presented. Numerous exercises are provided to facilitate mastery of each topic. A unique virtual spectroscopic laboratory is made available to enable students to measure and analyse spectra online. Assessment is via summative quizzes completed during the course period....

Top reviews

KB
Oct 14, 2020

This course helped me to further understand the principle behinds the 3 main spectroscopic techniques: UV/VIS, IR and NMR which is very beneficial for my future career working in a lab environment.

MR
Sep 9, 2020

Muy bien todo y super completo, ayuda aun mas en esta situación de cuarentena porque facilita la información y es una nueva manera de aprender que esta muy bien fundamentada y muy bien organizada

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 528 Reviews for Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy

By Siobhán O

Aug 25, 2020

It was OK, the workings to the answers would be very useful! You can get it wrong so many times and still never find out the answer when you finally pass in a quiz which is frustrating. Also more interactiveness would be appreciated rather than just watching students in a lecture hall.

I expected videos, sample questions and workings, better week study sheets etc

By Deybi F A A

Aug 19, 2020

The course is short and I believe that the course is for people to know the topics, if you do not know them, you will probably get confused. I would like they left more support material to learn and that in the exams the topics seen were asked. I would like the course to be revised in order to improve learning.

By asmaa g

Dec 5, 2020

it would be better if it activate the option of verifying of the result or for showing it after limited times of tries .

sometimes in the quiz there are questions with laws that are not discussed in the course .

also it would be better of having a book as a reference to study

By ebron f

Nov 9, 2020

Good course, had the opportunity to learn new concepts. But the certificate coursera is providing is having some issues on verification and The University logo is not fully showing in the certificate its only partially visible.... HOPING COURSERA WILL HELP ME OUT.

By Teri S

Jul 17, 2020

The subject matter is interesting and enjoyable to learn about.

However, I felt that it was poorly presented. The lecturer just rambled through the prepared slides, rather than introducing and explaining the topics to his audience.

By Chow Y S

Jun 22, 2020

Overall a decent introduction to spectroscopy but at week 3 the practice quiz test concepts that were not taught. Hence, unable to complete but still able to complete this module because it's ungraded

By Nimrod B

Apr 25, 2018

Nice overview of the field but poorly written exams, focusing on technical minutia.

Even worse, some problems are not solvable based on the knowledge given in the course.

By Yogen M B

May 20, 2020

The course is very good. Quizzes for the Week 3 are messed up and need a lot of work. Could have had more examples of spectrum analysis.

By Niranjani D

Sep 15, 2020

The lectures could have been more clear and planned. The assignments are really good and churns-up our mind to imbibe the concepts.

By Morgan L G R

Oct 13, 2020

Good content to go through the basics, however lack of details and theory about the quantum physics underlying NMR and IR

By Madhusudana R M

Jun 22, 2020

It is useful only for already subject known candidates. Its highly difficult to understand new to spectroscopy

By Muskan k

Jul 26, 2020

Numerical parts is excellent ! and only lectures are quite long and bit difficult to understand

By Yurshanva K

Jun 29, 2019

The content is good but the lectures audio was quite disturbing

By Michele H

Nov 17, 2021

Good intro but had to learn a lot outside of the lectures

By Akhil H

Jun 17, 2020

lots of improvements required

By Frank B

Aug 11, 2017

Sometimes confusing!

By Mayur

Feb 3, 2021

Good course

By MUHAMMED S

Jun 19, 2020

Good course

By Juan F S

May 9, 2021

Although this is an exciting topic, this is the worse MOOC I've ever taken. It based on live classes recordings (you can hear people talking in the background); we only watch the whiteboard and a pen drawing. The audio is not perfect; a lot of coughs. And English subtitles are plenty of mistakes. It seems the instructor did not commit himself to prepare this MOOC; he just compiled old materials to sell a product. Even some quizzes questions have errors (you can find other students' comments on the forum). I hated this course, and my only motivation was to finish it and forget it.

By ELENA F D

May 12, 2020

I am quite disappointed with the course. The lectures are so monotonous and hard to follow properly. The explanations are pretty poor and you need to check extra information to complete the quizzes. I you don´t know nothing about this field it is goint to be extremly difficult for a student. I you already have the basics knowleage it is ok.

The bright side is that you have the slides available for consultation and the practical quizzes with the simulations are useful.

By Raghav M

May 9, 2020

Overall presentations require much more improvement as it was very difficult of listening to the lecture. All the calculations were made too much mess.

By Daniel A V

Nov 3, 2019

Muy baja calidad de las explicaciones, es necesario estudiar en otros referentes bibliográficos para poder superar el curso, es monótono y aburrido.

By SAYANTAN M

Sep 12, 2020

Course is quite outdated and new modified course on this very important topic must be launched with better teaching methods.

By Misbah

Aug 21, 2020

where is my certificate?

By Prathamesh S M

Feb 4, 2021

Good