Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy by University of Manchester

4.7
stars
2,070 ratings
541 reviews

About the Course

The course introduces the three key spectroscopic methods used by chemists and biochemists to analyse the molecular and electronic structure of atoms and molecules. These are UV/Visible , Infra-red (IR) and Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) spectroscopies. The content is presented using short focussed and interactive screencast presentations accompanied by formative quizzes to probe understanding of the key concepts presented. Numerous exercises are provided to facilitate mastery of each topic. A unique virtual spectroscopic laboratory is made available to enable students to measure and analyse spectra online. Assessment is via summative quizzes completed during the course period....

Top reviews

KB

Oct 14, 2020

This course helped me to further understand the principle behinds the 3 main spectroscopic techniques: UV/VIS, IR and NMR which is very beneficial for my future career working in a lab environment.

MR

Sep 9, 2020

Muy bien todo y super completo, ayuda aun mas en esta situación de cuarentena porque facilita la información y es una nueva manera de aprender que esta muy bien fundamentada y muy bien organizada

Filter by:

526 - 546 of 546 Reviews for Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy

By Madhusudana R M

Jun 22, 2020

It is useful only for already subject known candidates. Its highly difficult to understand new to spectroscopy

By Robert L

May 26, 2022

Good but week 3's exam assumes you know A lOT of stuff that you probably don't, so be prepared for that.

By Muskan K

Jul 26, 2020

Numerical parts is excellent ! and only lectures are quite long and bit difficult to understand

By Yurshanva K

Jun 29, 2019

The content is good but the lectures audio was quite disturbing

By Michele H

Nov 17, 2021

Good intro but had to learn a lot outside of the lectures

By adeifeoluwa J

Apr 6, 2022

The questions were not clear and not the best.

By Akhil H

Jun 17, 2020

lots of improvements required

By Frank B

Aug 11, 2017

Sometimes confusing!

By Mayur

Feb 3, 2021

Good course

By MUHAMMED S

Jun 19, 2020

Good course

By Aree K

Mar 14, 2022

good

By Juan F S

May 9, 2021

Although this is an exciting topic, this is the worse MOOC I've ever taken. It based on live classes recordings (you can hear people talking in the background); we only watch the whiteboard and a pen drawing. The audio is not perfect; a lot of coughs. And English subtitles are plenty of mistakes. It seems the instructor did not commit himself to prepare this MOOC; he just compiled old materials to sell a product. Even some quizzes questions have errors (you can find other students' comments on the forum). I hated this course, and my only motivation was to finish it and forget it.

By ELENA F D

May 12, 2020

I am quite disappointed with the course. The lectures are so monotonous and hard to follow properly. The explanations are pretty poor and you need to check extra information to complete the quizzes. I you don´t know nothing about this field it is goint to be extremly difficult for a student. I you already have the basics knowleage it is ok.

The bright side is that you have the slides available for consultation and the practical quizzes with the simulations are useful.

By Raghav M

May 9, 2020

Overall presentations require much more improvement as it was very difficult of listening to the lecture. All the calculations were made too much mess.

By Daniel A V

Nov 3, 2019

Muy baja calidad de las explicaciones, es necesario estudiar en otros referentes bibliográficos para poder superar el curso, es monótono y aburrido.

By Sayantan M

Sep 12, 2020

Course is quite outdated and new modified course on this very important topic must be launched with better teaching methods.

By Misbah

Aug 21, 2020

where is my certificate?

By Prathamesh S M

Feb 4, 2021

Good

By Rutwa P B

Dec 8, 2020

My certificate isn't appropriate. The logo of Manchester University is missing. I much disappointed and disheartened. And they don't have a source through which a user can contact them for such problems and queries. I wasted my money for just nothing, coz the certificate is incomplete.

By Sreyanko S

Apr 23, 2020

The voice quality is poor. Content is not well elucidated. Uninteresting.

By SHAHINUR

May 4, 2020

so helpful this course