Chevron Left
Back to Sports and Society

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Sports and Society by Duke University

4.8
stars
1,019 ratings
275 reviews

About the Course

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

Top reviews

MM
Nov 11, 2016

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

LK
Jan 6, 2020

One of the best courses that mixed interesting facts with theories. I study sports management, it's really intriguing to see how sports social values entwined with each other in history!

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 274 Reviews for Sports and Society

By Uriel R

Nov 14, 2016

Great class, easy to follow, and very informative. One of my favorite, if not my favorite, course I have taken in Coursera.

By RuiYang Y

Jul 27, 2021

Amazing experience, I learned a lot in this class and it will be beneficial for my future academic learning and career :)

By Colm H

Jun 25, 2021

An excellent informative, engaging and inspiring course. It is the best online course I have ever done. Colm Hickey PhD

By Maria A S

Jul 4, 2020

very interesting and informative course. The instructor did an exceptional job. Kept the entire narration so interesting.

By Timur A

May 22, 2020

The best sports related course I ever had at Coursera! Fresh approach and a lot of insights! Thanks a lot, Mr. Starn!

By David V D

Sep 18, 2016

Got to learn a lot about sports and how it can have a complete different perceptive than only watching or playing it.

By Davis J

Jan 27, 2016

This is by far the best course I have taken from Coursera. Orin is very knowledgeable and passionate in his lectures.

By Matthew D

Jul 1, 2020

Very interesting combination of history of sport, psychology of sport, and society in general. Highly recommended.

By Arun J

Jun 13, 2020

I really enjoyed this course which helps to know about the modernisation and history of sports Thank you team DUKE.

By Muhammad A J

Feb 9, 2019

Excellent topic and well presented for those looking for an understanding between sports and society as a whole.

By Parker W

Apr 19, 2020

Enjoyable overview of sports and society. It raised a number of angles and thoughts I had never thought of.

By Chiara C

Nov 3, 2020

Muy interesante aprendizaje sobre el mundo del deporte a través de los años y sus cambios en la sociedad.

By Chew W Y

Jun 2, 2016

Great course, passionate instructor, lively examples. I highly recommend this course for all sports fans!

By Katrina E

Nov 26, 2021

Very enjoyable, Orin is energetic and knowlaedgable, providing interesting topics in an informative way.

By Assile T

Nov 27, 2020

One of the most exciting overall fulfilling courses I've ever taken.

Thanks Professor for your hard work!

By Martin S

Aug 8, 2016

Great course that look at sports from an anthropological view and exposes many ideas that even the hard

By Yimiao D

Sep 17, 2021

I totally love the atmosphere in the class, how the professor are lecturing and explaing everything.

By José E R A

Mar 24, 2020

Excelente, curso recomendado para cualquier persona que quiera dedicarse a las ciencias del deporte.

By Santiago M Q

Jul 16, 2020

Great course that provides comparison between the sports world and the events of the real world.

By Jesus J V C

Jul 17, 2020

EXCELENTE EXPERIENCIA, GRAN CONOCIMIENTO DEL DOCTOR, MUCHO QUE APRENDER Y REFLEXIONAR.

GRACIAS.

By Rodrigo V G

Jan 10, 2018

Excelente! Logras recordar o aprender momentos históricos que marcan pautas para los deportes.

By Genaro G J

Jun 8, 2021

Excelente, un gran balance entre lecturas que permiten profundizar y los vídeos del profesor.

By Diego D P

Aug 30, 2020

Great course to understand sports and their effect and connections with society and politics

By LILIANA F R A

Feb 28, 2021

Excelente curso, diferentes perspectivas y contextos que influyen el deporte y sus actores.

By Ayush k

Nov 18, 2021

Brilliantly taught, his way of teaching is sublime. Thank you Prof. Starn for this course.