Chevron Left
Back to Sports and Society

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Sports and Society by Duke University

4.8
stars
946 ratings
247 reviews

About the Course

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

Top reviews

MM
Nov 11, 2016

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

LK
Jan 6, 2020

One of the best courses that mixed interesting facts with theories. I study sports management, it's really intriguing to see how sports social values entwined with each other in history!

Filter by:

226 - 244 of 244 Reviews for Sports and Society

By Gerardo B P

Jan 31, 2019

Tiene una gran variedad de temáticas y la mayoría de los videos son dinámicos .

It has a great variety of topics and most of the videos are very dynamic.

By Joy S

Jun 3, 2017

surprisingly interesting and apropos considering I do not watch nor participate in any traditional team sports. Not just about the big sports.

By Aline K

Jun 19, 2020

I loved the course and the topics discussed during the lectures as I learned a lot of new things about sports and its relation to society :)

By Colleen O

Apr 24, 2020

i feel as though a few answers on some of the quizzes were wrong, which frustrated me, but I loved the material and highly recommend it

By FB

Feb 2, 2016

Great course for sports coaches, PE teachers and anyone interested to pursue a career in sports.

By Yoosaf A

Jul 20, 2020

Excellent approach to learning.The instructor really explains the things in great manner.

By Kriti S

May 11, 2020

fascinating to study and learn to know more about sports and society.

By Yukesh R

Sep 2, 2020

It was so useful,thank you for duke University and Mr.orin starn😊

By Lee K K

Feb 26, 2018

Gives you a good insight into understanding people and history..

By Anisha M J

Jul 12, 2020

its really a great course i really loved learning that course

By akash v

Nov 18, 2020

Very informative and covered variety of topics

By Akhmad S A f

Oct 23, 2020

nothing I could say, just perfect lessons.

By Jean D C R

Oct 18, 2019

no comment for the moment

By julian

Jun 4, 2017

informative and helpfull

By Aaron F A C

Jun 21, 2019

It´s a very good course

By Ajilore O E

Aug 9, 2020

Very interesting .

By Anubhav S

Jun 3, 2017

The evaluation for this course has questions which are very memory based and not application based

By Brandon L

Jan 4, 2021

Not in depth enough, could be a lot more interesting. OK but not great.

By Elio K

Jun 12, 2019

The pace is quite slow and the content maybe it is not for young boy