Chevron Left
Back to Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python by IBM Skills Network

4.6
stars
15,632 ratings
2,016 reviews

About the Course

Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a powerful language which is used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. A working knowledge of databases and SQL is a must if you want to become a data scientist. The purpose of this course is to introduce relational database concepts and help you learn and apply foundational knowledge of the SQL language. It is also intended to get you started with performing SQL access in a data science environment. The emphasis in this course is on hands-on and practical learning . As such, you will work with real databases, real data science tools, and real-world datasets. You will create a database instance in the cloud. Through a series of hands-on labs you will practice building and running SQL queries. You will also learn how to access databases from Jupyter notebooks using SQL and Python. No prior knowledge of databases, SQL, Python, or programming is required. Anyone can audit this course at no-charge. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you can also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

BS

May 20, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

PK

Aug 19, 2020

A very useful course with some very interesting datasets/Jupyter notebooks to work through/practice your skills. Offers a good balanced blend between theory and practical/practice. Very good course!

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 2,038 Reviews for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

By Balvinder S

Apr 28, 2019

The course is well organized and focused on hands-on learning along with theory. Simply loved grasping the concepts and the way they have been inter-connected.

By Mika R

Jun 28, 2022

Significant value in this course. It is a must for those new and with experience; extremely helpful for those who are looking to grow or sharpen their skills.

By Hareesha T

Mar 16, 2022

Great Learning experience with real data problems.

Thanks to my hero Coursera for giving a clear understanding on data sciene fundamentals with Python and SQL.

By Shikha T

Jan 1, 2020

course is good. however, more real world scenarios could be incorporated with extensive use of SQL commands. Still I have learnt a lot of things from course.

By Tsungai J M

Sep 17, 2019

Quite challenging for a first time programmer but the Labs really helped to build on the understanding from the lectures. Best course of this program so far.

By Tingyu L

Jul 9, 2019

The process is challenging (especially the final assignment). But I believe that you will gain sense of accomplishment when you figure all the questions out!

By ABDULGHANI M A G A

Jun 3, 2022

very useful course I learn how can I use SQL with Jupyteb notebook, and many other new and useful tools for Data Science, thank you for this amazing course.

By Lam C V D

Mar 1, 2021

my opinion is the last few parts are too rush for intermediate and advanced sql sections. Requires more than 40-50 hours of SQL training to reach that level

By Mia C

Jun 18, 2018

I really liked this class! The curriculum was well-organized, and I really liked the integration of IBM tools into assignments from the IBM Cloud Lite Suite

By Cedrique C T G

Jun 23, 2022

T​out simplement magnifique!! Le cours est facile d'accès et les exercices proposé m'ont permis d'acquérir des compétences dans le domaine des requêtes SQL

By Sumanta S

Sep 3, 2020

The course is quite comprehensive and covers all major aspects such as relational databases, SQL queries and how to use data bases for analytical purposes.

By Leandro G

Jan 18, 2019

I really liked this class, practice lab assignments were excellent and also well organized with the integration of IBM tools from the IBM Cloud Lite Suite.

By HUNG K

Apr 20, 2020

Overall a good course. I gained more confidence about my querying skill after completing this course with abundant opportunities to get hands-on practice.

By Muhammad I

Jul 11, 2019

This course is easy to understand for beginners and free access to IBM Cloud allows you to practice what you have learnt to get a good grip on the syntax.

By Prakash C

Jun 5, 2019

Great content to kick start in the filed of data. I found it extremely helpful as there aren't new courses like these in Nepal. Thank you coursera and IBM

By Christian H W

Aug 21, 2021

Fantastic course! I now have experience with IBM DB2 cloud databases, Jupyter notebooks, and using MAGIC with Python to create SQL commands using MAGIC.

By Devaashish S

Dec 24, 2019

Rigorous and focused study is the key to completion of this exercise. Awesome job by coursera instructors from this I learned to never give on yourself.

By mohamad z

Mar 15, 2022

i​ had a great time with this cousre. i suggest add some examples about building E-R diagrams then writing DDL sql statmnet for it . thanks coursera

By ILYA N

Oct 5, 2019

Pretty good intro to SQL. The main benefit of the course are 40-50 practice question that make up the homeworks, so you get a decent amount of practice.

By Aleksey S

Aug 2, 2021

good introductory course in sql and access to it from python. the course is especially narrowed to db2 and ibm cloud which might be a little intrusive.

By Kimberly D

Feb 24, 2021

A great course. I came into this course with no idea what I'm going to be doing and this course guided and helped me understand each concept very well.

By Zayani M

Oct 23, 2018

I really enjoyed most of this course, but I most liked that the solutions are provided. The explanations and readings were really good in this course.

By Suman M

Feb 19, 2021

Nice intro into SQL if you have some basic idea in SQL. Working with real datasets is a good exposure to Data Science with standard SQL and IBM Cloud.

By Apurv G

Mar 12, 2020

Very well taught course. I take a lot of learnings from this course. How to login and create a table in IBM cloud and run query against it were good.

By JAYESH H

Jul 29, 2019

Awesome Video and in depth of SQL that i don't know as i cleared my basic and advance through this video. Thanking you to guiding me and teaching me.