Chevron Left
Back to Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python by IBM Skills Network

4.6
stars
16,927 ratings

About the Course

Working knowledge of SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a must for data professionals like Data Scientists, Data Analysts and Data Engineers. Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL is a powerful language used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. In this course you will learn SQL inside out- from the very basics of Select statements to advanced concepts like JOINs. You will: -write foundational SQL statements like: SELECT, INSERT, UPDATE, and DELETE -filter result sets, use WHERE, COUNT, DISTINCT, and LIMIT clauses -differentiate between DML & DDL -CREATE, ALTER, DROP and load tables -use string patterns and ranges; ORDER and GROUP result sets, and built-in database functions -build sub-queries and query data from multiple tables -access databases as a data scientist using Jupyter notebooks with SQL and Python -work with advanced concepts like Stored Procedures, Views, ACID Transactions, Inner & Outer JOINs Through hands-on labs and projects, you will practice building SQL queries, work with real databases on the Cloud, and use real data science tools. In the final project you’ll analyze multiple real-world datasets to demonstrate your skills....

Top reviews

BS

May 20, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

SR

Aug 25, 2022

I am thankful to coursera for providing database and sql for data science course in such a way that anyone can

understand the basic fundamental of sql and database. I learn a lot from this course.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 2,218 Reviews for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

By Apurv G

Mar 12, 2020

Very well taught course. I take a lot of learnings from this course. How to login and create a table in IBM cloud and run query against it were good.

By JAYESH H

Jul 29, 2019

Awesome Video and in depth of SQL that i don't know as i cleared my basic and advance through this video. Thanking you to guiding me and teaching me.

By Ajeet s

Dec 22, 2018

The Database and SQL for data science are very helpful because in this i have to lean sql and data science with python and hand-on experience IBM Db2

By Bahadır S

Jul 5, 2020

Working on the IBM DB2 database was very different. I was impressed with the fact that the courses were particularly practical and assignment-based.

By Xuekun Y

Sep 14, 2019

Good class, good material, The final peer-reviewed project could be better if the system let us to submit our code and automatically grade our code.

By karli s

Jan 16, 2021

I hope this knowledge brings me a fortune in the beginning 2021 to start new job opportunity, Because I learn sql and python language with ibm db2.

By Francisco A

Oct 25, 2019

Great introductory course for non SQL people. It gives insights about the tool, and matches this new knowledge with IBM tools and Python enviroment

By Luis A A

Sep 13, 2021

Very complete and challenging in my particular case module. A great way to learn how to deal SQL commands from IBM platform and Jupyter Notebooks.

By Dr S K

Oct 29, 2018

The course is very good, I had lots of problems accessing the online labs as there is connectivity issues with the development environment though.

By A V S R

Jul 26, 2022

It was good experience to gain new knowledge from this data science course with graded assignments. I learned many SQL scenarios in this course.

By Prakash G

Apr 26, 2020

With this course i have learned SQL for the first time, good explanation about the queries and databases.Looking forward to see more challenges.

By Richard K

Mar 22, 2019

Great course interesting for beginners - allows you to slowly be introduced to Data science concepts will tying it to current tools like IBM DB2

By Suyash D

Jul 19, 2018

This is an excellent course for beginners with little or no knowledge of SQL. Besides learning SQL, you will learn how to access it from Python.

By Sascha T

Aug 10, 2022

Gave a sound overview of how to use SQL / python and the practices were challenging. Felt accomplished when I wrote code that finally worked.

By Ágnes T

Jan 3, 2022

I found this course very well built up, covering all the basics of SQL. I would highly recommend the honors module too for advanced techniques.

By Ramon M

May 18, 2020

Great course for learning how to use SQL via Python. The material was a bit dry for my taste but this is epxected for an entry-level SQL course

By Dayli S

Feb 20, 2020

It was a very good introduction to databases and the examples and hand-on exercises were very helpful. It would be great to add more exercises.

By HIDESHI Y

Mar 21, 2019

Combination of video and hands-on training are very well mixed. All the hands-on trainings are very helpful to understand SQL and data science.

By ismail k

Oct 15, 2022

very nice course is designed and very attrative

i am begineer is very easy to understand but ibm clooud db2 keeps logout unable to paratice

By Qingzhu Y

Mar 19, 2020

I really enjoy typing and debugging the sql and python code that the course provides us with useful real-world datasets for hands-on practice.

By santosh k

Apr 29, 2020

The courses I took on Coursera are directly applicable to my job. They enable me to learn things I can use at work immediately.

Santosh Kumar

By Harsh R

Jun 26, 2019

It was Interesting as well as informative in much more efficient way. The way of explanation of the topics was on-point. Enjoyed the course.

By Emmanuel O

Jan 28, 2023

This course is very rich and the delivery is top notch. I strongly recommend this course to anyone interesting in data science with python.

By Griselda B M

Jan 29, 2021

This course is excellent, I learned a lot about dabases and SQL, the practices seemed very good to reinforce what is learned in the videos.

By Sreekar T

Dec 8, 2019

A good course for beginners who want to learn about databases and SQL. The theory classes and the hands-on sessions were really very good.