Chevron Left
Back to Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python by IBM

4.7
stars
13,968 ratings
1,694 reviews

About the Course

Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a powerful language which is used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. A working knowledge of databases and SQL is a must if you want to become a data scientist. The purpose of this course is to introduce relational database concepts and help you learn and apply foundational knowledge of the SQL language. It is also intended to get you started with performing SQL access in a data science environment. The emphasis in this course is on hands-on and practical learning . As such, you will work with real databases, real data science tools, and real-world datasets. You will create a database instance in the cloud. Through a series of hands-on labs you will practice building and running SQL queries. You will also learn how to access databases from Jupyter notebooks using SQL and Python. No prior knowledge of databases, SQL, Python, or programming is required. Anyone can audit this course at no-charge. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you can also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

BS
May 20, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

PK
Aug 19, 2020

A very useful course with some very interesting datasets/Jupyter notebooks to work through/practice your skills. Offers a good balanced blend between theory and practical/practice. Very good course!

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 1,701 Reviews for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

By Patrick M

Jul 9, 2019

Some of the labs are hard to follow when they are not in jupyter notebooks format but other than that great course

By Kobi Z

Feb 4, 2019

Great course! just verifying IBM cloud help desk is more available. (although i learn the cloud trouble shooting)

By Cameron W

May 3, 2021

Extremely informative and interactive course that will have you ready to use SQL in real, practical applications.

By Abhishek P G

Jul 6, 2020

I learned a lot! A good pace and some fun activities. I am already implementing some of this stuff in my teaching

By chaofan z

Dec 19, 2019

I recommend this course: each class has a super clear explanation with detailed exercises.

Thank you for the class

By Sandra L R O

May 5, 2019

This is a useful course, practical and useful, where you can build and deep your knowledge in SQL and it's tools.

By Charlie K

Nov 9, 2018

Loved the basic SQL refresher as well as how SQL and Python interact which was brand new to me and very valuable.

By Abel S S

Oct 3, 2021

Excellent course, the final work helps a lot to demonstrate what has been learned and I really enjoyed it a lot.

By Ryan c

Dec 31, 2020

A person didn't follow the grade instructions and I hope a standard answer is provided to this final assignment.

By Kanapuram S P

Dec 26, 2020

Excellent Course !! The Lab and the Content is so simply organised that a student with no background can follow.

By Fitrie R

Aug 31, 2020

very well explained! having null knowledge of SQL would not be necessarily worrysome. course really help thanks!

By Jose A C

Aug 17, 2020

Excellent course. I learned a lot of useful information and had a good time doing so. Would highly recommend it.

By Aravindan N

Aug 3, 2019

An excellent course for introduction to SQL and python for accessing SQL. Easy to understand and follow lessons.

By Miguel V

Oct 1, 2020

Great Course. Would've liked more storage space in db2 to upload my own data and play around with it using SQL.

By Na M

Oct 16, 2019

Well designed and a lot of practices. Hope there is an advance SQL class that I can continue to improve my SQL!

By aditi m

Oct 7, 2020

Very interesting course for beginners and would recommend for people who want to learn SQL queries and ibm db2

By Abdul M M

Sep 3, 2019

It is very helpful to understand the databases and it has many practical applications related to data science.

By Hamza a

Jan 11, 2019

Excellent course for those who has some basic knowledge of SQL and the last module is the plus of this course.

By Wilfredo A

Sep 17, 2018

Excellent introduction to databases and data management through IBM API and SQL magic. Very interesting tools.

By Joao L

Jan 20, 2021

Very well structured, easy to follow. Practical exercises are challenging enough without being too difficult.

By EBONE E H

Jan 15, 2020

Ce cours est très intéressant car il regroupe des notions très importantes pour un scientifique des données .

By Israel S S

Aug 15, 2019

Fue un excelente curso, con ejercicios prácticos y ejemplos que pueden ayudarte en tus asignaciones laborales

By Jagadeesh M

Apr 5, 2019

Interesting and insightful. Brief and concise explanations and plenty of practical works. Highly Recommended.

By Albert N

Feb 4, 2019

There is always problems with IMB Lite account, Better to show how to install any workbench and work on them.

By Jamiil T A

Nov 27, 2018

Incredible must take course. I really loved it . From the beginning till the end. So many things to takeaway.