Chevron Left
Back to Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python by IBM Skills Network

4.6
stars
17,180 ratings

About the Course

Working knowledge of SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a must for data professionals like Data Scientists, Data Analysts and Data Engineers. Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL is a powerful language used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. In this course you will learn SQL inside out- from the very basics of Select statements to advanced concepts like JOINs. You will: -write foundational SQL statements like: SELECT, INSERT, UPDATE, and DELETE -filter result sets, use WHERE, COUNT, DISTINCT, and LIMIT clauses -differentiate between DML & DDL -CREATE, ALTER, DROP and load tables -use string patterns and ranges; ORDER and GROUP result sets, and built-in database functions -build sub-queries and query data from multiple tables -access databases as a data scientist using Jupyter notebooks with SQL and Python -work with advanced concepts like Stored Procedures, Views, ACID Transactions, Inner & Outer JOINs Through hands-on labs and projects, you will practice building SQL queries, work with real databases on the Cloud, and use real data science tools. In the final project you’ll analyze multiple real-world datasets to demonstrate your skills....

Top reviews

BS

May 20, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

SR

Aug 25, 2022

I am thankful to coursera for providing database and sql for data science course in such a way that anyone can

understand the basic fundamental of sql and database. I learn a lot from this course.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 2,282 Reviews for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

By Harsh R

Jun 26, 2019

It was Interesting as well as informative in much more efficient way. The way of explanation of the topics was on-point. Enjoyed the course.

By Emmanuel O

Jan 28, 2023

This course is very rich and the delivery is top notch. I strongly recommend this course to anyone interesting in data science with python.

By Griselda B M

Jan 29, 2021

This course is excellent, I learned a lot about dabases and SQL, the practices seemed very good to reinforce what is learned in the videos.

By Sreekar T

Dec 8, 2019

A good course for beginners who want to learn about databases and SQL. The theory classes and the hands-on sessions were really very good.

By Rahul R

Dec 6, 2019

The assignment given in this course and designed by the instructor hepled me in gaining command over pandas, mysql, and database management

By Pranav B

Sep 22, 2019

Very concise and to the point coursework. Amazing Course Instructors and pretty challenging assignments. Definitely worth all the hard-work

By Leke O

Sep 19, 2018

Great Hand on experience especially with IBM Db2 cloud, Jupyter Notebook connection to sql and Querying the database. Overall, I loved it.

By J C V

Sep 17, 2019

Gives good understanding of how to use SQL statements in Python environment. Very useful for the beginners who wish to learn Data Science.

By Mark H

Feb 10, 2019

I liked this course. I knew SQL already so it was pretty easy. But the tools and how to use them was new and well presented and organized.

By SANI A S

Apr 21, 2022

Until this Course, i always thought SQL as a difficult part of data science, but then this course help me to have the overall overview.

By Vineet M

Jan 2, 2021

Great course with very well oriented material and content. A great option to provide in-hand experience to worked with the applications.

By AVIJIT B

Apr 17, 2020

Had a very good experience, learned new things everyday. I would recommended this to someone who wants to learn about databases and SQL.

By Ju S O

Jan 17, 2020

Thank you for always giving good lectures! Especially, this SQL class was great because I had a lot of time work on myself! Thanks, IBM!

By Adarsh T

Oct 12, 2019

After completing this course i can say that i am very good at sql and data science. i am very much thankful to this course and coursera.

By Bipsan B

Feb 12, 2023

It's so helpful building your knowledge about databases. This course has a satisfying speed and working with real world data is so fun.

By sanket w

Sep 16, 2021

Good basic Introduction to SQL . Should add some more additional reference material or link to look to further strengthen the knowledge

By Calaf E

Oct 22, 2022

One of the best courses ever. Not only taeches how to use SQL with Python but also how you can use it to answer real world problems.

By Martín r

Sep 3, 2020

The course is higher in difficulty, but the way the instructor merges python and sql is easy to follow and makes it easier to learn.

By Lucas O

Mar 5, 2020

Insanely good course. I started from zero knowledge in SQL to a very good level. I'm quite confident in working with SQL from now on

By Shahinaz H

Jan 7, 2019

I really enjoyed the clear explanations given in all the videos. I also enjoyed being able to practise thanks to the different LABs.

By Xóchitl D H A

Jun 8, 2021

¡Excelente curso! Altamente recomendable para principiantes en el manejo de MySQL. El material es de fácil comprensión y accesible.

By Isaac O

Nov 26, 2020

I really enjoyed this course and hands-on projects. The use of real-world data set made it such an interesting thing to be part of.

By Alena N

Jan 12, 2019

Great course. All what you need to understand DB concept (if you are new there) + real life data analysis with Python. Very useful.

By Julian U C

Dec 5, 2022

It is an excellent course except by the week 6. We need more videos to understand the following topics:

1. View.

2. Store.

3. Acid.

By David J

Mar 10, 2022

Learned alot. The repeated excersises help you to understand the syntax. Probably my favorite so far. I do suggest you take notes.