Chevron Left
Back to Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python by IBM Skills Network

4.6
stars
17,216 ratings

About the Course

Working knowledge of SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a must for data professionals like Data Scientists, Data Analysts and Data Engineers. Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL is a powerful language used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. In this course you will learn SQL inside out- from the very basics of Select statements to advanced concepts like JOINs. You will: -write foundational SQL statements like: SELECT, INSERT, UPDATE, and DELETE -filter result sets, use WHERE, COUNT, DISTINCT, and LIMIT clauses -differentiate between DML & DDL -CREATE, ALTER, DROP and load tables -use string patterns and ranges; ORDER and GROUP result sets, and built-in database functions -build sub-queries and query data from multiple tables -access databases as a data scientist using Jupyter notebooks with SQL and Python -work with advanced concepts like Stored Procedures, Views, ACID Transactions, Inner & Outer JOINs Through hands-on labs and projects, you will practice building SQL queries, work with real databases on the Cloud, and use real data science tools. In the final project you’ll analyze multiple real-world datasets to demonstrate your skills....

Top reviews

BS

May 20, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

SR

Aug 25, 2022

I am thankful to coursera for providing database and sql for data science course in such a way that anyone can

understand the basic fundamental of sql and database. I learn a lot from this course.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 2,287 Reviews for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

By David J

Mar 10, 2022

Learned alot. The repeated excersises help you to understand the syntax. Probably my favorite so far. I do suggest you take notes.

By ANANDA S P

Aug 12, 2021

The course perfect fit with contents , hands on lab and mostly ibm_db2 200 MB free access. Really great learning and hands on too.

By Adeyemi N

Dec 11, 2020

The course is succinct and easy to follow. I learnt valuable SQL queries I use now for my web development projects. Thank you IBM.

By Alexandros G

Jan 21, 2020

Cool course to learn SQL basics and a nice touch regarding (ibm) cloud.I would recommend for intermediate to junior programmers :)

By ankit p

Dec 16, 2022

This course is very essential for databases SQL and data science with python you can learn in a IMB cloud with different console.

By Nataliya S

Aug 12, 2021

The course is enthralling and informative. You can put the knowledge in practice lessons at once. thank you for the great course!

By pritee k

Jul 8, 2021

best ever course loved to learn lots and also on the way to complete the extra join, view in the week 6 thnx for a great course

By maitreya k

Oct 28, 2019

EXCELLENT COURSE TO EXPLORE BASICS MODULATIONS IN DATABASES AT A WIDE EXTENT.HELPED TO OVERVIEW THE FOUNDATIONS OF DATA SCIENCE.

By Nadeem S

Mar 20, 2021

The hands-on practical provided in the course was the best to learn & remember the concepts with concise tutorials. Thank you!

By Siddhartha K

Apr 21, 2020

From being a layman in this field, this course taught me a lot. The course structure is amazing. Thank you Coursera and IBM.

By Werner J

Aug 28, 2019

This courses is easy to follow and takes you from the fundamentals to quite advanced topics quickly, but with comprehension.

By Muhammad U

Aug 25, 2022

This course is great for those who wants to know the practical knowledge of database and knowledge about manipulating then

By Marwan K

Aug 9, 2021

I am really glass to pass this course with 100% in hard.

Thank you Coursera.

Thank you IBM

Thank you to all instructors.

By Pratik M

Jul 15, 2021

Awesome course, enough amount of SQL taught along with hands-on labs. There is also an extra module (advanced)(optional).

By RAJIV K

Apr 24, 2020

Fantastic professional course covering all aspects of SQL for databases and how to use it with latest data science tools.

By Manivannan D

Feb 13, 2019

Really a good one that the assignment to establish a connection with Database and learn more about the cloud environment.

By Anupam G A

Aug 27, 2020

Its a good course with relevant content and lots of hands on training to help get a good grip on SQL, Highly recommended

By Jason C

Nov 11, 2019

This has many hand-on assignments, which helps understand a lot. No doubt this is the best course for SQL beginners ever

By fazery c

Jan 30, 2023

This is a good course to get many nuances for the most used SQL used to query data such as joins and stored_procedures.

By John C

Apr 20, 2020

Excellent Course !

Well planned and very detailed with additional information to cover all aspects of databases and SQL

By Ahmed E R

Mar 20, 2020

it was really really good

and the instructor is great and i enjoyed all the course

and i can do some pretty things now

By David P

Jul 13, 2019

Great Course to learn and understand SQL. The material is concise and to the point, but explains each topic very well!

By Ali H K P

Feb 12, 2021

Great course, it give me a tour through SQL queries which includes some beginner level to advance level of SQL queries

By John O

Sep 24, 2022

I highly recommend this bootcamp for individuals who are serious about looking to break into the data science field.

By Sumit B M

Sep 27, 2020

Clear cut, concise, neat & clean concepts. Very nicely explained each and every topics with lucid examples. Loved it.