Chevron Left
Back to Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python by IBM Skills Network

4.6
stars
17,216 ratings

About the Course

Working knowledge of SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a must for data professionals like Data Scientists, Data Analysts and Data Engineers. Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL is a powerful language used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. In this course you will learn SQL inside out- from the very basics of Select statements to advanced concepts like JOINs. You will: -write foundational SQL statements like: SELECT, INSERT, UPDATE, and DELETE -filter result sets, use WHERE, COUNT, DISTINCT, and LIMIT clauses -differentiate between DML & DDL -CREATE, ALTER, DROP and load tables -use string patterns and ranges; ORDER and GROUP result sets, and built-in database functions -build sub-queries and query data from multiple tables -access databases as a data scientist using Jupyter notebooks with SQL and Python -work with advanced concepts like Stored Procedures, Views, ACID Transactions, Inner & Outer JOINs Through hands-on labs and projects, you will practice building SQL queries, work with real databases on the Cloud, and use real data science tools. In the final project you’ll analyze multiple real-world datasets to demonstrate your skills....

Top reviews

BS

May 20, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

SR

Aug 25, 2022

I am thankful to coursera for providing database and sql for data science course in such a way that anyone can

understand the basic fundamental of sql and database. I learn a lot from this course.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 2,287 Reviews for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

By Parth P

Mar 11, 2020

SQL is an essential part of ML. Learning through this course will surely add values to your curriculum and knowledge.

By Zichan W

Mar 5, 2021

This course is well-structured and very clear. The hands-on lab is helpful to apply what you learned in the courses.

By Aldy P S

May 17, 2020

I did SQL Course from Coursera from having null knowledge of SQL. Now I am ready to practice into real world dataset

By Sandesh R

Jun 24, 2020

This course is very helpful for me. basically this course teaches how to connect sql with python and their module.

By A R

Dec 2, 2020

Awesome course for getting started and learning the foundation for relational databases and SQL!! Highly recommend

By Olagoke A

Jun 7, 2020

Well delivered and detailed... The most interesting part is the ability to access database using Jupyter notebook.

By Patrick M

Jul 9, 2019

Some of the labs are hard to follow when they are not in jupyter notebooks format but other than that great course

By Kobi Z

Feb 4, 2019

Great course! just verifying IBM cloud help desk is more available. (although i learn the cloud trouble shooting)

By Enrico G

Mar 20, 2022

Very interesting course with real-world example and exercises. It will definitely be useful for any data analyst.

By Cameron W

May 3, 2021

Extremely informative and interactive course that will have you ready to use SQL in real, practical applications.

By Abhishek P G

Jul 6, 2020

I learned a lot! A good pace and some fun activities. I am already implementing some of this stuff in my teaching

By chaofan z

Dec 19, 2019

I recommend this course: each class has a super clear explanation with detailed exercises.

Thank you for the class

By Sandra L R O

May 5, 2019

This is a useful course, practical and useful, where you can build and deep your knowledge in SQL and it's tools.

By Charlie K

Nov 9, 2018

Loved the basic SQL refresher as well as how SQL and Python interact which was brand new to me and very valuable.

By Trust O

Jun 16, 2022

Amazing course. I like the vastness, connection and exposure to different areas of handling data and databases.

By Heather B

Jun 11, 2022

The course offered a gentle introduction to the SQL coding language via videos and several labs and assignments.

By Abel S S

Oct 3, 2021

Excellent course, the final work helps a lot to demonstrate what has been learned and I really enjoyed it a lot.

By xiaobo c

Dec 31, 2020

A person didn't follow the grade instructions and I hope a standard answer is provided to this final assignment.

By Kanapuram S P

Dec 26, 2020

Excellent Course !! The Lab and the Content is so simply organised that a student with no background can follow.

By Fitrie R

Aug 31, 2020

very well explained! having null knowledge of SQL would not be necessarily worrysome. course really help thanks!

By Jose A C

Aug 17, 2020

Excellent course. I learned a lot of useful information and had a good time doing so. Would highly recommend it.

By Aravindan N

Aug 3, 2019

An excellent course for introduction to SQL and python for accessing SQL. Easy to understand and follow lessons.

By Saurabh K

Mar 25, 2022

this is very good platefrom by provide coursera and we are leran Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

By Miguel V

Oct 1, 2020

Great Course. Would've liked more storage space in db2 to upload my own data and play around with it using SQL.

By Na M

Oct 16, 2019

Well designed and a lot of practices. Hope there is an advance SQL class that I can continue to improve my SQL!