Chevron Left
Back to Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python by IBM Skills Network

4.6
stars
17,216 ratings

About the Course

Working knowledge of SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a must for data professionals like Data Scientists, Data Analysts and Data Engineers. Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL is a powerful language used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. In this course you will learn SQL inside out- from the very basics of Select statements to advanced concepts like JOINs. You will: -write foundational SQL statements like: SELECT, INSERT, UPDATE, and DELETE -filter result sets, use WHERE, COUNT, DISTINCT, and LIMIT clauses -differentiate between DML & DDL -CREATE, ALTER, DROP and load tables -use string patterns and ranges; ORDER and GROUP result sets, and built-in database functions -build sub-queries and query data from multiple tables -access databases as a data scientist using Jupyter notebooks with SQL and Python -work with advanced concepts like Stored Procedures, Views, ACID Transactions, Inner & Outer JOINs Through hands-on labs and projects, you will practice building SQL queries, work with real databases on the Cloud, and use real data science tools. In the final project you’ll analyze multiple real-world datasets to demonstrate your skills....

Top reviews

BS

May 20, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

SR

Aug 25, 2022

I am thankful to coursera for providing database and sql for data science course in such a way that anyone can

understand the basic fundamental of sql and database. I learn a lot from this course.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 2,287 Reviews for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

By Livingstone M

Mar 15, 2022

The best practical course I have ever done. I like the really world dataset exercises.I recommend it to anyone

By aditi m

Oct 7, 2020

Very interesting course for beginners and would recommend for people who want to learn SQL queries and ibm db2

By Abdul M M

Sep 3, 2019

It is very helpful to understand the databases and it has many practical applications related to data science.

By Hamza a

Jan 11, 2019

Excellent course for those who has some basic knowledge of SQL and the last module is the plus of this course.

By Carlos W A

Sep 17, 2018

Excellent introduction to databases and data management through IBM API and SQL magic. Very interesting tools.

By Joao L

Jan 20, 2021

Very well structured, easy to follow. Practical exercises are challenging enough without being too difficult.

By Geo-Info E

Jan 15, 2020

Ce cours est très intéressant car il regroupe des notions très importantes pour un scientifique des données .

By Israel S S

Aug 15, 2019

Fue un excelente curso, con ejercicios prácticos y ejemplos que pueden ayudarte en tus asignaciones laborales

By Jagadeesh M

Apr 5, 2019

Interesting and insightful. Brief and concise explanations and plenty of practical works. Highly Recommended.

By Albert N

Feb 4, 2019

There is always problems with IMB Lite account, Better to show how to install any workbench and work on them.

By Jamiil T A

Nov 27, 2018

Incredible must take course. I really loved it . From the beginning till the end. So many things to takeaway.

By Phuc K B (

Jul 13, 2022

This course helps me get the overview of data science. It motivates me to get more knowledge in the field.

By Supriyantoyo

Mar 9, 2022

Simple & clear explanation on SQL + Python combo. The use-cases are very helpful to understand how it works.

By Ajin

Jul 20, 2021

Amazing well structured course. Thank you IBM and Coursera for such an amazing experience. You are the best!

By Hemanth S

Apr 27, 2020

SQL Course is really well paced. Loved it! And the way how labs are designed for this course is exceptional.

By Trong H C T

Apr 1, 2020

Very informative, but I would be more satisfied if we use jupyter notebook via anaconda and MySQL workbench.

By Vinayak R

Dec 9, 2019

Was clearly laid out, easy to follow along and complete the assignments. The final assignment was a fun one.

By Ryan B

Dec 8, 2019

It was good minus the hiccup of the data having to be messed with slightly for it to work for the assignment

By Momynkulov Z

Aug 29, 2019

Its good course to get basic knowledge about SQL for Data Science. For beginners its one of the best course!

By Zeeshan K

Aug 24, 2019

This is the best platform to build and polish your skills and quality education. thanks to Coursera and IBM

By Clarence E Y

Feb 17, 2019

This course provides a quick refresher for SQL users or introduction and practical experience for beginners.

By Deleted A

Oct 27, 2020

Great introduction for SQL. Never used SQL in my life, and I feel pretty comfortable to continue with it :)

By Tendayi S

Apr 10, 2019

Excellent course. It's taken me years to get such a holistic SQL learning experience. Absolutely priceless.

By Sushant S

Oct 3, 2022

Very Well structured course on SQL , the hands on assignments really helped me to brush up the concepts .

By Hasibul I

Oct 9, 2020

It's a very interesting course for who want to learn sql for data science.So,I recommand it for everybody.