Chevron Left
Back to Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python by IBM

4.6
stars
15,375 ratings
1,965 reviews

About the Course

Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a powerful language which is used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. A working knowledge of databases and SQL is a must if you want to become a data scientist. The purpose of this course is to introduce relational database concepts and help you learn and apply foundational knowledge of the SQL language. It is also intended to get you started with performing SQL access in a data science environment. The emphasis in this course is on hands-on and practical learning . As such, you will work with real databases, real data science tools, and real-world datasets. You will create a database instance in the cloud. Through a series of hands-on labs you will practice building and running SQL queries. You will also learn how to access databases from Jupyter notebooks using SQL and Python. No prior knowledge of databases, SQL, Python, or programming is required. Anyone can audit this course at no-charge. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you can also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

BS

May 20, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

PK

Aug 19, 2020

A very useful course with some very interesting datasets/Jupyter notebooks to work through/practice your skills. Offers a good balanced blend between theory and practical/practice. Very good course!

Filter by:

1926 - 1950 of 1,983 Reviews for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

By Xirui Z

May 26, 2020

Hi there, in my opinion this course in too short for a beginner and the logic behind the database and relational schema is not very clear. It looks like an instruction book for IBM user, I cannot feel the interaction with the interpreter. But thanks a lot anyway!

By Xuebin C

Sep 9, 2021

Finishing the assignment on IBM DB2 is like a lottery, you need to really react quickly because you never know how long DB2 can hold on before next connection error. Thank you IBM, I now know which product I will not use in the future for data projects.

By Stefan J

Dec 5, 2021

Content seems like it has been put together in a rush. Platform was down for several days. Peer-review means someone downgrades you for no apparent reason and you have no way of questioning your grader's decisions.

I do not recommend this course!

By Harinda R

Jul 2, 2020

This is very much focused on the IBM cloud. For someone who is not familiar with it will have to spend a considerable amount of time trying to find which is where. Course documents are outdated specifically on creating DBs on the IBM cloud.

By Tong

Apr 9, 2022

The IBM db thing really should be removed. They are making this unit an advertisement course for IBM's terrible cloud and online hosting service, yet, the experience handling IBM software or Watson contents or IBM cloud is complete torture.

By Ivan B

May 23, 2020

Google Simulating Environment has the bugs and when you writing to Support, this rich guys stat you to do a free "PROD" testing : no way, it's theirs bugs, and I have my own. What the hell are paid for?

Shame on YOU IBM for such solution!

By Anup S

Dec 9, 2021

Can't complete the course as they require you to create an IBM cloud account which is impossible to create. Wanted to post on the discussion form, and every time i tried to do it, it said the server was under maintenance.

By Hon T

Mar 30, 2022

hello,

I am very mad with registering accounts ibm.

I paid 40$ each month. The course lasts 11 months, and I have only 1 month trial permission.

Do not mention promotion codes. I interupted when I used it.

Bad experiences.

By Tonia M

Sep 29, 2020

If you do not have prior knowledge of DB2 and IBM Watson this course is not for you! The instruction to connect the two programs to complete the final project are inadequate at best. Would not recommend this course!

By Facundo O

Jul 19, 2020

Not a course for beginners. It advances way too fast and the topics are not explained thoroughly as to truly understand them from a beginner standpoint. Would suggest looking for another course...

By Saito T

Feb 6, 2022

The one thing you learn is making a account and trying to use IBM database account is awful. Had to give up due to this and it is just terrible. They should just make assignments on quicklab.

By Sultan M

May 21, 2020

The loading data to database and using the database for peer review task took me several days. It was very anoying task. I dealt with time consuming manual jobs rather than wiring codes

By Lisa S

May 17, 2021

There were connection issues with the labs for many users in my course. We couldn't access the course for a full weekend and the instructors did not respond to any messages for 2 days.

By Vivek R N

Jul 12, 2020

Its only about how to connect to IBM DB2. I got stressed out trying to work on the IBM platform. Working on platforms like My SQL is so much smooth when compared to this

By Utsav

Jun 28, 2020

Tools used like Database console and Jupyter notebook used also crashes repeatedly. Course just gives very brief introduction to SQL, not much solid content.

By Chanyu Y

Jan 6, 2021

Dear mentors, I'm sorry that I was unable to use Db2 in IBM cloud so I couldn't do the hands-on lab. Hope to have solutions from you. Thanks.

By Mark W

Jun 10, 2020

Everyone in this course has problems with IBM Cloud credentials. Staff gives everyone the same generic response and provides no real help.

By Jaysee J P

Jun 7, 2022

IBM Cloud registration is ridden with lots of errors such as Error Your account cannot be created at this time. It is so frustrating.

By Mohammed F

Apr 26, 2022

the course is fine but for handon the IBM is making things very complicated. And many times the external tools are also not working.

By Alisher P A

Jan 1, 2021

The worst course I have ever taken. I have no idea what course intended to teach. I would recommend not to take this course.

By John M

Jan 12, 2022

BEWARE. Cannot finish the course due to technical issues with the IBM account.. Am disappointed and will drop the course.

By Peter

Feb 16, 2022

Dont recomend to take this course, They charge you additional 200$ for acces to their DB database

By Jorge P

Jan 10, 2022

The resources needed to complete this course are not working. Support is very poor.

By 무하메드

Mar 13, 2022

W​eek 2 Videos are not available to watch. The material could not be loaded

By Jannica M

Oct 14, 2021

Instructions not working, need to rely on forums for alternative solutions