Chevron Left
Back to Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python by IBM

4.6
stars
19,629 ratings

About the Course

Working knowledge of SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a must for data professionals like Data Scientists, Data Analysts and Data Engineers. Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL is a powerful language used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. In this course you will learn SQL inside out- from the very basics of Select statements to advanced concepts like JOINs. You will: -write foundational SQL statements like: SELECT, INSERT, UPDATE, and DELETE -filter result sets, use WHERE, COUNT, DISTINCT, and LIMIT clauses -differentiate between DML & DDL -CREATE, ALTER, DROP and load tables -use string patterns and ranges; ORDER and GROUP result sets, and built-in database functions -build sub-queries and query data from multiple tables -access databases as a data scientist using Jupyter notebooks with SQL and Python -work with advanced concepts like Stored Procedures, Views, ACID Transactions, Inner & Outer JOINs through hands-on labs and projects You will practice building SQL queries, work with real databases on the Cloud, and use real data science tools. In the final project you’ll analyze multiple real-world datasets to demonstrate your skills....

Top reviews

BS

May 20, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

SR

Aug 25, 2022

I am thankful to coursera for providing database and sql for data science course in such a way that anyone can

understand the basic fundamental of sql and database. I learn a lot from this course.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 2,690 Reviews for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

By MUTHULAKSHMI

Mar 4, 2024

It's really useful course to me and i give a big thanks to IBM and Coursera and team who all gave me this opportunity to myself this will help me to grow in my career and i expect my future course too in this great platform

By Vladimir A

Sep 6, 2019

This course has great technical support and good material. The lectures are informative and understandable. I first met such a quick feedback from the course technicians. It 's a great cloud lab experience. You 'll like it.

By Mukkesh M

May 30, 2019

This course starts with the basics and gradually covers most of the topics in SQL. The hands-on lab exercises are extremely useful and give the learner a good command over practical applications of SQL+Python architecture.

By Chris A B

Jun 8, 2019

I enjoyed learning about Data Science and the use of Cognitive Class Labs, IBM Watson Studio, IBM Cloud, IBM DB2, Jupyter Notebooks and Python. I am looking forward to subscribing to the Professional Specialization next.

By Bhanu P E

Jul 24, 2019

This is an excellent course covering end to end SQL and python/Jupytr notebook integration as this forms the basis of data import going forward. The Ungraded labs and Final assignments were really good hands on practice.

By Gabriel A

Jun 10, 2019

Probably the best course in the specialization thus far! Notebooks provided are invaluable to learn how to interface a jupyter notebook with IBM cloud. I had not found this information elsewhere in such a concise manner.

By Andrew H

Jan 8, 2023

Not an easy course at all, but I learned a lot - very good overall.

Wish there was a bit more instruction of how Jupyter Labs and connections worked, but apart from that an edifying course which increased my knowledge.

By Santiago N

Feb 25, 2022

Un excelente curso introductorio al manejo de SQL, explicaciones cortas y precisas, ejercicios muy prácticos y dinámicos, herramientas perfectas para la ejecución de los comandos, en genral un excelente curso sobre SQL.

By ashirwad s

Jul 29, 2019

The course was well structured and elaborated. It was a combination of hands-on as well as lectures on essential concepts of Databases with knowledge on using IBM DB2 in IBM Cloud. This was a really helpful experience.

By Jiahui C

May 30, 2019

A very comprehensive and introductory course in SQL and data science. If you have no background in SQL and interested in learning it, you should take this class. And the specialization that this course is in is useful.

By Akinbosede m

Jan 7, 2024

GREAT COURSE, LOTS OF ADJUSTMENTS HAVE BEEN MADE BUT SOME OF THE MODULE NEEDS PROPER BREAKDOWNS TO MAKE IT EASY FOR A BEGINNER WHO IS TAKING THIS COURSE AS A SPECIALIZATION. THANKS FOR CREATING SUCH A WONDERFUL COURSE

By Nastaran K

Oct 11, 2023

An absolutely comprehensive course to learn SQL. The best thing about this course is that you don't have to put hundreds hours of watching videos, instead you have the opportunity to gain more hands-on-lab experience!

By Alesia V

Oct 13, 2020

This was a wonderful introductory course which got me inspired to embark on a SQL learning journey. I loved the practical real-life application of the study materials introduced in the course labs. Thank you IBM team!

By Giang T

Mar 20, 2020

This course is exceedingly practical and knowledgeable of SQL commands, IBM cloud database Db2, visualization with python on Jupyter notebooks. Thanks so much for IBM, the instructor, Coursera for building this course

By Wang P

Feb 21, 2019

I like the practice in this class. Playing with real data is so interesting.

SQL language is not so complicated itself and with enough practice I feel that I understand how to combine several queries in proper order.

By Agbaji M I

Jul 17, 2023

This is one of the best course that I have taken, it was very comprehensive and straight to the point, and the lab section is also well structured and I learned a lot of skills, the instructors did a fantastic work

By Damar

May 3, 2022

This course is amazing, I can learn a lot of things related to databases and SQL with IBM DB, Cloud and Python, the material presented is very easy to understand, and the Hands-on reviews are clear and informative.

By Laxmi P

Aug 18, 2023

It was very different yet very involving course. Searched many courses on internet but this is the one which i was searching for. learned many things out of this, working with real data set was very interesting.

By martin k

Apr 9, 2021

This course was great, and fit exactly what I wanted the course to be, which focused more on an intermediate level for SQL users. Also, the focus on Python was greatly beneficially for me. Nothing bad to say. 5/5

By Azhan A

Sep 5, 2019

Great Course, polished my skills on SQL. I must say it s a challenging course. I've previously completed SQL course but it also teaches you how to connect it with IBM cloud which is I think is a great initiative.

By Mohamed F

Apr 12, 2021

The only comment is that the usage of DB2 of IBM may not be available all the time. So, suggest if you can mention other tools that can be used locally on PC to help student to follow up and complete the tasks.

By Kristina V

Jul 18, 2023

highly recommend this course to anyone seeking a practical and hands-on learning experience. The combination of relevant content and a gradual increase in difficulty made it an enjoyable and rewarding journey.

By Maksim M

Apr 9, 2019

The most serious and closest to professional course I've taken on Coursera so far (out of about 20). Both fundamentals and real-life practical skills are taught in a plain and clear manner. The Labs are great.

By Kaitlyn

Jun 20, 2018

Great course! I learned the basics of SQL. Wish there was a more in depth discussion of SQL and its capabilities, but I received a great base and it helped me remember everything I had forgotten from college.

By Ma.Gabriela R

Mar 4, 2022

It has been very interesting and useful. Very well structured, they have taken great care of the details and it shows by the fluidity in how each of the activities is achieved. Program content is excellent!