Chevron Left
Back to Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python by IBM

4.7
stars
13,054 ratings
1,524 reviews

About the Course

Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a powerful language which is used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. A working knowledge of databases and SQL is a must if you want to become a data scientist. The purpose of this course is to introduce relational database concepts and help you learn and apply foundational knowledge of the SQL language. It is also intended to get you started with performing SQL access in a data science environment. The emphasis in this course is on hands-on and practical learning . As such, you will work with real databases, real data science tools, and real-world datasets. You will create a database instance in the cloud. Through a series of hands-on labs you will practice building and running SQL queries. You will also learn how to access databases from Jupyter notebooks using SQL and Python. No prior knowledge of databases, SQL, Python, or programming is required. Anyone can audit this course at no-charge. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you can also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

BS
May 20, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

PK
Aug 19, 2020

A very useful course with some very interesting datasets/Jupyter notebooks to work through/practice your skills. Offers a good balanced blend between theory and practical/practice. Very good course!

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 1,506 Reviews for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

By Albert N

Feb 4, 2019

There is always problems with IMB Lite account, Better to show how to install any workbench and work on them.

By Jamiil T A

Nov 27, 2018

Incredible must take course. I really loved it . From the beginning till the end. So many things to takeaway.

By Hemanth S

Apr 27, 2020

SQL Course is really well paced. Loved it! And the way how labs are designed for this course is exceptional.

By Hung C T T

Apr 1, 2020

Very informative, but I would be more satisfied if we use jupyter notebook via anaconda and MySQL workbench.

By Vinayak R

Dec 9, 2019

Was clearly laid out, easy to follow along and complete the assignments. The final assignment was a fun one.

By Ryan B

Dec 8, 2019

It was good minus the hiccup of the data having to be messed with slightly for it to work for the assignment

By Momunkulov Z

Aug 29, 2019

Its good course to get basic knowledge about SQL for Data Science. For beginners its one of the best course!

By Zeeshan K

Aug 24, 2019

This is the best platform to build and polish your skills and quality education. thanks to Coursera and IBM

By Clarence E Y

Feb 17, 2019

This course provides a quick refresher for SQL users or introduction and practical experience for beginners.

By Rainiero B

Oct 27, 2020

Great introduction for SQL. Never used SQL in my life, and I feel pretty comfortable to continue with it :)

By Tendayi S

Apr 10, 2019

Excellent course. It's taken me years to get such a holistic SQL learning experience. Absolutely priceless.

By Hasib

Oct 9, 2020

It's a very interesting course for who want to learn sql for data science.So,I recommand it for everybody.

By Viraj V D

Mar 22, 2020

I like the way of flow of course and material which was provided was good.

It was total practical oriented.

By Nicholas J F

Apr 26, 2019

Informative, ran at a good pace. The Jupyter Notebooks worked well and the final problems were reasonable.

By andres j

Apr 12, 2020

Muy bueno a pesar de que es todo en ingles el traductor de Google me ayudo mucho para tenerlo en Español.

By William B L

Mar 18, 2019

I was challenged, but found the material to be comprehensive and concise. The labs were the best so far!

By Koen P

Aug 27, 2018

Best course I have followed so far. Great exercises. Pace of vid's was nice.

Great job, Rav Ahuja & Team!

By Suraj G

Jan 6, 2021

perfect course but i faced issue while using ibm cloud and connect it with python but course is awesome

By Vivekanand P

Sep 12, 2019

I loved the final assignment and the ibm_db api. Inline magical function (%%sql) is simple and powerful.

By Prasuna M

Jun 30, 2020

It was a nice course taking us through the basics of sql and databases and to access them using python.

By Jibe O l r

Jun 19, 2020

Lo maximo, muy buena oportunidad para poner en destresa tu habilidad en el campo de las Bases de Datos.

By Pranay K

Sep 16, 2019

It is really helpful to study databases and sql for data science. It covers every basic to basic topics

By CHIN-HUNG, Y

Jun 9, 2019

generally speaking, the course provides an extremely perfect point of view for SQL and its application.

By Nikko D

Nov 14, 2020

VERY INTERESTING. I'd like to see more examples of applications in the beginning of the course though