Chevron Left
Back to Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python by IBM Skills Network

4.6
stars
15,689 ratings

About the Course

Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a powerful language which is used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. A working knowledge of databases and SQL is a must if you want to become a data scientist. The purpose of this course is to introduce relational database concepts and help you learn and apply foundational knowledge of the SQL language. It is also intended to get you started with performing SQL access in a data science environment. The emphasis in this course is on hands-on and practical learning . As such, you will work with real databases, real data science tools, and real-world datasets. You will create a database instance in the cloud. Through a series of hands-on labs you will practice building and running SQL queries. You will also learn how to access databases from Jupyter notebooks using SQL and Python. No prior knowledge of databases, SQL, Python, or programming is required. Anyone can audit this course at no-charge. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you can also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

BS

May 20, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

SA

Apr 22, 2020

The lessons were short and easy to follow, providing all the basics as well as a few more advanced topics, to get student quickly up-to-speed on databases and SQL and their application in D/S realm.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 2,046 Reviews for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

By J C V

Sep 17, 2019

Gives good understanding of how to use SQL statements in Python environment. Very useful for the beginners who wish to learn Data Science.

By Mark H

Feb 10, 2019

I liked this course. I knew SQL already so it was pretty easy. But the tools and how to use them was new and well presented and organized.

By SANI A S

Apr 21, 2022

Until this Course, i always thought SQL as a difficult part of data science, but then this course help me to have the overall overview.

By Vineet M

Jan 2, 2021

Great course with very well oriented material and content. A great option to provide in-hand experience to worked with the applications.

By AVIJIT B

Apr 17, 2020

Had a very good experience, learned new things everyday. I would recommended this to someone who wants to learn about databases and SQL.

By Ju S O

Jan 17, 2020

Thank you for always giving good lectures! Especially, this SQL class was great because I had a lot of time work on myself! Thanks, IBM!

By Adarsh T

Oct 12, 2019

After completing this course i can say that i am very good at sql and data science. i am very much thankful to this course and coursera.

By sanket w

Sep 16, 2021

Good basic Introduction to SQL . Should add some more additional reference material or link to look to further strengthen the knowledge

By Martín r

Sep 3, 2020

The course is higher in difficulty, but the way the instructor merges python and sql is easy to follow and makes it easier to learn.

By Lucas O

Mar 5, 2020

Insanely good course. I started from zero knowledge in SQL to a very good level. I'm quite confident in working with SQL from now on

By Shahinaz H

Jan 7, 2019

I really enjoyed the clear explanations given in all the videos. I also enjoyed being able to practise thanks to the different LABs.

By Xóchitl D H A

Jun 8, 2021

¡Excelente curso! Altamente recomendable para principiantes en el manejo de MySQL. El material es de fácil comprensión y accesible.

By Isaac O

Nov 26, 2020

I really enjoyed this course and hands-on projects. The use of real-world data set made it such an interesting thing to be part of.

By Alena N

Jan 12, 2019

Great course. All what you need to understand DB concept (if you are new there) + real life data analysis with Python. Very useful.

By David J

Mar 10, 2022

Learned alot. The repeated excersises help you to understand the syntax. Probably my favorite so far. I do suggest you take notes.

By ANANDA S P

Aug 12, 2021

The course perfect fit with contents , hands on lab and mostly ibm_db2 200 MB free access. Really great learning and hands on too.

By Adeyemi N

Dec 11, 2020

The course is succinct and easy to follow. I learnt valuable SQL queries I use now for my web development projects. Thank you IBM.

By Alexandros G

Jan 21, 2020

Cool course to learn SQL basics and a nice touch regarding (ibm) cloud.I would recommend for intermediate to junior programmers :)

By Nataliya S

Aug 12, 2021

The course is enthralling and informative. You can put the knowledge in practice lessons at once. thank you for the great course!

By pritee k

Jul 8, 2021

best ever course loved to learn lots and also on the way to complete the extra join, view in the week 6 thnx for a great course

By maitreya k

Oct 28, 2019

EXCELLENT COURSE TO EXPLORE BASICS MODULATIONS IN DATABASES AT A WIDE EXTENT.HELPED TO OVERVIEW THE FOUNDATIONS OF DATA SCIENCE.

By Nadeem S

Mar 20, 2021

The hands-on practical provided in the course was the best to learn & remember the concepts with concise tutorials. Thank you!

By Siddhartha K

Apr 21, 2020

From being a layman in this field, this course taught me a lot. The course structure is amazing. Thank you Coursera and IBM.

By Werner J

Aug 28, 2019

This courses is easy to follow and takes you from the fundamentals to quite advanced topics quickly, but with comprehension.

By Marwan K

Aug 9, 2021

I​ am really glass to pass this course with 100% in hard.

T​hank you Coursera.

T​hank you IBM

T​hank you to all instructors.