Chevron Left
Back to Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python by IBM Skills Network

4.6
stars
17,223 ratings

About the Course

Working knowledge of SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a must for data professionals like Data Scientists, Data Analysts and Data Engineers. Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL is a powerful language used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. In this course you will learn SQL inside out- from the very basics of Select statements to advanced concepts like JOINs. You will: -write foundational SQL statements like: SELECT, INSERT, UPDATE, and DELETE -filter result sets, use WHERE, COUNT, DISTINCT, and LIMIT clauses -differentiate between DML & DDL -CREATE, ALTER, DROP and load tables -use string patterns and ranges; ORDER and GROUP result sets, and built-in database functions -build sub-queries and query data from multiple tables -access databases as a data scientist using Jupyter notebooks with SQL and Python -work with advanced concepts like Stored Procedures, Views, ACID Transactions, Inner & Outer JOINs Through hands-on labs and projects, you will practice building SQL queries, work with real databases on the Cloud, and use real data science tools. In the final project you’ll analyze multiple real-world datasets to demonstrate your skills....

Top reviews

BS

May 20, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

SR

Aug 25, 2022

I am thankful to coursera for providing database and sql for data science course in such a way that anyone can

understand the basic fundamental of sql and database. I learn a lot from this course.

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 2,288 Reviews for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

By Viraj V D

Mar 22, 2020

I like the way of flow of course and material which was provided was good.

It was total practical oriented.

By Nicholas J F

Apr 26, 2019

Informative, ran at a good pace. The Jupyter Notebooks worked well and the final problems were reasonable.

By andres j

Apr 12, 2020

Muy bueno a pesar de que es todo en ingles el traductor de Google me ayudo mucho para tenerlo en Español.

By David K

Jan 27, 2020

Really enjoyed the courses and the handson training. This was by now the best of the whole series so far.

By William B L

Mar 18, 2019

I was challenged, but found the material to be comprehensive and concise. The labs were the best so far!

By Koen P

Aug 27, 2018

Best course I have followed so far. Great exercises. Pace of vid's was nice.

Great job, Rav Ahuja & Team!

By Suraj G (

Jan 6, 2021

perfect course but i faced issue while using ibm cloud and connect it with python but course is awesome

By Vivekanand P

Sep 12, 2019

I loved the final assignment and the ibm_db api. Inline magical function (%%sql) is simple and powerful.

By Amjad U

Feb 24, 2023

the course is well designed, easy to digest the concepts given through practical examples and problems.

By Amarendranadh C P

Jan 21, 2022

The course is well structured and explained in detailed about the python connection with the databases.

By Prasuna M

Jun 30, 2020

It was a nice course taking us through the basics of sql and databases and to access them using python.

By Jibe O l r

Jun 19, 2020

Lo maximo, muy buena oportunidad para poner en destresa tu habilidad en el campo de las Bases de Datos.

By Pranay K

Sep 16, 2019

It is really helpful to study databases and sql for data science. It covers every basic to basic topics

By Chin-hung Y

Jun 9, 2019

generally speaking, the course provides an extremely perfect point of view for SQL and its application.

By Jan-Ross L

Dec 29, 2022

SQL in Python and Jupyter Notebooks. Great to go into once you have basic knowledge in Jupyter and SQL

By Aziza N K A Z

Dec 19, 2021

It was a very useful course full of practice exercises that really improved my knowledge with practice

By Theresa N

May 22, 2022

SQL is one of the most powerful languages that I have used. I am glad to have learned more about it!

By I M A S

Oct 24, 2021

It's help me understanding about DBMS Structure, SQL Language and its implementation on data analysis

By Nikko D

Nov 14, 2020

VERY INTERESTING. I'd like to see more examples of applications in the beginning of the course though

By Oj S

Dec 4, 2019

The course is designed very well as it starts from very basic and goes to intermediate level smartly.

By KAUSHIK K D

Nov 3, 2019

Very useful course. Learned a lot of new things. Thank you so much instructors and the Coursera Team.

By Gunjan D

Nov 21, 2022

Great Course for those who want to start a career in Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python.

By Himasha J

Nov 23, 2021

As a beginner i learned basic and complex sql concepts and IBM cloud usage and python API handling .

By Gilberto B L

Jan 30, 2019

It was a very good course, the explanations were fantastic and the labs were also very instructive.

By Avoaja U c

Dec 14, 2018

This course was an eye opener on the ease of doing data science with IBM cloud and jupyter noteboks.