Chevron Left
Back to Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python by IBM

4.6
stars
19,496 ratings

About the Course

Working knowledge of SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a must for data professionals like Data Scientists, Data Analysts and Data Engineers. Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL is a powerful language used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. In this course you will learn SQL inside out- from the very basics of Select statements to advanced concepts like JOINs. You will: -write foundational SQL statements like: SELECT, INSERT, UPDATE, and DELETE -filter result sets, use WHERE, COUNT, DISTINCT, and LIMIT clauses -differentiate between DML & DDL -CREATE, ALTER, DROP and load tables -use string patterns and ranges; ORDER and GROUP result sets, and built-in database functions -build sub-queries and query data from multiple tables -access databases as a data scientist using Jupyter notebooks with SQL and Python -work with advanced concepts like Stored Procedures, Views, ACID Transactions, Inner & Outer JOINs through hands-on labs and projects You will practice building SQL queries, work with real databases on the Cloud, and use real data science tools. In the final project you’ll analyze multiple real-world datasets to demonstrate your skills....

Top reviews

BS

May 20, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

SR

Aug 25, 2022

I am thankful to coursera for providing database and sql for data science course in such a way that anyone can

understand the basic fundamental of sql and database. I learn a lot from this course.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 2,671 Reviews for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

By Vincenzo S

Apr 7, 2020

If I could I would rate this course 0/5

None of the resources you ARE OBLIGED TO USE to accomplish the course work. You have to use The console on IBM cloud for DB2 and does not work. You should install the desktop version of the software and it is somehow blocked by US export laws (what on earth should that mean?)

Why do not you provide alternative ways to do it?! That's just disappointing, to say the least.

Shame on the creators and people lucrating on this product.

By Joe K

Nov 30, 2018

Overall good course but a few typos and unclear instructions, mostly with the labs and our own 'user specific" DB2 specs which were needed for the 1st and 2nd lab - yet, clear instructions for doing so were posted several labs afterward. Labeling of individual labs (their titles/ filenames, when opened in Jupyter notebooks, did not correspond with the actual weeks in the course that the should have - wks 2 were called wks 4 and wks 3 were called wks 6) That made it a bit confusing at times. They appear to have been from a different course or earlier revision. Maybe revisit and revise this course soon for better flow. Also, please check the comments/discussion boards and address those concerns that are repeatedly coming up. Quite a few more students than just myself were stumped or confused over the same issues. Thank you.

By Pranay C

May 26, 2019

This course teaches you the basics of SQL completely unrelated to Data Science. SQL is not mentioned in any further courses in the specialization. Could have very well skipped this course from the specialization. There was not even a single assignment that involved both SQL and Data Science.

By Derek A

Apr 27, 2019

No videos for week 2, sub-queries were confusing and questions 9 and 10 on final project are very 'vague' and 'confusing' with asking questions about Area(s) when in examples and previous course work we were taught to use group by, but correct answers did not use group by.

By Ashish D

Dec 22, 2019

Very limited to IBM DB2. Not useful in real world.

Very limited and restrictive practice and assinments.

For a true learning experience one needs to do a lot of external research and work to show a measureable benifit.

By Kevin F

Nov 10, 2021

The content of this course is fine but as of right now it is nearly unusable since most of the tools that are meant to be used with this course are currently broken or unavailable. This is made abundantly clear in the forums where many people have posted about these issues but not yet received any solutions. I spent many extra hours simply working around the logistical challenges of not having access to the tools you are supposed to learn on and relearning content so I could use it on alternative tools.

By Asif A

May 30, 2020

It's my first course at Coursera and it's quite good. By this course now I'm able to partially working as data analyst soon to be working as full-time analyst.I'm very thankful to the instructor.

By Suraj R G

Dec 25, 2019

One of the best course I completed on Coursera. All the learning material is well organised and easy to understand. Also the non-graded sections regarding relational databases are interesting.

By Mo R

Nov 26, 2019

Really right to the point and efficient. Good examples and short direct videos. I had no idea about SQL before and now I can run good queries and have enough tools to learn even more.

By Mokshlakshmi B

Mar 24, 2019

The hands-on labs were extremely engaging and the quizzes were very informative.

By Tanveer J

Jun 6, 2019

Worth all the effort..! Great coursework if you're willing to spend some time to understand DB2 infrastructure,creating Db2 database on IBM Cloud, compose and execute SQL queries, and access a database from Python based Jupyter notebooks. Key takeaways from the course : - Creating databases on IBM Cloud - Troubleshooting basic loading errors - Working closely on creating tables on real time IBM DB2 instances - Connecting to db instances using python and perform basic data summarization - Performing data loading through RestAPI's

By Pranav V

May 29, 2019

please give details on how to connect database with notebook

By Liudmyla C

Jan 13, 2021

1-3 weeks of the course were more or less consistent, I googles few things, mostly out of curiosity. So weeks 1-3 are educating well.

Week 4 is poorly written from pedagogical standpoint. It is my view and I am a Master in Pedagogy. Unfortunately, week 4 does not differentiate general knowledge from IBM DB-specific notions. I struggled many times to finish it by finding missing parts of the knowledge puzzle over Internet.

Now I came to the conclusion that it is not worse the time. I will find a course with better structuring to cover week 4 topics.

I quit it when I completed 76% of the course. I cannot pursue it for certificate only, knowledge matters more.

By Brandon W

Feb 29, 2020

Lots of errors. To this course's credit, there was a lot of effort providing practice work in the early material. For the more difficult tasks at the end, there was far less structured practice work.

https://www.w3schools.com/sql/default.asp this link will come in extremely useful, as will supplementary YouTube videos..

By Bernhard M

Apr 3, 2019

Using days to find solutions, which are not presented in the course but necessary to get along.

By siddhartha p

Oct 14, 2019

Course is not that informative and it seems in a hurry to complete topics .

By George M

Sep 1, 2019

too fast and confusing.

By Wallace G

Oct 26, 2021

Enjoyed this section as it was more hands on and programming related. The final project had some issues connecting which made finishing the course a bit frustrating, but in the end I (along with other students according to the messages section) figured out a work around. I would recommend to the team to allow students to complete the final project directly in IBM dB2 vs. attempting to connect from a 3rd party tool -- unnecessary and not how we will work in real life.

By Hsin-Yi L

Jan 22, 2019

Highly recommended. I was a newbie for mySQL and this course offers a good entry point and insights for database and SQL. The final assignment could be somehow challenging for people without programming experience, but the discussion forum is active and the course instructor Rav is very attentive, responding to questions in the forum. I solved some problems just base on the search funtion in the forum. This is the best course I learned with coursera so far!

By Paul A

Sep 28, 2021

Great intro to SQL! The lab work really helped develop my understanding of how to actually interact with databases and start using them for projects and the final assignment was an excellent application to real world data. The only thing I found weak about the course were the quizzes --- there just wasn't any real meat to them and they didn't help.

By Louis C

Nov 17, 2020

This course is great! I have learned so many things from it, thank you very much. I really like the IBM cloud platform, it is easy to use and easy to learn. I am looking forward to having the next course!

By Jean T

Apr 26, 2023

Great course easy to follow, very good notes, videos and guidance on how to complete the assignments. This is a great introduction course to begin your knowledge and training to be a Data Scientist.

By Sumit R

Aug 26, 2022

I am thankful to coursera for providing database and sql for data science course in such a way that anyone can

understand the basic fundamental of sql and database. I learn a lot from this course.

By Manula V

Apr 9, 2020

So far in my journey through the IBM Data Science Professional certificate, this course is the best as it contains more practical lab questions after the lectures.

By Muhammed Ç

Dec 7, 2023

If you want to learn SQL from scratch to advanced level, I definitely recommend this course. It becomes very productive thanks to practice.