Chevron Left
Back to Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python by IBM

4.6
stars
14,451 ratings
1,792 reviews

About the Course

Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a powerful language which is used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. A working knowledge of databases and SQL is a must if you want to become a data scientist. The purpose of this course is to introduce relational database concepts and help you learn and apply foundational knowledge of the SQL language. It is also intended to get you started with performing SQL access in a data science environment. The emphasis in this course is on hands-on and practical learning . As such, you will work with real databases, real data science tools, and real-world datasets. You will create a database instance in the cloud. Through a series of hands-on labs you will practice building and running SQL queries. You will also learn how to access databases from Jupyter notebooks using SQL and Python. No prior knowledge of databases, SQL, Python, or programming is required. Anyone can audit this course at no-charge. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you can also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

BS
May 20, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

PK
Aug 19, 2020

A very useful course with some very interesting datasets/Jupyter notebooks to work through/practice your skills. Offers a good balanced blend between theory and practical/practice. Very good course!

Filter by:

1326 - 1350 of 1,800 Reviews for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

By Timothy-Ray H

Oct 11, 2020

This was a very interesting course. It was harder than it needed to be due to a few errors in code, but that also made it more interesting and challenging to verify that you were retaining the information.

By Dmitry E

Dec 28, 2019

Course is god enough. However the last assessment is not. Misprints and not clear questions lead to disappointing marks in the end. Also other students marked assessments based on their understanding.

By Rick K

Jan 7, 2022

Most of it really good. I think joins should be covered in the base material and there should be less of an emphasis on sub-queries. The Peer Reviewed final was a little confusing in its questioning.

By Aren T

Feb 27, 2020

A very useful course with some very interesting datasets/Jupyter notebooks to work through/practice your skills. Offers a good balanced blend between theory and practical/practice. Very good course!

By Joy B

May 7, 2021

Much important instruction was missing which lead to a delay in submission of the peer assignment. Various errors popped up which had no solution in the discussion forum also. Kindly look into it.

By asher b

Nov 2, 2018

Covers the basics, but might be a little difficult for a complete beginner. Manageable, but difficult. Needs more help using SQL within a Jupyter Notebook which should be in the earlier labs.

By Trang N D N

May 8, 2020

Overall is a nice course. It was a bit confused because Handson Lab related to each other. It would be nicer to have a short remind from previous labs or better to keep labs independently.

By David A

Oct 2, 2019

Course was well organized, I found the lab exercise to be useful in learning the material. The quizzes and final project were fair and tested my knowledge of the concepts. Great course!

By Sonam S

Jul 1, 2019

I liked the way this course is structured and I am really happy with the kind of exercise it contains. It would be really great if more details regarding the python script was provided

By Stan M

Sep 21, 2020

Good content. I have learnt a lot :) Please improve the uploading files for the tests. There were several loading errors coming from the files which should not happen at this stage...

By Vijaya S R

Dec 12, 2020

It was good for basic knowledge of SQL. It would be better if we could understand more on Joins, Grant functions. But thanks for the great work. It was really good for me personally

By ANEEKA A

May 18, 2020

There lack of guidance for those who get stuck. The instructors are not available to guide. The discussions might look helpful but they consume our time or say waste a lot of time .

By Irina L T

Nov 22, 2020

(MINUSES) Was Not enough coding practice, some tech difficulties with DB2 and SQL, not responsive on forums, 24hrs response should be the practice

(PLUSES) otherwise, great course!

By APURBA C

Jul 14, 2019

The course starts from the basics but progresses to intermediate level concepts in SQL, like joins and subqueries, which are required for day to day work in the Software industry.

By RAKESH Y

Apr 8, 2020

This "

Databases and SQL for Data Science" course was good. I learned too many new things and it really helped me by providing fundamental knowledge regarding databases and SQL.

"

By Judith R

May 13, 2020

This was an excellent course even though it was challenging. I was able to move from introductory SQL to Intermediate level. I really, really enjoyed the practice exercises.

By Yma P

May 12, 2020

A really good course. The lab assignments improves the efficacy of the course and enhances your conceptual understanding of the requirements of cloud databases in data science

By KOVVURI K D

May 20, 2020

I am so much glad to learn Databases and sql for data science and completed my certification.

I strongly recommended this course who does not know any thing about database.

By JAYANTH D

May 15, 2020

There are many technical issues in IBM Watson Studio but due to the availability of peer community, the messages in discussions helped me a lot to completed this course.

By Vaibhav m

Apr 23, 2019

need to to updated. details regarding IBM cloud is messy and outdated. take to long to connect the cloud. videos slides are of bad resolution. instructor voice not clear

By Юра Б

Mar 7, 2019

Not bad, but for me, again, is to many online tools. From my point of view, some Docker Compose with the prepared container(for bd, for notebook) will be more suitable.

By Mauro M

Sep 28, 2021

​greate class. Took me longer to complete these one. But over all a greate class. It got me the data analyst position I currently have now. with almost double my pay.

By Александр А

Jan 27, 2019

Course was great but RDBS in browser was so slow that i need to wait for couple of minutes to create a table. Thankfully, doing the same in python took few seconds

By Liam M

Jan 31, 2019

Tough start, really boring material and I hoped I never needed to work with SQL. Later though it started to click a bit better and was (slightly) more enjoyable.

By Rahul S

Jul 10, 2019

This course is best for beginners to get started with the database and sql with ibm cloud. But the content can be improved more as the assignments is concerned.