Chevron Left
Back to Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python by IBM

4.7
stars
13,357 ratings
1,570 reviews

About the Course

Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a powerful language which is used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. A working knowledge of databases and SQL is a must if you want to become a data scientist. The purpose of this course is to introduce relational database concepts and help you learn and apply foundational knowledge of the SQL language. It is also intended to get you started with performing SQL access in a data science environment. The emphasis in this course is on hands-on and practical learning . As such, you will work with real databases, real data science tools, and real-world datasets. You will create a database instance in the cloud. Through a series of hands-on labs you will practice building and running SQL queries. You will also learn how to access databases from Jupyter notebooks using SQL and Python. No prior knowledge of databases, SQL, Python, or programming is required. Anyone can audit this course at no-charge. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you can also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

BS
May 20, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

SA
Apr 22, 2020

The lessons were short and easy to follow, providing all the basics as well as a few more advanced topics, to get student quickly up-to-speed on databases and SQL and their application in D/S realm.

Filter by:

1476 - 1500 of 1,551 Reviews for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

By R S

Aug 20, 2020

Need to update instructions and screenshots for the ibm cloud site. Instructors dont respond to many questions in the forum and when they do their answers are often breif and vague

By Adam J L J H

May 24, 2020

There were a lot of troubleshooting errors that I realise, were not only unique to me. These errors were not addressed properly and I ended googling some of these Issues

By Luca L

Jun 23, 2020

The course has big technical issues that slow down the completion. I am quite disappointed by the application utilized in the course. The course lessons are good.

By Gopendra M

Nov 15, 2019

DB2 is out of the marketing not many people want to learn it, maybe it's time to upgrade it to something latest

By Christophe D

Jun 13, 2020

The use of IBM cloud was really frustrating as it was very slow and didn't work most of the time.

By WenQiang H

Feb 15, 2020

As a serial course in the "specialization", it's too simple, just made the learning path longer.

By Magdalena R

Dec 30, 2018

The content is adequate but I found it a bit boring. The classes did not keep my interest.

By Ibrahim A

Apr 6, 2020

Please review this course assets! especially IBM DB2 cloud service's availability !!!

By Xinxin Z

Aug 27, 2019

The cloud system has so many problems which will prevent us to submit our works.

By Shuang.W

May 2, 2020

so many stuff are out of dates and some instructions were very unclear.

By Tanner L C

Nov 15, 2018

Very poorly done. Not enough information on working in the cloud.

By Chitralekha T

Jun 2, 2021

T​he assisgnment is poorly worded and working in DB2 is a pain

By Oleg S

Sep 29, 2020

every material in course not match interface of the programs

By Nitika K

Sep 20, 2020

Not suitable for non computers background students.

By Ray Y

Jul 15, 2019

WHY FORCE ME USE THE IBM CLOUD? SO COMPLICATED

By abdelkarim b

Mar 3, 2020

The IBM tools are so unfriendly to new users

By Abhilash L

Jun 20, 2018

Last few lessons are not clearly explained.

By Roderick W

Apr 4, 2020

The voice-over makes me wanna sleep.

By Long N K H

Jun 11, 2020

The Lab env sometimes has trouble.

By Ashwin D

Apr 29, 2020

Expected more from an IBM course.

By Bharat B B

Jun 28, 2020

needed to update many topics

By Fei C

Nov 1, 2018

hard to use sql server

By Usman R M

Apr 27, 2019

not well designed

By mohammad s

May 22, 2019

very simple