Chevron Left
Back to Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python by IBM Skills Network

4.6
stars
16,944 ratings

About the Course

Working knowledge of SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a must for data professionals like Data Scientists, Data Analysts and Data Engineers. Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL is a powerful language used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. In this course you will learn SQL inside out- from the very basics of Select statements to advanced concepts like JOINs. You will: -write foundational SQL statements like: SELECT, INSERT, UPDATE, and DELETE -filter result sets, use WHERE, COUNT, DISTINCT, and LIMIT clauses -differentiate between DML & DDL -CREATE, ALTER, DROP and load tables -use string patterns and ranges; ORDER and GROUP result sets, and built-in database functions -build sub-queries and query data from multiple tables -access databases as a data scientist using Jupyter notebooks with SQL and Python -work with advanced concepts like Stored Procedures, Views, ACID Transactions, Inner & Outer JOINs Through hands-on labs and projects, you will practice building SQL queries, work with real databases on the Cloud, and use real data science tools. In the final project you’ll analyze multiple real-world datasets to demonstrate your skills....

Top reviews

BS

May 20, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

SR

Aug 25, 2022

I am thankful to coursera for providing database and sql for data science course in such a way that anyone can

understand the basic fundamental of sql and database. I learn a lot from this course.

Filter by:

1676 - 1700 of 2,224 Reviews for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

By Patrick C

Nov 8, 2021

The course is good; it will have been great however if the PowerPoint of the class was made available to students taking the certificate.

By Mathijs d G

Jul 7, 2020

Best Course so far in this series. The labs in week 3 and 4 are especially good, with lots of problems to solve on real-world datasets.

By Vladislav G

Feb 18, 2020

A good level of complexity with enough tutorials to understand it all. Though, sometimes they were repeating something several times...

By Marcelo V

Aug 16, 2021

El curso prolijo, cumple con su cometido. Me hace ruido el uso de las Jupyter Notebooks, Quiza porque aun no descubrí su practicidad.

By Kyle M

Feb 27, 2020

The IBM DB2 database was very buggy and unreliable. I spent much of my time waiting for the database to perform simple computations.

By Petar O

Sep 2, 2019

Some instructions could have been more clear.

Overall communication could be done better (if it's needed).

All on all, i am satisfied.

By prashant g

Sep 2, 2019

this course was awesome i learn many things related to database and in jupyter environment in python and access data through cloud

By Alok M

Jan 28, 2020

It would be great if things got covered in a more structured manner. Week 4 is so damn confusing and took a lot of precious time.

By Ajith B

Jun 15, 2021

Over all it's an awesome course with good quality content. Highly recommended for new learners who don't know anything about SQL

By Michael A

May 28, 2021

I wish there was more hands on work, but it seems like you tested me well, because I spent a lot of time working the problems :)

By Roberto P C

Sep 22, 2019

CRIME.CSV file had an incorrect setup (date format), since that part was not part of the learning I think it should be corrected

By Juan D G B

Aug 7, 2022

Aprendi bastante sobre base de datos, como conectar una base de datos en la nube con python y la metadata de una base de datos.

By RAVI J

Aug 7, 2020

The database SQL MODULE IS REALLY HELPED ME.

BUT final assignment was difficult .There is no interaction to resolve my problems

By Collin C

Jan 6, 2020

Lots of good material. Much of it is a commercial for IBM. Directions for operating within the IBM data structure is outdated.

By Jason K

Dec 6, 2019

Good course, came away with a solid understanding of basic SQL. The assignments and project were helpful and fun to complete.

By Арсений

Jul 23, 2019

A great and solid introductory course to SQL. I recommend it to those who want to aquaint themselves with databases and sql.

By Serdar M

Nov 7, 2018

the course is not bad, but for the beginners who don't know anything in this course some lessons are not clear to understand

By Pulkit P

Nov 18, 2019

In this course basic was easily explained and it was great course. but wanted to learn more about sql lacked in this course

By Phenilkumar B

Apr 9, 2019

Feels like lectures are being give by an AI instead of an actual teacher. Also some things get repeated in several videos.

By Sabah P

Jul 16, 2019

The additional activities helped a lot. This definitely sets you up with the fundamentals. From there it is all practice.

By Chima E

Jul 6, 2020

The first course I have encountered with lots of labs that make you research and engage more with the course material.

By Amogha

Nov 1, 2020

For non-programmers or people with no computer background, it is a bit difficult to comprehend. But overall it is OK.

By Ninad M K

Jul 11, 2020

This course was good and gives me a clear picture of how to connect python with databases and perform SQL operations.

By yash t

Mar 27, 2020

It is extremely Good , but it should contain some more information about the sql i personally think that, thank you

By Haley T

Jan 16, 2019

Great content! Highly recommend for those needed a DB refresher or beginning a journey in the field of Data Science.