Chevron Left
Back to Statistical Inference

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Statistical Inference by Johns Hopkins University

4.2
stars
4,097 ratings
816 reviews

About the Course

Statistical inference is the process of drawing conclusions about populations or scientific truths from data. There are many modes of performing inference including statistical modeling, data oriented strategies and explicit use of designs and randomization in analyses. Furthermore, there are broad theories (frequentists, Bayesian, likelihood, design based, …) and numerous complexities (missing data, observed and unobserved confounding, biases) for performing inference. A practitioner can often be left in a debilitating maze of techniques, philosophies and nuance. This course presents the fundamentals of inference in a practical approach for getting things done. After taking this course, students will understand the broad directions of statistical inference and use this information for making informed choices in analyzing data....

Top reviews

JA
Oct 25, 2018

Course is compressed with lots of statistical concepts. Which is very good as most must know concepts are imparted. Lots of extra reading is required to gain all insights. Very good motivating start .

MI
Sep 24, 2020

the teachers were awesome in this course. I liked this course a lot.Understood it properly.Thanks to all the beloved teachers and mentors who toiled hard to make these course easy to handle.Gracious!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 784 Reviews for Statistical Inference

By Regis O

Aug 29, 2016

This course covers a wide range of powerful statistical concepts. The best way to work through this is to run R code as you go through the examples. If you are not comfortable with R, make sure to take the intro to R course first.

By Julio C R N

May 17, 2020

Loved it. Some courses have an automated voice. But I was lucky enough to get an iteration with a human. I always wondered the reasoning behind some statistical analysis and this shows you the basics to understand those concepts.

By Tarek L

Dec 13, 2018

Dr Brian DeCaffo is a talented and forward thinking educator. The amount of supplementary material he brings to the course is a bountiful bonus that really helped me grasp concepts. One of the best courses I've taken on Coursera.

By Pablo D C

May 9, 2020

Such a good course! it is a very dense one, but Brian is a really great teacher and knows who to explain wonderfully. Furthermore, there are many examples and online activities which help you to understand better the concepts!

By JESS L F

Nov 24, 2020

It is really informative especially for those who are not into statistics. Maybe you can also explain MSE, estimators other than t and z, and also insert some information why we use the corrected sample variance (n/(n-1))s^2.

By Rongbin Y

Sep 17, 2019

The course provided a great overview of the base statistical knowledge required for advanced data analytics. I had gained great experience and exposure to sophisticated hypothesis making and data wrangling skills. Thank you.

By Tine M

Mar 2, 2018

The course was at times difficult, I found that extra research was needed to fully understand what was going on. The extra questions related to the homework questions are a great way to test your understanding of the class.

By Matthew C

Nov 2, 2017

One of the better courses so far in the Data Science Specialization. If you have no background in statistics, expect to spend a lot of extra time in this course, especially weeks 3 and 4. Tough, but lots of good material.

By Matthew S

Feb 10, 2019

Excellent course if you have some background in math or stats already. This course might be difficult if you don't have that background. The peer graded assignment does a good job tying everything together in my opinion.

By Bill S

Oct 2, 2017

This was challenging and informative. I think the time estimates are way off though. Some things estimated at 2 hours really took 10, and things that are estimated to take hours are one paragraph to read and then over.

By Vinodkumar V

Oct 10, 2017

Rigorous but worth... though it skims the SI topic, at least introduces to the vast dimensions of the subject. It takes time, but one learns. Follow the exercises in the book in addition to swirling. It helps a lot.

By Marc T

Mar 31, 2019

Not only did this course help me to understand concepts that I have encountered in my job over the length of my career, but it also introduced me to using R Markdown, which will come in handy for future projects.

By Angela K

Dec 3, 2018

really great course! takes a few minutes to get used to Brian after having all courses taught by Roger. I finally understand hypothesis testing and confidence intervals after taking several classes on this topic.

By Shashikesh M

Jul 17, 2017

This is one of the most important course in data science specialization series, everyone should take this course very attentive way, because it give very deep insight about the role of statistics in data science.

By Md A I

Sep 25, 2020

the teachers were awesome in this course. I liked this course a lot.Understood it properly.Thanks to all the beloved teachers and mentors who toiled hard to make these course easy to handle.Gracious!

By Keidzh S

May 16, 2018

Everything absolutely amazing. Sometimes there were some troubles with audio files, but I think it doesn't affect on the course. Because I have no trouble with understanding. Thank you to al masters!

By Luiz E B J

Nov 11, 2019

É um curso excelente que me fez rever muito conceitos esquecidos ou que simplesmente passaram batido durante a minha formação. É um abordagem prática que traz o que é mais relevante no assunto.

By Светлана С /

Oct 4, 2016

Well balanced course with a lot of practical examples which help to understand the theory. I apply statistical inference methods myself, and nevertheless I've found new topics here. Thank you!

By mounika v

Apr 7, 2020

Very good course for the beginners who want to learn about statistical inference, R programming. A good explanation with the helpful R exercises makes us understand the concepts very easily.

By Johannes C F

Oct 23, 2016

Brian is a very good lecturer. Even though he is knowledgeable, he goes through everything step by step and makes sure you don't fall off the wagon at any point. I had fun doing this course!

By Matti N

Dec 10, 2017

After many years had passed since my last encounter with statistics this course proved to be quite some work to complete. Nevertheless, still a great course and definitely worth your while.

By Aki T

Dec 9, 2019

In my opinion, this course is fundamental to Statistics and therefore Machine Learning. It is well explained, although it requires students to work on more mathematical aspect in parallel.

By 李俊宏

Aug 24, 2017

Professor Brian has very explicitly introduced the basic ideas of statistics! I have learned a lot of fundamental ideas which make me more confident in doing statistics. I really like it!

By Samer A

May 22, 2018

Very good and informative. I'd had statistics back at the university but I never understood the underlying principle of hypothesis testing. Mr. Caffo makes it look pretty clear and easy.

By David B

May 23, 2017

Excellent course. After completion, I really feel like I have a great grasp of basic inferential statistics and this course introduced ideas that I had not even considered before.