Chevron Left
Back to Statistical Inference

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Statistical Inference by Johns Hopkins University

4.2
stars
4,095 ratings
814 reviews

About the Course

Statistical inference is the process of drawing conclusions about populations or scientific truths from data. There are many modes of performing inference including statistical modeling, data oriented strategies and explicit use of designs and randomization in analyses. Furthermore, there are broad theories (frequentists, Bayesian, likelihood, design based, …) and numerous complexities (missing data, observed and unobserved confounding, biases) for performing inference. A practitioner can often be left in a debilitating maze of techniques, philosophies and nuance. This course presents the fundamentals of inference in a practical approach for getting things done. After taking this course, students will understand the broad directions of statistical inference and use this information for making informed choices in analyzing data....

Top reviews

JA
Oct 25, 2018

Course is compressed with lots of statistical concepts. Which is very good as most must know concepts are imparted. Lots of extra reading is required to gain all insights. Very good motivating start .

MI
Sep 24, 2020

the teachers were awesome in this course. I liked this course a lot.Understood it properly.Thanks to all the beloved teachers and mentors who toiled hard to make these course easy to handle.Gracious!

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 783 Reviews for Statistical Inference

By Daniel L

Jul 25, 2020

Such a grate course, definitively not easy for people starting with statistics, but overall the concepts explained are really clear.

By Vamsee A

May 3, 2016

An Excellently conceived course with good content and a competitively efficient evaluation components viz., assignments and quizzes.

By Juan P L R

Oct 26, 2020

Great course for statistical inference with R. It comprehends from the basic concept to more advanced topics. Strongly recommended.

By Jun L

Sep 30, 2020

Covered a lot of the ground in short time. Combination of exercises, quizzes, and project filled out the content experientially.

By Candida B

Apr 29, 2020

The course was fantastic! The class are very understandable with a lot of practical exercises!

I completely recommend this course!

By Lan D

Feb 17, 2016

I love your lectures so much, I understood much better than what it's used to be for statistics, it's funny as well, thank you.

By Chaity G

Nov 15, 2020

The course is very detail oriented. I have learned so many things from this course by doing the assignments. Than you coursera.

By Jeremy J

Nov 12, 2016

I really like the use of media by this professor. The class itself is far more analytical and work than the preceding classes.

By Surya P T

Nov 27, 2018

Outstanding course.Thanks Coursera for providing such a good platform wherein we can attend courses of top instructor/College.

By Zhuang W

Jul 16, 2018

This class is extremely useful as it gives me a solid basis of the statistical concepts that will be used in the course later.

By Adam R

Oct 12, 2017

Well done course. Relevant and useful material. I've taken 6 college level statistics courses and still learned new things.

By Sabitabrata M

Jan 15, 2017

The course should be more elaborated. I had to go through other reference books on statistics to understand all the topics.

By Light0617

Aug 14, 2016

There is few programming in this course. However, in this class, you will learn a lot of statistical model to analyze data.

By Norman B

Feb 7, 2016

In debth enough to go through concepts slowly, but high level enough to keep them applicable to different problem settings

By Shruthi N A

Nov 13, 2017

Explained in good detail, I have already studied these concepts under my coursework and hence was very easy to complete.

By Tim R

Jun 25, 2017

Very nice course. Fellows without college probabilites and calculus might find this course very difficult to understand.

By Vadim K

Jun 13, 2016

Very useful course with lots of applied knowledge. One gets to learn how to use R to perform the hypothesis testing.

By vikash k

Apr 1, 2020

The course teaches great concepts. I'll strongly recommend accompanying this course with the little inference book.

By Bolaji O

Oct 22, 2019

Statistical Inference into granule! Every time spent learning this course is worthwhile. Instructor, AWESOME!!!

By Raju G

Oct 9, 2017

Interesting but very tough. This course require statistical skills and I found it hard to understand in one go.

By Kelly R M

May 17, 2020

One of the most challenging courses I have taken for the Certification. Really enjoyed the class. Thank you.

By Daniela E S M

Nov 9, 2016

I love the exercises in R. The class is really good and very interactive, you cannot get bored in any moment.

By Aaditya A

May 15, 2017

It's a bit tough course. One will need to work enough apart from the course video to get the concepts right!

By Kripa G

Sep 11, 2019

Finding time to sit and do the assignments and peer review was a challenging this..but still I got through!

By Yasel G S

Aug 4, 2016

This course was very important for my work. I learned so much and I want to say thanks to the professors.