Chevron Left
Back to Improving your statistical inferences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Improving your statistical inferences by Eindhoven University of Technology

4.9
stars
750 ratings

About the Course

This course aims to help you to draw better statistical inferences from empirical research. First, we will discuss how to correctly interpret p-values, effect sizes, confidence intervals, Bayes Factors, and likelihood ratios, and how these statistics answer different questions you might be interested in. Then, you will learn how to design experiments where the false positive rate is controlled, and how to decide upon the sample size for your study, for example in order to achieve high statistical power. Subsequently, you will learn how to interpret evidence in the scientific literature given widespread publication bias, for example by learning about p-curve analysis. Finally, we will talk about how to do philosophy of science, theory construction, and cumulative science, including how to perform replication studies, why and how to pre-register your experiment, and how to share your results following Open Science principles. In practical, hands on assignments, you will learn how to simulate t-tests to learn which p-values you can expect, calculate likelihood ratio's and get an introduction the binomial Bayesian statistics, and learn about the positive predictive value which expresses the probability published research findings are true. We will experience the problems with optional stopping and learn how to prevent these problems by using sequential analyses. You will calculate effect sizes, see how confidence intervals work through simulations, and practice doing a-priori power analyses. Finally, you will learn how to examine whether the null hypothesis is true using equivalence testing and Bayesian statistics, and how to pre-register a study, and share your data on the Open Science Framework. All videos now have Chinese subtitles. More than 30.000 learners have enrolled so far! If you enjoyed this course, I can recommend following it up with me new course "Improving Your Statistical Questions"...

Top reviews

MS

May 13, 2021

Eye opening course. My first introduction to some of the issues surrounding p-values as well as how to better utilize them and what they truly represent. My first introduction to effect sizes as well.

AB

Feb 23, 2020

Easy to follow, well structured, good references, empathy of presenter. I will recomend this to other friends who made Black Belt certification and still don't have clear what the Pvalue is for.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 245 Reviews for Improving your statistical inferences

By Romain R

Jan 10, 2019

Great overview of statistics and philosophy of science. Now I know what to tell my students when they ask me about p-values. At last !

By Munzar A S

Apr 10, 2020

Fabulous course! Points out a lot of the nonsense going on in psychological research, how we can spot it, and how we can do better!

By Petr Č

Apr 14, 2022

+ very good hints about how to use and not to use p values and which kind of incorrect inferences to avoid

+ hands-on assignments

By marcus n

Feb 4, 2017

Great high level overview of intermediate applied statistics. The instructors presentation skills and pace are very good as well.

By RAAMKHUMAR M H

Jul 13, 2022

EXCELLENT COURSE THAT SATISFIES MY UNIVERSITY REQUIREMENTS AS WELL AS CATERS A GOOD LEARNING CURVE ON OUR STATISTICAL KNOWLEDGE.

By Maxim P

Mar 22, 2020

Such a wonderful course, I really enjoyed the walkthrough. Also, I'd like to note the perfect English language of the lecturer.

By Dennis H

Dec 4, 2018

excellent refresher and expansion on frequentists stats (interpretation) and nice intro to bayesian stats. highly recommended.

By Katia D

Feb 11, 2018

Great course! Although I was struggling with lecture 2 (Bayesian Statistics)––It was very mathsy and a bit difficult to follow.

By Ester N

Jan 24, 2022

Learned a lot during this course and it left me with a lot of challenges with planning my own research. I am very grateful.

By Cesar Y

Feb 25, 2019

Practico sin hacer a un lado lo teorico, te dan un marco mucho mas amplio para la interpretacion y planteamiento de hipotesis

By Bernhard E

Jan 2, 2021

Great course; didactically and scientifically excellent. I would recommend it to all PhD students in the empirical sciences.

By Agustin E C F

Nov 5, 2019

This is a great course!. It tackles common misbeliefs and approaches the topics both in a technical and coloquial manner.

By Yuvaraj K

Feb 1, 2023

I liked the course. Builds very good intuitive on the concepts. Worthy one when you start learning statistic inferences.

By Ezra H

May 19, 2020

Very well structured. Every week covered a different important topic. Overall a useful course for empirical researchers.

By Maojie T

Jan 1, 2020

I think it's a useful course for me, but I think some content in the last week is a little bit trivial for me...

By Luke B

Jul 17, 2018

very well organised course and deepens understanding. Excellent resources provided also, e.g. books and papers.

By Davide F S

May 21, 2017

Clear, concise, and engaging explanation of many statistical concepts that can be readily applied in research.

By Massimiliano D

Nov 30, 2022

Really well organised with plenty of practical activities and assessment along the way to keep you on track.

By Yeison F V F

Dec 12, 2021

A perfect course to keep learning and to clarify the doubts about the essential of statistical inference

By Amy M

Nov 2, 2016

Great lectures and really helpful simulations. Very engaging and interesting. Full of useful resources.

By Lydia A G

May 28, 2020

Highly recommendable course. It puts clarity from the most basic concepts to some other new insights.

By Sandra V

Dec 10, 2016

Extremely useful cours, especially the first 5 weeks! Pleasant and enjoyable. Definitely recommended!

By Fengyuan L

Jul 31, 2020

excellent course. It solves lots of my question over the p value as well as the statistic analysis.

By Habiba A

Dec 29, 2016

Easy to follow, light workload, and most importantly: very useful material of supreme importance.

By Thijs

Aug 14, 2019

Great course. Already had some knowledge about statistics, but this course really improved it.