Chevron Left
Back to The Science of Stem Cells

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Science of Stem Cells by American Museum of Natural History

4.7
stars
1,949 ratings
434 reviews

About the Course

What promise do stem cells hold for the treatment of medical conditions? In this five-part online course you will explore the history and basic biology of stem cells, learn about new research techniques, and find out how stem cells could lead to cures for diseases and to individualized medicine. You will hear from Museum scientists, medical researchers at the frontiers of the field, and a panel of bioethics experts who will address the ethical implications of stem cell research and therapy. Learn what has already been accomplished, what challenges remain, and what medical breakthroughs may lie ahead....

Top reviews

AD
Nov 27, 2020

Extremely informative course, I'm impressed by the examples and the research potential that stem cells provide. I'm also quite interested in finding out how these treatments will fare in the future.

SS
Jul 2, 2021

A good course for those genuinely interested in stem cells. You will definitely get to learn something more from this course. The objective based questions often cover the topics in video lectures.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 436 Reviews for The Science of Stem Cells

By ghazale m

Nov 29, 2020

Dear Sir/Madam,

My name is Ghazale Minaiyan and I am from Iran.

The course was awesome and fulfilling; however, it was so upsetting for me when I had to check the box to confirm that I am not from Iran to get my certificate.

Despite all the hostility that exists between Iran's and the USA's government, I believe Iranian students and researchers should not be the ones to pay the price. Science should not take sides with politics; otherwise, it will miss its mission.

Respectfully,

Ghazale.

By Yasmin A

Jul 16, 2020

As a basic stem cell biology course, it covers a lot. For me, I already know around 70% of the information from my background. I expected to find more advanced information, although the fact that it is a basic course. Knowing about the regulation and the ethical dilemma surrounding stem cell research, especially in the USA, gives me a lot to think about regarding scientific research using embryonic stem cells.

By Katie A

Dec 29, 2020

This course did a great job walking you through information on stem cells. I would not expect someone with no background knowledge on stem cells to fully grasp this course though. More introductory material would have been helpful as well as having the material more broken down, particularly for the lectures from weeks 3 and 4 that were rather technical in nature.

By M. K

Nov 26, 2020

Course is really informative and interesting. what could be better are being more student centred and format of assessment, which is mainly focuses on low levels of Bloom's taxonomy.

I would like to mention, that I did not know bioethics of this topic could be so attractive and interesting to me as much as stem cell research itself, till now.

Thank you all!

By Nir S

Apr 15, 2020

Thank you for all the work you put through the preparations of this course! It turned great :)

But I have to admit, that if there was more material to read in order to understand deeply the biological facts that you lay onsite would make the course much more easier for the participants (if they hadn't any biological background in the first place).

By Sumon R

May 9, 2020

This course is overrated seriously.This course provide many things such as stem cell basics ,production of stem cells, isolation,application etc.This a research related course .Here you can learn regenerative medicine, clinical research , CRISPR technology ,chimera bioethics.All of these are really amazing with amazing instructors .

By Justin L

Feb 16, 2019

Great introductory class on stem cells. Only complaint is that at some points it's unclear what material you'll be tested on from the resources provided. Some quiz questions also seem to be out of order relative to the material presented, or are worded in a way that seems contradictory.

By Susan C

Oct 30, 2020

I recommend this interesting course. It provides an engaging presentation of the history, characteristics, applications and concerns of stem cells and related technologies. The quizzes, however, sometimes expected knowledge not provided during the course (readings or videos).

By DrPavani T

Aug 7, 2019

Few questions are controversial and have two options. Thank you. Dr. Dincer has done a very good job by introducing the topic slow and steady. She has simplified the complicated topics as well. All the lecturers presented well and presentations are to the point.

By Harshitha

Sep 17, 2020

It is a good course, especially for people from the non-biology background. But this is not entirely new for people who have a strong biological/biomedical/medical background.

But still, I highly recommend this for anyone who has a thirst for knowledge.

By S K J

Nov 9, 2020

BY doing the course 'the science of stem cells' i understood the sequence of development stem cell , and its future prospect. i hope that i can elaborate the knowledge from the base which i secured through this course. Thank you so much .

By Aleksandar M

Jul 9, 2020

Very good introdoctury course to the science of stem cells. It is very concise, informative and gives good overview of what has been going on in the field recently. Personally, I wish it could be a little longer and a bit more interactive.

By Nivedha M S

Jul 5, 2020

Very informative course. I totally loved the concept of stem cells and the several ethical issues associated with it. I just felt that some modules were lengthy and could have been split into many videos. A very good course otherwise.

By Cristina T

Aug 30, 2020

A very interesting course, it has 5 modules and the first 4 modules are great, but number 5 is a talk between scientists where many times what they are talking about is not well understood. But overall a good course

By Akshay B K

Jul 9, 2018

Would've liked to know more about the factors used to differentiate individual cell lines and more about iPSC. Also, would prefer to know more about using stem cells to treat trauma related medical conditions.

By Manvi G

Jul 20, 2020

Ofcourse it was the most amazing course i have ever attended but still i am taking a star as i noticed that somewhere in between of the course we went off topic for a while, otherwise everything was perfect

By Panagiotis G

Jan 3, 2020

Great lecturers and an overally useful introduction to the basics of stem cell biology, although this is marketed as an intermediate course and i'd like it to contain more advanced knowledge.

By Marina O

Mar 24, 2021

Good for reminding notions about stem cells. Explain well the ethical issues of stem cells research. Gives you a hint of topics that you can learn/study after finishing this couse.

By Muhamad A B A B

Aug 18, 2020

Very basic introductory course with limited notes/supplementary reading materials. The quizzes are a bit difficult as they are quite hidden, not tally with the explanation videos.

By Nerea T M

Apr 3, 2020

Is a great course to get in touch with the Stem cell basic concepts and practical cases.

Would be recommended to have some background information before starting the course.

By Chandrasekar R

Jun 24, 2020

A very nice introduction to the vast field of stem cell research. Most of the content was well laid out and easy to understand, hope they develop a follow up course.

By Chiranjit D

May 25, 2020

Great insight into the science of stem cells by focusing on its applications and ethics. Few potential disease models were also discussed for better understanding.

By A. E H

Aug 17, 2018

It is amazing how many experiments with stem cells have been done and how many treatments are already taking place, I had no idea. Thank you for educating society.

By KAREN J S 1

May 22, 2020

The course gave an overview of the scientific concepts involved in current stem cell research. It also explored the ethical aspects of the research thoroughly.

By Carolina S

Aug 27, 2021

The course contains complete and detailed information. It is perfectly organized and easy to understand. The presence of several teachers is appreciated.