Chevron Left
Back to The Science of Stem Cells

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Science of Stem Cells by American Museum of Natural History

4.7
stars
2,543 ratings

About the Course

What promise do stem cells hold for the treatment of medical conditions? In this five-part online course you will explore the history and basic biology of stem cells, learn about new research techniques, and find out how stem cells could lead to cures for diseases and to individualized medicine. You will hear from Museum scientists, medical researchers at the frontiers of the field, and a panel of bioethics experts who will address the ethical implications of stem cell research and therapy. Learn what has already been accomplished, what challenges remain, and what medical breakthroughs may lie ahead....

Top reviews

AD

Nov 27, 2020

Extremely informative course, I'm impressed by the examples and the research potential that stem cells provide. I'm also quite interested in finding out how these treatments will fare in the future.

SS

Jul 2, 2021

A good course for those genuinely interested in stem cells. You will definitely get to learn something more from this course. The objective based questions often cover the topics in video lectures.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 542 Reviews for The Science of Stem Cells

By Sartaj J

Sep 9, 2021

As a rising college freshman whose life mission is to find a cure for ALS one day, I absolutely loved this course. For all students interested in pursuing disease-related medical research at some point in their lives, this course is a very worthwhile first step to develop a baseline intellectual foundation in the field of stem cells--a field brimming not only with potential, but viable potential. A big thanks to Dr. Zehra Dincer for putting together this wonderful course!

By Michael M

Oct 31, 2020

A good course for those who wish to gain a basic understanding of stem cell function and the research being done. You'll learn concepts and some new terminology, but it isn't overwhelmingly technical. Besides the science you'll also learn about the conflicting ethics surrounding such research and its present and future application. Ultimately, you'll come away with lots of questions and that a good thing: the best courses stimulate thought and encourage you to learn more.

By Sanjuda S

Sep 23, 2022

This course is highly recommended for high school and college students who are aspiring to pursue a career in the line of genetics and stem cell research. This course was informative and has covered every possible areas that need to be discussed in a systematic way. Assignments were indeed challenging but has been useful in brushing up the conccepts.

Totally glad that I enrolled in it and I am looking forward to enrolling in such courses that are designed for beginners.

By Mayank B

May 9, 2020

I am really grateful to the team for creating such a wonderful course on Stem Cells. This course is complete in itself and has provided me with an immense knowledge in the filed. The course has impacted me such that Stem Cells Study has been added as one of my favourites topics for further studies in research. I would also like to specially mention about Dr. Esteban Mazzoni about his creativeness in explaining the concepts lucidly. I really enjoyed the course !

By Archisha A

Oct 11, 2020

I loved this course. It's informative and thoroughly engaging. I've never really understood stem cells properly and was kind of confused what the whole hype was about. That's why, when I saw this course I went straight for it, and I was not disappointed. It was so exciting I couldn't put it down. It taught me so many things I had been wanting to know and all in a way that was easy to understand. It also inspired me to research more about the subject

By Paula M P

May 20, 2020

Es un buen curso para todos aquellos que quieran saber lo básico sobre el campo de las células madre o para aquellos que quieran ampliar levemente sus conocimientos en el ámbito o sean curiosos.

Si ya tienes conocimiento en este área es posible que te resulte un curso muy básico pero viene muy bien para refrescar conocimientos y reflexionar sobre los problemas éticos que generan estas células. La unidad 5 en especial es soberbia en ese último ámbito.

By Anjali K A

Oct 13, 2021

This course takes us through a rollercoaster ride about the different aspects of stem cell research including the basics, latest research in the area and most importantly the concerned ethical issues.

I would recommend this course to anyone who has basic knowledge in the field of biology and has a fascination towards cell biology in specific. This course can also be an eye opener if you seek to know if stem cell research is the right field for you.

By Rishabh P

Nov 16, 2020

This course was extremely helpful and informative. The course quizzes were based on topics raised in the lectures and readings, which themselves were quite engaging, and enabled me to gain proper basic knowledge about how stem cells are studied and used to create disease treatments. The prospect of future development of treatment of macular degeneration and the ethical panel discussion as exceptionally fun to watch and learn about.

By Kaustav M

Jul 9, 2020

This is perhaps the best basic course on Stem cell biology that I have ever come across. Concepts were explained simply. Got to learn a lot about iPSCs, how stem cells are cultured in the lab, what cutting edge research is being done with the stem cells. Also, the important aspect of Bioethics of stem cells was an important area of discussion and learning which every future stem cell researcher needs to understand. Amazing course!!

By Aparna S

Aug 11, 2020

The course is beautifully designed and has covered every aspect from knowing what a stem cell is to its applications to its ethical concerns. It provided a great and complete overview about stem cells. Highly recommended to those who wish to know the future potential of stem cell biology and the latest advancements in stem cell technology. I would like to thank my instructor Dr. Zehra Dincer for introducing such an amazing course.

By ALEXANDER E

Sep 2, 2019

I enrolled into "The Science of Stem Cells" course because I am living with incurable illness (T1D) and I wanted to gain educational insight behind the potential treatment advancements of Stem Cell Research. I loved how the course is laid out, explains various details about the nearly limitless good medical applications this could become integrated with our daily lives to participate in the future of medicine.

By Carlos N

Dec 7, 2022

Thank you very much for this course. It was great and, as a begginer, I could understand how big is the potential about stem cells studying.

Luckly some countries really allow free studies about this topic. As mortals,we do not have time to lose. You too are contributing hugely for science advancing faster sharing free knowledgment. Spreading information may result resulton answers arriving earlier.

By Kris H

Nov 11, 2020

I learned a great amount about stem cells while taking this course. I went from knowing very little about stem cells to feeling confident in my understanding and opinions on ethical issues associated with the field. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who has an interest in human biology, anatomy/physiology, or the future of medicine. Thank you for your work!

By Michelle C

May 8, 2020

I gained much more knowledge on topics related to stem cells, but not limited to stem cells, such as human chimeras, CRISPR/Cas9 gene editing technology and etc,. The lesson I found most interesting is the one in week 5, which is about the ethical and moral issues behind the use of embryonic stem cells and other related areas. In general, I really enjoyed the course.

By Adelle M

Jun 25, 2020

Easy to complete in your own time at your place of work or at home in your own time makes this course more flexible for anyone who may struggle to find time to get the hours in

The modules were very interesting and informative and good to test your new skills and knowledge each week

Highly recommend for anyone working within or around stem cells and stem cell research

By Murali

Dec 14, 2022

The way of conducting( designing) a research and what are the obstacles we will come across while implementing it and the current research with stem cells as diseased models and there present progression have well explained in this course...for someone who likes to know about how stem cells are used in disease modelling..it will give an idea...great learning🙂

By Muhammad H

May 22, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. This course has increased my knowledge about stem cells that how it can be used for the treatment of different kinds of diseases like Alzheimer's etc. Moreover, I studied about the development of embryo. There're many things which I have learned from this course. That was a great time for me being there.

By Manuel A O M

Jan 25, 2020

I've been working in the field of stem cells. Thus, from my point of view the course is well structured, the information is precise and easy for beginners, and one can understand easily the contents in it. Maybe, I would have liked it a bit more difficult for me, however, I learned new things and I strongly recommend it to others.

By Abdu M

Mar 6, 2021

Tokat Gaziosmanpaşa Üniversitesinde Genetik ve Biyomühendislik 2 sınıf öğrencisiyim, üniversite de yeterli bilgi veremiyorlar zamna yetmediği için bizde kurslara başvuruyoruz. Bu kök hücre bilimi hem bildiklerimle birleştirip hemde benim hangi dalda yüksek lisans yapacağıma yön verdi. Ayrıca Eğitmenim türk olduğu için gururluyum.

By Abhishek S

Aug 13, 2020

This course has been one of the most interesting courses available online. The speakers explain each and everything so precisely that one can fall in love with stem cells. The whole course is on one side and the last module on bioethics is on the other. I never thought subjects like ethics could be so interesting and funny too.

By Mohammad M A

Oct 26, 2022

this course is awsome because of introducing real projects that scientists are working on them like stem cells and AD , ethical issues on ESCs , Chimera and problems , etc.However it can be better if thay talk a little more about CRISPR cas 9 and IPSs and also show more details and challenges about them.Anyway that was great!

By Tito R

Aug 1, 2022

An incredibly course put together including all aspects related to the current stem cell research from the scientific to the social from the ethical to the legal and governmental aspects all covered! All professors with an incredible knowledge and goal toward understanding and stimulating ideas through their presentations.

By Mamdlelanga M

Aug 15, 2022

My view is let world leaders review stem cell cloning ethically and make a decision very fast. The world is facing difficulties, that need decisions on this issue.

It has noticable that companies are operation on stem cell in black market because there is no regulation on this issue. Scientists you have done a good work

By Amruta G

Jun 19, 2020

The field of stem cell research interests me a lot and this course proved as a food for my thought regarding the same. The course was very well structured, the most awesome part being putting across recent cutting-edge research in the field. Awaiting more courses from AMNH on the topic of stem cells. Thank you very much.

By Joyson V D

Mar 3, 2019

This course has taught me some of the basic and advance technologies used in stem cells research that is currently in practice.A very nice and well explained course for people seeking knowledge on stem cells.Many thanks to the American Museum of Natural History and also Dr. Zehra Dincer for being a very good instructor.