Chevron Left
Back to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
916 ratings
298 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Top reviews

UU

Apr 08, 2018

Great efforts are done to design the course.It was really effective and informative course.It was amazing to know about different renewable resources and technologies discussed in the course.

MA

Jul 20, 2018

A very fruitful course in knowledge and language.\n\nI also benefit from the style you use on your videos .\n\nI use some sites such as quizlet.\n\nI got 92.4 % . Thank you very much.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 288 Reviews for English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

By Joseph G

Nov 14, 2017

I had fun accomplishing this course and learned so much. Thank you Coursera and University of Pennsylvania.

By Nourhan r

Apr 12, 2018

we need more courses about stem

By Sandra J

Jul 04, 2017

I recommend this course, because I could increase my english vocabulary and improve in my english skill.

By MIREYA M

Aug 27, 2017

Excellent course!!!

By Luiz E d C F

Aug 14, 2017

Very good in timing, learning, evaluation. Thank You.

By Hisham K

Jul 22, 2017

I liked the articles.

I was able to know more things about climate change and global worming.

The video presentations were marvelous with the cartoon illustrations and experiments.

The whole course was informative and added to knowledge.

Thank you so much!

By Rener C

Jul 04, 2017

Excellent!!!

By Horacio O H

Jun 26, 2017

E

By AGBENOU K

Jul 25, 2017

The course was so interesting. It helped me not only to widen my knowledge at English but also to understand more about the causes and the impacts of climate change and the solution ways to save our planet from those impacts.

I recommend this course to everyone.

By Mohammed S A

Aug 29, 2017

Thanks you very much

By Nigar

Dec 15, 2017

This is helpful course .

By Viki D

May 20, 2017

Its a great way of reviewing and learning once again English with the mixture of science, technology, engineering and mathematics

By Antonio P J

Sep 07, 2017

Great course!

By Sophía G

Jul 11, 2017

The topics covered in the STEM course are of transcendence for all of us, how it is alternative sources of renewable energy and reduce global warming

By Pierre M

Jul 11, 2017

GREAT TECNIQUE AND INFORMATION ABOUT OUR ENVIROMENT

By Paulo A

Jun 27, 2017

Muito bom o curso, além de ser uma ferramenta para auxiliar no estudo da língua inglesa, também você consegue aprimorar o conhecimento de outras áreas, neste caso da ciência. Ótimo curso, recomendo!

By Ricardo V

Jul 06, 2017

Great course. It definitely improved my english for STEM.

By Donato R

Jul 06, 2017

Great course! You can learn about modal verbs, intensifiers, present progressive and much more very easily. And is important too to know the methods and techniques for write a scientific article.

By Abdulaziz k m

Jun 09, 2017

good

By Juan C R M

Aug 18, 2017

It was a great experience!!!

By Marcelo M

Jul 18, 2017

Thank you

I liked the course, the didactic way in which the course was presented, the slow way of speaking helped to understand the pronunciation well. I liked the games that encouraged you to learn in a didactic and fun way.

Congratulations on the teaching method. Hugs

By Mohammad A

Oct 02, 2017

Thank you for your course

By Víctor M V

Sep 18, 2017

Very useful

By alaliaa r

Oct 28, 2017

very good course to get scientific informations and to learn english for beginners

By Salah E

Sep 09, 2017

this course is very useful