Chevron Left
Back to Strategic Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Strategic Management by Copenhagen Business School

4.8
stars
3,874 ratings
879 reviews

About the Course

The world of business strategy is in transition. What used to work doesn't anymore -- not necessarily. This course prepares you to think strategically in an age when companies like Apple, Google, and Microsoft have become more valuable (in market cap terms) than companies like Exxon. Today, business value and competitive advantage arise more often from consumer perceptions of what is "cool" than from physical assets or economies of scale. In this course -- the first of a three-course specialization tailored specifically for the age of creativity and innovation -- you will gear up for the challenges of strategy formulation and implementation in a 21st century business. After taking the course, you'll be able to: - Explain why "doing" strategy is considered "the high point of managerial activity" (Mintzberg); - Recognize and avoid the old, tired ideas about strategy that are still out there, so you can adopt fresher, better ideas; - Point out how doing strategy has changed because of advancing technology and globalization; - Prepare for the Capstone Project for the Strategic Management and Innovation Specialization...

Top reviews

TV
Sep 20, 2016

I liked the course a lot, the references were great and gave me great insight about Strategic Management. The lecturer was really good, specially if you compare him to the one in Strategy Formulation.

JV
Apr 11, 2020

The course provides a good foundation for the most famous strategy concepts. I have appreciated the capstone project which gives you the opportunity to apply the theories learned in the first 3 weeks.

Filter by:

726 - 750 of 869 Reviews for Strategic Management

By Rhaissa V

Feb 14, 2016

Great course! :)

But I believe the last modules were a little bit easier than the first ones... :) More concepts at the beginning and then more well-known case studies. They could have found a way to split both theory and practical teaching along the modules. Anyways: well done, CBS! I really liked this course! Cheers from Rio, Brazil.

Rhai

By Nicola M

Feb 2, 2016

I thought the course was really interesting and well taught. I think the quizzes and final assignment could be a little tougher but I understand there is a larger Kapstone project for the specialization. I really liked the additional resources, articles and videos provided and have added many of the articles and books to my reading list.

By KYOKO K

Aug 21, 2020

Prof. Austin does a great job explaining all topics with relevant examples. Unfortunately, I think the entire series was created in 2015, so the examples are outdated and a few links didn't work anymore. I also wish that they covered aligning strategy to company mission and vision and how they are formulated. Overall, well done.

By Robert M

Jan 28, 2021

The materials are interesting and well presented. Some of the links to further reading are broken or behind a paywall. That's not a big problem but a bit annoying. The assessment quizzes are not very stretching - this is a negative for me. Nevertheless, i got lots of useful information and ideas from the course

By Eliane N

Oct 23, 2016

The course is very beneficial for people interested in Strategic Management history it gives an overview about strategical way of thinking with lots of examples and case studies. Instructor s tone is not monotonic and the readings given are interesting and will be an added value to your general knowledge!

By DIGNA E

Oct 14, 2019

The course gives a good insight in basic principles of strategic management, especially if you're unfamiliar with the topic. The links provided for additional reading should be cross-checked, as some of them lead to unavailable/outdated content, or content available only upon (paid) subscription.

By Mohamed A G

Feb 25, 2020

The course instructor was very good; the way he talks and explains is clear and to the point. The knowledge gained is good, but of course further extra reading is required. I do think though that the course needs to be refreshed in terms of information and numbers. Seems that it's from 2 015.

By SIVAKUMAR V

Dec 20, 2018

Explained well about Strategy.. abt why it needed, how it evolved. And the trainer way of explaining , thanks for timely linking the related videos, documents that was very useful. Thanks to the team who traveled with us for understanding the basic of STRATEGIC MANAGEMENT.

By Pushkar V

Mar 23, 2021

Excellent Course and Delivery

While the course content was on the mark and really helpful, which was delivered seamlessly by Prof Robert Austin, there were some amount of links provided as reading materials that did not work

Recommend Coursera / CBS revisits these links

By Vivekanand C

Mar 26, 2017

Very well scripted course suitable for working executives. The assignments are designed in a way, which ensures that only studious and diligent students only can get through.

The capstone project demands thorough understanding of the course and its contents.

By ADETOKUNBO I O

Apr 10, 2020

The course was well structured. The Professor was eloquent & taught the course very well. I always look forward to the next class. I’m happy throughout my learning time. I look forward to implement the acquired knowledge in my field of work.

By Peter H

Mar 1, 2016

I would have liked the level to be a bit higher as well as having my final submission reviewed by a course professional rather than strictly peer-to-peer review.

I really liked the to-the-point yet well paced video material. Thumbs up!

By Mohammed A s

Dec 15, 2018

very Good courses !! well done .

I would prefer if there one case study and they apply on it he strategic theory which in the course (in to out of out to in ) which will demonstrate how we can apply the theory in practice.

thanks

By Deleted A

Apr 7, 2016

The course itself is very informative and enlightening. The way Coursera structures the submission of assignments though, need to be seriously reworked to keep the numerous learners with creative unethical behaviors at bay.

By Johan M

Jun 23, 2017

I would have given it 5 stars, if there were more people taking the course. Now it seems that it can take some time for people to peer grade the final assignment and there is not much discussion in the forums.

By Nick F

Feb 11, 2020

The course is helping you to understand the philosophy, but it is too theoretical. It doesn't provide you with practical tools. If I didn't get the discount, I would not pay to get the certificate.

By Gabriela N

Aug 20, 2019

I've found the content very useful and it developed my knowledge and understanding of strategic management by making me explore a range of theories. The videos and explanations are also very good.

By Arjun

Jun 18, 2020

The first course has many example for anyone who wants to know the basics of strategy. You get a clear understanding of when and where it has been used and how it has been evolved over the years.

By Roopa N

May 10, 2020

Very Good Course if you are looking to understand the meaning and importance of Strategic Management. The best part of this course is the examples and real time case study. Definitely worth it.

By Joanna V

May 24, 2021

Great intro to strategic management principles and tools. The capstone project at the end gives you the opportunity to show that you are able to synthesize the information that was taught.

By Diego

Jan 11, 2016

Content is great. The final project pier feedback/grading could be upgraded. Prefer only one person reviewing in depth than 3 using multiple choice questions. Scales might work better.

By Michael F

Nov 30, 2019

Information was clearly presented and explained. The assignments were relevant to the coursework and the material was challenging enough to promote authentic learning. Thank you.

By Tanmay S

Aug 16, 2016

Excellent! But need more examples and situations for the respective concepts. The level of difficulty shall be increased so that students will grasp more of the content!

Thanks

By Edoardo C

Apr 14, 2021

Well done, but it seems to prioritze the design uniqueness over anything else. Denying the existance of thousand of "average" companies that are in fact, often profitable.

By Bruna S

Jun 29, 2018

A good course to give you an overview and basic about strategic planning. Good references are given, but unfortunately some are no longer available for free.