Chevron Left
Back to Strategic Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Strategic Management by Copenhagen Business School

4.8
stars
3,877 ratings
879 reviews

About the Course

The world of business strategy is in transition. What used to work doesn't anymore -- not necessarily. This course prepares you to think strategically in an age when companies like Apple, Google, and Microsoft have become more valuable (in market cap terms) than companies like Exxon. Today, business value and competitive advantage arise more often from consumer perceptions of what is "cool" than from physical assets or economies of scale. In this course -- the first of a three-course specialization tailored specifically for the age of creativity and innovation -- you will gear up for the challenges of strategy formulation and implementation in a 21st century business. After taking the course, you'll be able to: - Explain why "doing" strategy is considered "the high point of managerial activity" (Mintzberg); - Recognize and avoid the old, tired ideas about strategy that are still out there, so you can adopt fresher, better ideas; - Point out how doing strategy has changed because of advancing technology and globalization; - Prepare for the Capstone Project for the Strategic Management and Innovation Specialization...

Top reviews

JV
Apr 11, 2020

The course provides a good foundation for the most famous strategy concepts. I have appreciated the capstone project which gives you the opportunity to apply the theories learned in the first 3 weeks.

TV
Sep 20, 2016

I liked the course a lot, the references were great and gave me great insight about Strategic Management. The lecturer was really good, specially if you compare him to the one in Strategy Formulation.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 869 Reviews for Strategic Management

By Florian D Z

Dec 5, 2020

Great course on strategic management. Prof. Austin has a catching way of presenting important concepts from Mintzberg to Porter to BCG. Especially the examples provide a good insight strategic decisions in the real world.

By Rasmus D J

Sep 17, 2020

I enjoyed this very much. It was a great as a history lesson and a reminder to always question the incessant human "structuralization" of business practices that are, in many cases, better seen as emergent and flux-like.

By Robbie T

Mar 15, 2016

Great introduction to the theory of strategic management. Feel like I learned a lot in a short few weeks. Workload is realistic for those with busy lifestyles. Looking forward to the next course in the specialisation!

By RAULIN

Mar 3, 2016

The case studies are interesting. The course content is interesting, and the "history" of strategy is a very good point of view to start. The capstone project is a real project, that requires 3-4 hours if done properly.

By Lukman H

Feb 7, 2016

I like the way they combine the theme of strategy with creative (innovative-ness). After taking this course, my perception about strategy totally changed! Strategy is more than just boring planning, strategy is more fun.

By Wilson P

Apr 20, 2020

The course was awesome.I liked the faculty Dr.Robert Austin's explanations and the reading materials provided helped understand the subject of Strategic Management,Many thanks to Coursera and Copenhagen Business School.

By Samir M P

Oct 14, 2015

I think It's been an amazing lesson about management strategics. There are many kind of strategies that we can apply in the best way, depending and in order to get the best of the particular situation we get involved.

By SHIVARAM K V

Nov 21, 2017

Highly appreciate Robert Austin's way of presentation. Superb way to provide the concept and summarizing the same. Overall got to learn and correlate the business decisions and situations to the Management concepts.

By Balamurali B

Apr 13, 2020

The slides and explanation given by Professor was really useful and easy to understand.

Enjoyed the overall course.

The Quiz and assignment was really good and through the quiz and assignment the learnings are worth

By Kushendra S

Oct 23, 2017

A highly intensive course designed for beginners with thought provoking example and case problem. Than you Robert Austin for delivering such a great lecture and Coursera for bringing this knowledge to our homes.

By Ana C

Dec 6, 2015

Very dynamic, good teacher, quality material, it gives you different approaches about strategy as concept and shows you what can we learn from the past about strategists and how it is being applied these days.

By Akash S K

Oct 22, 2021

It was nice to revisit the Strategy Concepts I learnt in my Masters. The topics hit different when you revisit after being a part of the work force, and Robert is a fantastic teacher who kept me moving ahead!

By Oleksandr M

Aug 12, 2019

Very well, but really something in beginner level (that was told in advance). Very good thing of this course that things are putted on their places with different examples (in mind). - nice course, thank you

By Veselin S

Sep 17, 2016

The course is very helpful, learned a lot of things, It rises a lot of questions for own company and how it should go. I will be happy to reccomend this course to my friends and colegues. Thanks, Mr. Austin

By Clara M

May 10, 2018

Really interesting and useful insights on strategy, with glimpses of how it has change during History adjusting to the changes in economy and society. Perfectly suited for people new to business as well.

By Ramakrishna K A

Jul 10, 2016

I have enjoyed the course work which was straight to the point and has provided the much needed knowledge on various aspects of strategy. May be this course can be titled as "Strategy-as-a-journey" too...

By Harald S

Apr 7, 2021

The course was great. Above all, the language was clear and precise. The content was more than very good. I would recommend the course to everyone, even if she / he don't have a lot to do with strategy.

By Juan D M R

Aug 3, 2020

I think is really good, good mood of the instructors, good content, an excellent course overall. I would like them to update some content in order to not staying with examples of a couples of years ago.

By SUDALAIMANI

Apr 9, 2020

Awesome Course. Very well explanation of the concepts and the material content is fabulous. I will definitely recommend this course to my contacts who are interested in pursuing business strategy.

By Jason W

Nov 4, 2015

This program is current, easy to follow, yet challenging enough to keep you thinking. This program provides the information you need to be a strong leader in what ever leadership capacity you may be in.

By Abelardo Q F J

Sep 4, 2015

Important analysis of the concepts of strategic management, reinforcing the new approach we have to give to strategy in face of the change of business environment due to the technological revolution.

By Juan J G M

Aug 10, 2020

Awesome course. Good structure for the development of the course with a clear explanation of the concepts and good examples of implemented strategies. I recommend this course which is very helpful

By Qasim A I

May 12, 2021

Although I am a strategic management practitioner, this course is the best introductory course for beginners as the content delivered by the professor resonates with the quality provided therein.

By Bhushan L P

Mar 9, 2016

This is the essential course for understanding basics and importance of business strategy. Also the language used in the course is simple English so thos who are not good in English, don't worry.

By Weronika B

Nov 13, 2020

I am so happy for this course. It is a very high quality and interesting course. I have learnt a lot and can recommend to anyone interested in innovation strategy. Gets better with every lesson!