Chevron Left
Back to Study Designs in Epidemiology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Study Designs in Epidemiology by Imperial College London

4.9
75 ratings
13 reviews

About the Course

Choosing an appropriate study design is a critical decision that can largely determine whether your study will successfully answer your research question. A quick look at the contents page of a biomedical journal or even at the health news section of a news website is enough to tell you that there are many different ways to conduct epidemiological research. In this course, you will learn about the main epidemiological study designs, including cross-sectional and ecological studies, case-control and cohort studies, as well as the more complex nested case-control and case-cohort designs. The final module is dedicated to randomised controlled trials, which is often considered the optimal study design, especially in clinical research. You will also develop the skills to identify strengths and limitations of the various study designs. By the end of this course, you will be able to choose the most suitable study design considering the research question, the available time, and resources....

Top reviews

C

May 30, 2019

I think I'm in love... with Epidemiology. With each subsequent course, my thirst to understand epidemiology deepens. Thank you for this opportunity

AF

Nov 27, 2019

This is absolutely a comprehensive course that elevates one's knowledge in Epidemiology.

Filter by:

1 - 12 of 12 Reviews for Study Designs in Epidemiology

By Chioma T E C

May 30, 2019

I think I'm in love... with Epidemiology. With each subsequent course, my thirst to understand epidemiology deepens. Thank you for this opportunity

By Fernando R U G

May 17, 2019

Excellent course with all the basic concepts relevant to epidemiological study designs.

By MEENAKUMARI

Mar 23, 2019

best course

By Juan A R R

May 13, 2019

Actually this course is very important for those professionals who work in Epidemiology, and in research, as I mentioned earlier in this course, delve into each of the types of studies designs in epidemiology, its approach and its diverse uses in our daily work. research. Allowing me to have more solid tools in my knowledge to be able to identify in a timely manner the different variables in the different types of study designs in epidemiology. Very grateful to Dr. Filippos Filippidis and his collaborators.

By Kazibwe A

Jun 18, 2019

I am grateful to the entire team that put this course together. I have been introduced to new concepts such as nested case-control and case cohort studies; that I shall apply in designing more cost effective studies. I have also gained a deeper understanding of how things could go wrong in the implementation of a randomised controlled trial potentially leading to wrong conclusions. Thank you team.

By Cristian E N C

Jul 21, 2019

Excelente, simple y fácil de aprender

By Angela B

Jun 02, 2019

Thank you for making the quizzes multiple choice.

By Andrés F R B

Aug 14, 2019

excelente

By Deusdenir d S M

Sep 02, 2019

Wonderful! The didactics is very well done, congratulations to the responsible team. Even with developing statistical skills, understanding of program content is very effective.

For those who are interested but do not have prior knowledge, the sequential suggestion of the three courses should be followed to improve achievement.

By Johanna K E

Nov 30, 2019

Outstanding

By Jose L V V

Nov 21, 2019

The course is impressive for the great content it has within it, explained 100% in everything related to the types of epidemiological study.

By amr f

Nov 27, 2019

This is absolutely a comprehensive course that elevates one's knowledge in Epidemiology.