Chevron Left
Back to The Science of Success: What Researchers Know that You Should Know

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Science of Success: What Researchers Know that You Should Know by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
2,307 ratings
693 reviews

About the Course

This engaging course is designed to help you achieve the success that you desire. Drawing on decades of scientific research, you will learn what the most successful people do differently than others, why IQ is not the most significant predictor of success (and can sometimes backfire), and why many commonly held beliefs hold people back from achieving their goals. Although this course is based on the science of success, you will learn many practical ideas that you can apply to your own life immediately, particularly in three main areas: • Getting better results at work (and school) • Achieving career success (however you define success) • Enjoying a meaningful, happy, and healthy life By the time you finish this course you will know more than most people know about what predicts success in life. One of the most important lessons you’ll learn is that success is earned day-by-day through small wins - small, achievable actions that together can help you achieve your goals sooner and exceed even your own expectations. Therefore, you will have an opportunity to complete a detailed action plan through which you can turn what you learned into specific steps for achieving your most treasured life goals....

Top reviews

BO
Dec 25, 2020

This course covers everything one needs to be successful, through thorough researches and proven observations that would benefit every individual.\n\nThis is an excellent and superb course. Thank you.

MA
May 29, 2020

This was a very insightful course. It taught me how to approach goals and develop my skills in the right way. Moreover, it changed my thinking about intelligence and taught me the value of networking.

Filter by:

676 - 685 of 685 Reviews for The Science of Success: What Researchers Know that You Should Know

By GOPAL K D

Dec 22, 2020

The course could have been taught better. currently it is only informational. it needs to be motivational .

By Ajinkya K

Mar 6, 2019

A good course. Makes a few important points, condensed in one from multiple important books

By Feryel K

Feb 16, 2021

this course help me in different ways

By Rahul B

May 14, 2020

pretty basic course

By Koustav M

Jun 2, 2020

Moderate

By Sunil R

Jun 5, 2020

Good

By Dimitri P

Jan 12, 2021

There are two main problems with this course. The first is that the material presented is not building up to the final project. In fact, each week is pretty disconnected from the others and none of the material actively contributes in helping figure out how to go about the life changing project of the last week. To be sure, the lectures highlight some characteristics of successful people - mainly by putting people into different buckets - which can be considered motivational, I guess, but it doesn't add up to concrete courses of action.

The second big problem is that even though every other phrase starts with "researchers have shown" there are no transparent insights into the research conducted or the validity of the results. There is only one instance in which an experiment is described in some detail and it makes one vary doubtful about the validity of any of the other conclusions. The toddler marshmallow test is poorly designed in that the observations do not correlate in any obvious way to the conclusions that the researchers are trying to reach. There is also no evidence that the samples are statistically significant and there are numerous uncontrollable factors in the experimental set up.

I realize my critique may sound a bit harsh, so I should point out that I usually study technical subjects and pure sciences and this was one of my rare forays into social sciences. Perhaps my metrics are more rigorous.

By Melfi M A

Aug 10, 2020

I lost my time in the non-credit certificate. The is no appearances note to clarify if the course with a credit or non-credit certificate. it is not with a satisfy Ending.

By Mohosina p m

Jul 28, 2020

I want to unenroll this course.Pz help me.

By Patrick O

Apr 17, 2020

Identity politics everywhere. Avoid.