Chevron Left
Back to Summary Statistics in Public Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Summary Statistics in Public Health by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
1,327 ratings
337 reviews

About the Course

Biostatistics is the application of statistical reasoning to the life sciences, and it is the key to unlocking the data gathered by researchers and the evidence presented in the scientific literature. In this course, we'll focus on the use of statistical measurement methods within the world of public health research. Along the way, you'll be introduced to a variety of methods and measures, and you'll practice interpreting data and performing calculations on real data from published studies. Topics include summary measures, visual displays, continuous data, sample size, the normal distribution, binary data, the element of time, and the Kaplan-Meir curve....

Top reviews

AB
Apr 23, 2020

I am glad to learn a lot of terms in statistics and how to use and interpret them in the context of Public Health researches. The Instructor provided enough examples to understand the lessons better.

EC
Sep 22, 2020

I found this course really useful. It actually made you do work and it wasn't necessarily easy to pass the end of module content, which I feel made the course so much more valuable. Highly recommend.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 340 Reviews for Summary Statistics in Public Health

By Xinyuan L

Feb 26, 2020

Professor used a lot of examples to make the concepts more understandable. And the professor is very humorous.

By Philipe M

Feb 15, 2020

Excellent course. Give all base you need to become to understand statistics and jump in your first analyses!

By Avneesh A

Feb 4, 2020

Professor McGready is an amazing teacher and explains the concepts well with substantial amount of examples!

By Julia R d S C

Sep 19, 2020

Um ótimo curso para quem quer rever alguns conceitos básicos de bioestatística, mas também para iniciantes.

By Diego F S M

Jan 2, 2020

Very informative course with great emphasis in translating theoretical background to lab/research settings!

By Mohammed A

Sep 29, 2020

Absolutely phenomenal course. Learned quite a lot and the examples that are given just stick to your brain

By Sandeep K

Jun 21, 2019

one of the best course to start with statistics, the quiz is tricky

I would recommend it for the beginners

By WC D K

Aug 8, 2020

The concepts were explained very clearly. Thank you very much for your generosity in sharing this course.

By Rupok C

Jun 2, 2020

Great interactive course on fundamental statistics and how it is applied in the field of health research.

By Bhalchandra V

Jan 29, 2020

Excellent course, very relevant examples from clinical field and thorough explanation by the Instructor.

By Nadia F

Aug 24, 2020

Thank you for this course! I'm looking forward to taking the three other courses of the specialization.

By Richard M

Aug 4, 2019

Excellent introduction to a challenging subject for me. I look forward to continuing this course set.

By Yazan Q

Jun 17, 2020

Very clear thought process throughout the course with an intelligent way of explanation and teaching

By Temy R

Nov 10, 2019

It is very easy to understand. Easy language and many examples help me to learn a lot. Thank you!

By Lucky S

Aug 17, 2020

the course is amazing. absolutely loved it. never knew biostatistics learning is so interesting.

By Catherine M

Oct 6, 2019

enjoyed this class - appreciated the careful explanations and the examples from actual studies.

By Ken J

Feb 4, 2021

Dr, McGready did a great job covering the material. Very good presentations and explanations.

By Eduardo V C

Apr 13, 2020

Excellent course!. I strongly thank John Hopkins University and Coursera for this opportunity

By J V

Nov 13, 2019

This course is a perfect stepping stone for understanding statistics in public health research

By Njoroge J G

Jul 15, 2020

I loved it. Absolutely amazing. I am more confident now as I continue my journey in research.

By Dong-Uk L

Aug 26, 2019

Productive introduction and summary of public health statistics. Highly recommend this class!

By James M

Mar 15, 2019

Excellent course. Dr. McGready is so clear and concise. Can't wait to get to the next module.

By Hoon L C

Mar 3, 2019

Not only informative, this course is very useful in routine clinical practice.

Thanks a lot.

By Verónica B V

Jun 5, 2021

Very descriptive and axemplified course, which helps you to understand the topics correctly

By Satish I H

Apr 23, 2020

Thank you very much for this course.had very detailed explanation using published articles