Chevron Left
Back to Summary Statistics in Public Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Summary Statistics in Public Health by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
1,293 ratings
330 reviews

About the Course

Biostatistics is the application of statistical reasoning to the life sciences, and it is the key to unlocking the data gathered by researchers and the evidence presented in the scientific literature. In this course, we'll focus on the use of statistical measurement methods within the world of public health research. Along the way, you'll be introduced to a variety of methods and measures, and you'll practice interpreting data and performing calculations on real data from published studies. Topics include summary measures, visual displays, continuous data, sample size, the normal distribution, binary data, the element of time, and the Kaplan-Meir curve....

Top reviews

EC
Sep 22, 2020

I found this course really useful. It actually made you do work and it wasn't necessarily easy to pass the end of module content, which I feel made the course so much more valuable. Highly recommend.

AA
Jan 10, 2021

This is a good and enticing introduction for the rest of the Coursera Specialization where it belongs. For added value, consider taking this course with a biostatistics textbook for better retention.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 331 Reviews for Summary Statistics in Public Health

By Mohammed A

Sep 29, 2020

Absolutely phenomenal course. Learned quite a lot and the examples that are given just stick to your brain

By Sandeep K

Jun 21, 2019

one of the best course to start with statistics, the quiz is tricky

I would recommend it for the beginners

By WC D K

Aug 8, 2020

The concepts were explained very clearly. Thank you very much for your generosity in sharing this course.

By Rupok C

Jun 2, 2020

Great interactive course on fundamental statistics and how it is applied in the field of health research.

By Bhalchandra V

Jan 29, 2020

Excellent course, very relevant examples from clinical field and thorough explanation by the Instructor.

By Nadia F

Aug 24, 2020

Thank you for this course! I'm looking forward to taking the three other courses of the specialization.

By Richard M

Aug 4, 2019

Excellent introduction to a challenging subject for me. I look forward to continuing this course set.

By Yazan Q

Jun 17, 2020

Very clear thought process throughout the course with an intelligent way of explanation and teaching

By Temy R

Nov 10, 2019

It is very easy to understand. Easy language and many examples help me to learn a lot. Thank you!

By Lucky S

Aug 17, 2020

the course is amazing. absolutely loved it. never knew biostatistics learning is so interesting.

By Catherine M

Oct 6, 2019

enjoyed this class - appreciated the careful explanations and the examples from actual studies.

By Ken J

Feb 4, 2021

Dr, McGready did a great job covering the material. Very good presentations and explanations.

By Eduardo V C

Apr 13, 2020

Excellent course!. I strongly thank John Hopkins University and Coursera for this opportunity

By J V

Nov 13, 2019

This course is a perfect stepping stone for understanding statistics in public health research

By Njoroge J G

Jul 15, 2020

I loved it. Absolutely amazing. I am more confident now as I continue my journey in research.

By Dong-Uk L

Aug 26, 2019

Productive introduction and summary of public health statistics. Highly recommend this class!

By James M

Mar 15, 2019

Excellent course. Dr. McGready is so clear and concise. Can't wait to get to the next module.

By Hoon L C

Mar 3, 2019

Not only informative, this course is very useful in routine clinical practice.

Thanks a lot.

By Verónica B V

Jun 5, 2021

Very descriptive and axemplified course, which helps you to understand the topics correctly

By Satish I H

Apr 23, 2020

Thank you very much for this course.had very detailed explanation using published articles

By Mac A

Jun 27, 2020

Great teacher. I liked the course content and the quizzes reinforced the material studied.

By Rui S

Jun 9, 2020

Very clear and fluidic course, definitely worthy and made summary statistics a lot easier.

By Vaishali P

Nov 19, 2020

Great course. Learned a lot! Thanks for giving me an opportunity to complete this course.

By Sumaira K

May 31, 2020

An amazing professor and an amazing course for understanding the basics of Biostatistics!

By Deusdenir d S M

Nov 8, 2020

Wonderful and very useful! Grateful for the opportunity to learn more about Biostatiscs.