Chevron Left
Back to Summary Statistics in Public Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Summary Statistics in Public Health by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
1,174 ratings
300 reviews

About the Course

Biostatistics is the application of statistical reasoning to the life sciences, and it is the key to unlocking the data gathered by researchers and the evidence presented in the scientific literature. In this course, we'll focus on the use of statistical measurement methods within the world of public health research. Along the way, you'll be introduced to a variety of methods and measures, and you'll practice interpreting data and performing calculations on real data from published studies. Topics include summary measures, visual displays, continuous data, sample size, the normal distribution, binary data, the element of time, and the Kaplan-Meir curve....

Top reviews

EC
Sep 22, 2020

I found this course really useful. It actually made you do work and it wasn't necessarily easy to pass the end of module content, which I feel made the course so much more valuable. Highly recommend.

AA
Jan 10, 2021

This is a good and enticing introduction for the rest of the Coursera Specialization where it belongs. For added value, consider taking this course with a biostatistics textbook for better retention.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 300 Reviews for Summary Statistics in Public Health

By Richard M

Aug 4, 2019

Excellent introduction to a challenging subject for me. I look forward to continuing this course set.

By Yazan Q

Jun 17, 2020

Very clear thought process throughout the course with an intelligent way of explanation and teaching

By Temy R

Nov 10, 2019

It is very easy to understand. Easy language and many examples help me to learn a lot. Thank you!

By Lucky S

Aug 17, 2020

the course is amazing. absolutely loved it. never knew biostatistics learning is so interesting.

By Catherine M

Oct 6, 2019

enjoyed this class - appreciated the careful explanations and the examples from actual studies.

By Ken J

Feb 4, 2021

Dr, McGready did a great job covering the material. Very good presentations and explanations.

By Eduardo V C

Apr 13, 2020

Excellent course!. I strongly thank John Hopkins University and Coursera for this opportunity

By J V

Nov 13, 2019

This course is a perfect stepping stone for understanding statistics in public health research

By Njoroge J G

Jul 15, 2020

I loved it. Absolutely amazing. I am more confident now as I continue my journey in research.

By Dong-Uk L

Aug 26, 2019

Productive introduction and summary of public health statistics. Highly recommend this class!

By James M

Mar 15, 2019

Excellent course. Dr. McGready is so clear and concise. Can't wait to get to the next module.

By Hoon L C

Mar 3, 2019

Not only informative, this course is very useful in routine clinical practice.

Thanks a lot.

By SATISH I H

Apr 23, 2020

Thank you very much for this course.had very detailed explanation using published articles

By Mac A

Jun 27, 2020

Great teacher. I liked the course content and the quizzes reinforced the material studied.

By Rui S

Jun 9, 2020

Very clear and fluidic course, definitely worthy and made summary statistics a lot easier.

By Vaishali P

Nov 19, 2020

Great course. Learned a lot! Thanks for giving me an opportunity to complete this course.

By Sumaira K

May 31, 2020

An amazing professor and an amazing course for understanding the basics of Biostatistics!

By Deusdenir d S M

Nov 8, 2020

Wonderful and very useful! Grateful for the opportunity to learn more about Biostatiscs.

By Adish P

Jun 6, 2020

Excellent, simple videos to help me build long term understanding of foundational stats!

By 洪宗佑

Dec 14, 2019

It is a fundamental but very useful course, clarified a lot of concepts I didn't notice.

By Mahesh R K

May 27, 2020

Excellent course. Superb orator. Nice presentation of the information with apt example.

By Dr S T

Apr 2, 2020

Good course for beginners who wants to understand statistical approach to medicine

By Cristian E N C

Oct 6, 2019

Excelente, se complementa con otros cursos hechos (no repite la misma información)

By Dhasarathi K

Nov 6, 2019

Thank you for giving me such a wonderful chance to learn. many thanks to coursera

By Md. A K

Apr 16, 2020

Excellent course for basic matters we need to know for public health statistics.