Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Sustainability

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Sustainability by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
2,129 ratings
692 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the academic approach of Sustainability and explores how today’s human societies can endure in the face of global change, ecosystem degradation and resource limitations. The course focuses on key knowledge areas of sustainability theory and practice, including population, ecosystems, global change, energy, agriculture, water, environmental economics and policy, ethics, and cultural history. This subject is of vital importance, seeking as it does to uncover the principles of the long-term welfare of all the peoples of the planet. As sustainability is a cross-disciplinary field of study, this foundation requires intellectual breadth: as I describe it in the class text, understanding our motivations requires the humanities, measuring the challenges of sustainability requires knowledge of the sciences (both natural and social), and building solutions requires technical insight into systems (such as provided by engineering, planning, and management)....

Top reviews

KF
Dec 18, 2016

It is a well prepared course. Contents are carefully organized and plenty of concepts and examples are included and analyzed. Overall, it is a excellent course to get an overview of sustainability.

JW
Nov 28, 2015

This was my first Coursera course, and I wasn't sure what to expect; but was very pleased with the organization, timescale things were run on, and overall neutrality of the course. Very well done!

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 686 Reviews for Introduction to Sustainability

By Gracia P

Jun 12, 2017

Excellent

By Lillie L V

Sep 7, 2020

Perfect!

By SAI K C

Jun 20, 2020

its best

By Manuela O C

Jun 7, 2020

the best

By Prathipati P

Sep 29, 2020

Awesome

By RASULOVA R I

Jul 31, 2020

Спасибо

By Manas D

Jul 12, 2020

love it

By Esteban M

Mar 27, 2016

amazing

By 58 - D S

Oct 5, 2020

Jordar

By Bootsaraporn F

Apr 29, 2020

Thanks

By Sepideh A

Jun 21, 2021

great

By Sudhanshu P

Apr 20, 2021

great

By Chethan r

Nov 30, 2020

great

By Juan D M A

Jun 3, 2020

Good.

By Stacey W

Jan 13, 2020

Great

By 121910307021 S R S

Dec 15, 2020

GOOD

By Anusha s

Sep 13, 2020

good

By GLORIYA V

Aug 7, 2020

Good

By Mona A A

Aug 3, 2020

good

By ricky

Jul 19, 2020

NICE

By sivaguru m

Jun 8, 2020

Good

By abuyasin s

Jun 7, 2020

Good

By pavan k p

Oct 29, 2020

ok

By Stefanie S

Jan 22, 2021

A terrific course for someone brand new to the topic of Sustainability. It give me broad strokes understanding and a very good foundation as I move forward in my learning. I have already heard terms and policies mentioned in the news or magazines. I would not have recognized them previously. Now they jumped out at me!

For a recommendation to Coursera, I recommend an updated edition. The course is nearly 10 years old and therefore some of the material is outdated. When it comes to population study it really needs to be accurate to ensure the facts/projections are still accurate. For example one of the quiz questions ask what the current population is rounded off to a round billion. In 2013 it was 7B (correct response) but now it is 8B so on my first take I got it wrong and then had to retake and update my answer to the past.

Thank you Coursera! I am already off and running on two additional courses. I am creating my very own home university curriculum.

By Rohan M

Jul 14, 2020

I actually wanted to give 4.5 stars but sadly Coursera's review system doesn't allow that. The course content is pretty comprehensive and gives you more than a fair idea about all the concepts related to sustainability. It is by no means a cakewalk to complete this course. I'd like to deliver my thanks to Dr. Jonathan Tomkin who explained all the topics in a succinct way and has obviously put in a lot of hard work into designing the course content and structure. However, I'd like to see the data being updated in this course as most of it dates back to 2010 and also include the COVID-19 pandemic to better explain the concept of sustainability in the modern world. 10/10 recommended.