Chevron Left
Back to The Age of Sustainable Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Age of Sustainable Development by Columbia University

4.8
stars
2,459 ratings
867 reviews

About the Course

The Age of Sustainable Development" gives students an understanding of the key challenges and pathways to sustainable development - that is, economic development that is also socially inclusive and environmentally sustainable....

Top reviews

LG
May 18, 2017

This course was perfect for those wanting to explore the world of development, broad enough to include all interlinked themes, with sufficient reading materials to spark one's specializing interests.

AA
Jun 1, 2020

Very informative and detailed. Prof. Sachs covers all aspects of sustainable development in detail. Though the course was designed in 2013 hence does not cover the latest development to SDGs to date.

Filter by:

676 - 700 of 845 Reviews for The Age of Sustainable Development

By Justine M

Dec 26, 2015

This course proves to be very informative, and the quizzes push to discover new sources for course material. However, it is highly focused on the programs set by the UN and could provide more solutions and feedbacks on what is being done. Very much oriented toward public policies. Good experience overall.

By Francisco B L

Aug 24, 2015

This course is pretty much what i expected from an online course. I just rate it with four stars because:

1. Quiz questions are often just about interpreting world bank data and not about the contents of the course.

2. Having read Prof. Sachs book the course does not offer additional insights.

By Andrea P A S

Jun 30, 2020

El contenido del curso está perfecto. Sin embargo, habían algunas preguntas que se debían responder a través de observación de datos y las paginas que contenían estos datos ya se habían actualizado, por ende la respuesta que pedía la evaluación no concordaba con los datos de las paginas.

By Gidjeth H

Jul 16, 2017

It was a very comprehensive and informative course and Prof. Sachs was a great educator. I recommend this course as a great starter to anyone who would like to build up a career on sustainable development or just be an active proponent in this important aspect of society development.

By Amalia S

May 3, 2018

Very interesting course. However, it should be updated in order to reflect the current developments in terms of Sustainable Development especially regarding the SDG by the UN. Also, during the tests some of the links were not working as the information required has been archived.

By Maryam S

Dec 1, 2020

it was a useful class for me to start about sustainable development and then I want to continue in my field architecture

but some question that includes a specific website in its exams was not loaded for me so I lost some grades.

thank you for providing this online course

By Ong C H

Aug 1, 2020

Many of the stats and data used are a little outdated or difficult to access, hence the quiz could do with a little updating if possible. Overall a really interesting and insightful lecture series that explores both the issues and solutions for sustainable development

By Michelle R

Dec 4, 2016

Wonderful content and exposure to world data sources. The only thing that prevents me from giving it 5 stars were some of the errors in quizzes scoring quesitons incorrectly--but overall, this was not a hinderance to learning and getting something out of the class.

By Bryan L

Mar 20, 2017

Great information and Dr. Sachs is very easy to listen to. Strange that the quizzes test skills that are not covered in the lectures, and reference material on the quiz is very cumbersome on mobile devices. Still, very educational and worthwhile overall.

By Jacqueline

Feb 16, 2017

Professor Sachs is preaching to the choir with this course, and such a ponderous emphasis on the seriousness of the dangers of "business as usual" is unnecessary. The lectures are much longer than they need to be. Otherwise, this course is very valuable.

By Anant B

Dec 29, 2017

The course takes one through multiple facets of sustainable development and why everyone needs to act towards a sustainable society. The course, i believe should be made a part of undergraduate curriculum across discipline, for student in every country.

By Rosamond C

May 28, 2017

Interesting and informative but irritatingly lots of links in the quizzes are outdated. I guessed and got wrong two answers in the final exam because the resources were no longer available (the new updated version of the graph had different measures).

By Ruan D

May 11, 2017

Really good course. Some things are repeated quite a number of times, but it helps enforcing the ideas. It really is inspiring to hear Professor Sachs talking about this subject with a lot of passion. The future we want! Primum non nocere. Thank you.

By Mikael B

Oct 26, 2020

The course gives a broad background and understanding on the topic of sustainability. But the course is unfortunately very outdated. The content is old and the exams refer to old web sites where the content is sometimes unavailable, it's a shame.

By Kirsten M

Nov 7, 2018

A comprehensive course, with lots of good data supporting the units, however the homework is challenging as many of the links no longer work or data sets have been updated since the course was first posted, making it hard to answer the questions.

By Mike F

Dec 29, 2020

Good syllabus and presentation however it needs to be updated. Some links to websites and references, especially in in quizzes and Final are old and non-viable. This forces you to search outside Coursera for the intended websites and references.

By Bibin C A

Aug 15, 2020

There are many external links which are not working. This is the case even in the final exam, because of which some of the questions are not possible t to be answered. Otherwise the overall course gives a good idea. Thanks to Prof. Jeffrey Sachs

By Jim G

Apr 19, 2018

Some of the data sources students must access for study or taking quizzes and the final exam are outdated or no longer accessible. That cost this course a star. Otherwise, the content, the instructor and the production values all rate highly.

By Joshua J

May 16, 2017

An excellent introduction to sustainable Development from one of the world's foremost experts in the area. The course would benefit from more in-depth assignments and reading tied directly into the lectures but, overall, an incredible course.

By Faisal A S

Apr 13, 2021

I am not sure if i will be given certificate for completion. Also needs a review based on new data, and also few of the times links are not working. Overall the course is very addictive and useful for those who really want to practice.

By krithika m

Mar 15, 2021

A great course to set the foundations for further exploring sustainable development and how it has progressed since the recording of this course. A little disappointing that links were broken and not updated as part of the assessments.

By Adamu

Apr 19, 2017

I'm so happy to have passed through this course. It has exposed me to the real facts about Humanity on earth and what needs to be done to keep us here long enough. Thanks to Professor Jeffrey Sachs and all members of the course team

By Md. M H

Feb 5, 2020

This is an outstanding achievement for me as it is my first completed course in Coursera. It is one of the best courses related to Sustainable Development. But it would be great if we get a certificate after complete this course.

By krjybc

Nov 16, 2015

Lots of quality conversational information on sustainable development, but I wish there were more interactive projects to apply the concepts. Without an application, much of the information remained abstract and hard to remember.

By Corbin K

Jul 10, 2020

Well structured course with quality content. Great way to "be in the classroom" with a top professor FOR FREE. However, the content was a little outdated and that was reflected in the quizzes. An annual update would be amazing.