Chevron Left
Back to Introduction To Swift Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction To Swift Programming by University of Toronto

3.9
stars
1,418 ratings

About the Course

Introduction to Swift Programming is the first course in a four part specialization series that will provide you with the tools and skills necessary to develop an iOS App from scratch. By the end of this first course you will be able to demonstrate intermediate application of programming in Swift, the powerful new programming language for iOS. Guided by best practices you will become proficient with syntax, object oriented principles, memory management, functional concepts and more in programming with Swift. This course is unique in its dedication to teaching Swift programming. With new features and capabilities you will be at the forefront of writing iOS apps. Currently this course is taught using Swift 2. The team is aware of the release of Swift 3 and will be making edits to the course in time. Please be aware that at this time the instruction is entirely with Swift 2. Please note that to take part in this course (and the full specialization) it is required to have a Mac computer and, though not required, ideally an iPhone, iPod, or an iPad. NOTE: This course has been designed and tested (and content delivered) on a Mac. While we are aware of hacks and workarounds for running Mac in a virtual machine on windows we do not recommended a PC. We hope you have fun on this new adventure....

Top reviews

SI

Jan 13, 2016

The course seemed to be very easy, I'd say even disappointingly easy, but then, when I started the final assignment, I realized that I was wrong. And it was so much fun developing filters.

HU

Jan 30, 2016

This course, specifically the last week, really helps in gaining understanding of how the digital images are being processed on the back of a applications. Nice job tutors!

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 381 Reviews for Introduction To Swift Programming

By Mykhailo D

Jun 17, 2021

It's about Swift 2 which is extremely outdated and xCode 7.3.1 which does not work on macOS 10.15

Also a course more about generic programming rather then specifics of Swift programming language.

Do not recommend it.

By James N

Jul 26, 2022

You're asked to download and use Xcode 7.3.1, which isn't even compatible with the current MacOS. The course shouldn't be offered unless the material is upgraded to the current version of Xcode and MacOS.

By Jason F

Feb 1, 2022

Content is too old. Even the version of Xcode is not supported.

By Deleted A

Jul 10, 2021

Es un curso viejo, sus herramientas son obsoletas para el 2021

By Joaquín T

Oct 22, 2022

Outdated, cant be done on a new macbook

By Alejandro C

Jun 14, 2016

I taked this course as part of the entire especialization; this course alone does not allow you to create programs but helps you to understand how swift works and the logic behind; also there is a nice optional chapter to compare against objective-c.

There are few instructions that need to be updated to a newer version of swift but are minimal and you can live with that.

Starting the final assignment to the final week is a mistake: I would recommend to go as fast as possible in te previous tasks and then take time to do the assignment.

By Yan C D R

Dec 16, 2016

I learned to develop apps and how to make class, struct and function in the playground, right now I could see the difference between variables (int,float, char, etc) and much more skills. I consider that i could make a great app for apple in the future

By Kishore A

May 27, 2019

With in short course covered the things that are required for basic swift programming. Basic information provided about the xcode tool and the shortcuts to be used. Looking forward for more interesting content in future topics.

By Hamza U

Jan 31, 2016

This course, specifically the last week, really helps in gaining understanding of how the digital images are being processed on the back of a applications. Nice job tutors!

By Anatoliy C

Jun 25, 2016

It's very easy. On the other hand the teachers do not do very deep and you need to do a lot of selfstudy. Would not recommend for the ones without basic knowledge of CS.

By Ashley J K

Oct 26, 2017

Great course for the beginner. Especially, I enjoyed reviewing other developers' codings. It inspires me through looking at different solutions by different developers.

By Lucas C O

Jul 28, 2016

Amazing course with awesome material.

A great way to start learning the basics of Swift and getting to know people that have the same aspiration of learning new stuff.

By Vaikunth S

Oct 8, 2016

Other than the fact that things are thought on an older version of swift, I don't find anything wrong about this course. It's been a great learning experience.

By Marawan Y

Mar 28, 2016

It is very god so far I am on the second week and I am very happy and pleased with the content also lecturers are very educated and calm. STRONGLY RECOMMENDED

By Deepak S

Apr 27, 2020

i like to thanks coursera for giveing me this certification from university of toranto and i'm very happy to study hear with coursera

By Caleb D

Dec 22, 2015

The debugger video showed some very awesome tools I've never known about. Thanks for mentioning the view hierarchy in debugger mode.

By Mohak T

Aug 25, 2019

Easy to grasp a new programming language. Swift programming concepts such as closures, optionals clearly explained. Good course.

By CT Y

Jun 10, 2020

Great introduction of the Swift programming language. Instant gratification to play with image processing with starter code.

By 王天任

Oct 21, 2015

Awesome! I've been looking for the relevant courses for a long time. I can't find any better course that this one.

By Richard Z B

Apr 23, 2018

Very interesting course, very well descriptive, Final test really demand creativity and effort to be designed.

By Radesh S

Jan 14, 2016

great so far, I love the approach of teaching swift before going into building apps , definitely recommend

By Akarsh S

Jul 22, 2018

I was able to understand the programming concepts of Swift. Thank you for making this course.

By Jatin S

Nov 2, 2015

Great as a free course. Would want more material and practical exercises for a paid course.

By Anthony E

Mar 7, 2016

This is great for people with prior programming experience in Java, C++, and javascript.

By Osler I V L

Apr 7, 2017

amazing course to start programming with Swift, easy to understand, and easy to learn.