Chevron Left
Back to Introduction To Swift Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction To Swift Programming by University of Toronto

3.9
stars
1,418 ratings

About the Course

Introduction to Swift Programming is the first course in a four part specialization series that will provide you with the tools and skills necessary to develop an iOS App from scratch. By the end of this first course you will be able to demonstrate intermediate application of programming in Swift, the powerful new programming language for iOS. Guided by best practices you will become proficient with syntax, object oriented principles, memory management, functional concepts and more in programming with Swift. This course is unique in its dedication to teaching Swift programming. With new features and capabilities you will be at the forefront of writing iOS apps. Currently this course is taught using Swift 2. The team is aware of the release of Swift 3 and will be making edits to the course in time. Please be aware that at this time the instruction is entirely with Swift 2. Please note that to take part in this course (and the full specialization) it is required to have a Mac computer and, though not required, ideally an iPhone, iPod, or an iPad. NOTE: This course has been designed and tested (and content delivered) on a Mac. While we are aware of hacks and workarounds for running Mac in a virtual machine on windows we do not recommended a PC. We hope you have fun on this new adventure....

Top reviews

SI

Jan 13, 2016

The course seemed to be very easy, I'd say even disappointingly easy, but then, when I started the final assignment, I realized that I was wrong. And it was so much fun developing filters.

HU

Jan 30, 2016

This course, specifically the last week, really helps in gaining understanding of how the digital images are being processed on the back of a applications. Nice job tutors!

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 381 Reviews for Introduction To Swift Programming

By zuhair a

Oct 30, 2018

Content is not updated as course asks us to use xcode 7.3.1 and its not even supported by macos mojave

By James P

Feb 9, 2016

Course is good but the early weeks need to be more challenging. 70% of the work was in the last week.

By Fil G

Dec 17, 2016

Good pace, comprehensive introduction to language. Makes it easy to get started learning Swift.

By Nyck

Nov 1, 2015

Hope next courses will be more detailed.

It is hard to understand some things without experience.

By Miguel M

Jan 25, 2016

Not much interaction between the instructors and students. Course videos were very helpful.

By 黄铎

Apr 10, 2016

This is very well course that tell you how can you programming in Swift. It's interesting.

By Vu T M

Sep 1, 2020

This course help me the basic understanding about SWIFT to continue the next iOS course.

By Seiya K

Jul 15, 2018

Good content, but it should be updated to reflect the latest version of Xcode and Swift.

By Nick E

Dec 3, 2015

Quite fun, easy and quick.

But I already had some object oriented programming knowledge.

By Mahyar

Aug 24, 2017

Good course and easy to follow. Only downside is that it is quite a short course.

By Neil D

Feb 11, 2016

Nice easy introduction. If you've already got a programming background.

By Bernardo A P d M

Jan 8, 2019

Interesting course. Problem: outdated version of XCode is recommended.

By Omar A E A

Nov 4, 2017

excellent course the only problem is the old swift syntax

By Emmanuel O

Dec 22, 2015

Good Course. A bit short but goes straight to the point.

By Manuel M C

Nov 2, 2015

Classes were entertaining, but sometimes a little messy.

By amrit s

Nov 25, 2018

Should have been updated, but it is in old version.

By Mohammed R T T

May 4, 2020

good but update course syllabus to swift 5.

By Srinivasan K R

Aug 26, 2017

An excellent option for the beginners.

By Alejandro P

Feb 10, 2017

Good course to learn the Swift basics.

By Antonio L J

Jan 16, 2017

Nice to start programming with swift.

By Maziar M A

Dec 26, 2015

A great introductory course to Swift!

By Rahul T

Dec 20, 2015

Awesome course with great explanation

By Ivan B

Aug 15, 2016

This course has good interactivity)

By Affa A

Jun 18, 2016

Nice course, with rather fast pace!

By Shabda R

Mar 15, 2016

Videos could be more comprehensive.