Chevron Left
Back to Synapses, Neurons and Brains

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Synapses, Neurons and Brains by Hebrew University of Jerusalem

4.8
stars
978 ratings
284 reviews

About the Course

These are very unique times for brain research. The aperitif for the course will thus highlight the present “brain-excitements” worldwide. You will then become intimately acquainted with the operational principles of neuronal “life-ware” (synapses, neurons and the networks that they form) and consequently, on how neurons behave as computational microchips and how they plastically and constantly change - a process that underlies learning and memory. Recent heroic attempts to realistically simulate large cortical networks in the computer will be highlighted (e.g., “the Blue Brain Project”) and processes related to perception, cognition and emotions in the brain will be discussed. For dessert we will deliberate on the future of brain research, including the questions of “brain and art”, consciousness and free will. For more information see the course promo below and read “About the course.”...

Top reviews

A
Aug 13, 2017

Excellent teaching by Sir. He has created one more enthusiast in the journey of decoding Human Brain. Thank you Sir, getting my basics clear and this will help me to be better Neuro/AI researcher.

DD
Sep 17, 2015

It is a very interesting and well-done course about neurobiology. Prof. Sedev has many interactive tasks and he tries to explain details as easy as possible. All in all it is understandable.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 277 Reviews for Synapses, Neurons and Brains

By Lavinia G

Mar 6, 2017

Brilliant course, very well structured, clear and well-paced! Having previously worked on the Blue Brain Project as a Summer Research Assistant, I found this course most helpful and wish I had followed it earlier. Definitely looking forward to a follow-up course.

By Praveen K

Oct 20, 2017

This course is very interesting and I personally learn a lot out of this. The review questions at the end of each week are tricky but easier if the concepts are well understood. Overall the course is challenging and I am happy for completing it successfully.

By Marek C

Jul 15, 2019

Good interdisciplinary course about neuroscience, without any objections to include topics from different areas. Maybe lectures were too much "talkative", but overall quality of the material is high. Highly recommended for anyone interested how brain works.

By PRIYARANJAN P

Sep 5, 2018

Professor Segev's enthusiasm and clarity of thought & expression is what makes this a 5 star rated course even though I would have personally liked to have had more content on determinism, free will and its implications. Still, a very well made course.

By A.Friszman

Nov 8, 2016

The fast pace of knowledge been propagated at this time, places this course right at the top of this leap towards the near future.

Thank you all for the kindness in making possible the absorption of this knowledge,

All the best.

A.Friszman

By Lizeth C A M

Nov 1, 2020

It was a gorgerous course, the techar was the best, he explained difficult subjects the easy way. The course was very helpulful, organice and interesting. It was so nice the expirements, photos and videos that we saw throught the course.

By Ardeep P

Sep 24, 2015

Very thorough and clear. I am from psychology background and I was expecting to have a lot of difficulty in understanding it, however I found the course really helpful. Even the maths and physics portions were only slightly difficult.

By Jaime R

Apr 8, 2018

Amazing course that puts together a lot of concepts in an entertaining and big picture way. The part on sound is very interesting in itself, although somehow disconnected. Definitely a must for anyone looking to learn about the brain

By Chen H

Jan 6, 2018

This is an excellent course for people who want to learn the basic neuroscience and get foot in the computational neuroscience. I highly recommend it for undergradute students, espcially who marjoring in computer science.

By Tomasz G

Feb 4, 2016

Great course! I've wanted to learn some solid basics of neuroscience for years. This course is excellent for this purpose. Professor Segev is very enthusiastic about the subject and his lectures are very comprehensible.

By Hilal K

May 19, 2020

Professor Idan's explanation on the subject was extremely productive, lighting, open-minding, and remarkable. I am very happy yo have the course and end it. I hope we will have more courses with him.

Thank you so much.

By Fernando B

Sep 9, 2017

Absolutely mind-blowing. I loved it! Since some of the initiatives presented during the course have been going on for 4 years already, it would be interesting to add some updates on their current status, findings...

By Gil M

Jun 25, 2016

The Course is Amazing and Professor Idan Segev is Amazing, i want to thank you so much for giving me the opportunity to learn this course and to learn from briliant person such as Idan segev, Best Regards

Max Freeman

By Richard A

Jul 8, 2020

Excellent introduction to the biophysics of neurons and synapses, linking this to behaviour and emotion. Challenging material in some areas and all the better for it,. Has certainly whetted my appetite for more.

By Travis L

Jan 3, 2016

Fantastic course. The instructor is a clear speaker and introduces some basic concepts in neuroscience very nicely. The quizzes are also well written and reinforce the concepts introduced in the lectures.

By Ольга В Г

Oct 28, 2020

The course is interesting and informative. This helped me to better understand the electrical phenomena in the cell, in the synapses. Studying the course is not very difficult. This motivates learning

By Surjeet S

Aug 19, 2015

This course is very beautifully organized and Prof. Idan Segev is very good teacher.

Tak tak tak tak tak .....

Brain Demystified!!!

A must course for those who want to learn Computational Neuroscience.

By Tsvi L

Feb 7, 2020

The course is so amazing! The content of this whole site is beyond my thanks and approval. I cannot confess my true feelings of thanks for all of this free and invaluable content. Thank you so much!

By Amit B

Aug 14, 2017

Excellent teaching by Sir. He has created one more enthusiast in the journey of decoding Human Brain. Thank you Sir, getting my basics clear and this will help me to be better Neuro/AI researcher.

By Fatima D

Dec 9, 2020

What a great course! With Prof. Idan Segev, whom i congratulate, I've learned a lot about the neurons, synapses and brain. As a multiple scleroses one, i look the future with hope. Thank you

By Daniel D

Sep 18, 2015

It is a very interesting and well-done course about neurobiology. Prof. Sedev has many interactive tasks and he tries to explain details as easy as possible. All in all it is understandable.

By Shekhar N

Mar 23, 2020

Well taught, short enough to keep you interested and not very mathematically difficult at all. A perfect neuroscience primers for people starting out or for ones who are just curious

By Grzegorz N

May 25, 2018

Very informative course. Great teacher who devote much time to properly explain whole picture and details of this complicated topic. I recommend this course with strong conviction.

By Nazarii H

Sep 27, 2017

Thank you so much,

this course became a seed, that will eventually grow into something great and significant for the whole world and humanity in particular.

Regards, Nazarii Hryniv